We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Tell Motel? Maybe” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
RI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No Tell Motel? Maybe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here as I was looking for a less expensive option to the Atlantic City casino hotels. Well, you get what you pay for. I should have double checked to see if there were corridors and that this was a more traditional hotel. This is what we call a "no tell motel". The doors are all exterior doors and open to the parking lot. I am never a fan of that. The noise level made it difficult to sleep with car doors closing at all hours right outside your hotel. The room was clean enough, bu there was a stain on the fitted sheet. I called to ask that it be changed and it was. It was replaced with one with a cigarette burn in it. The bathroom was the best part - newly remodeled with a hot tub (I did not use the hot tub). I can say the room was adequate, but if you are looking for fancy, this is not it. I did not take advantage of the continental breakfast, so I can't speak to the quality.

Room Tip: The doors open to the outside. The pictures on the website to do not reflect that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaf1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    139
    72
    24
    38
See reviews for
97
158
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, very clean, quiet, comfortable room, and a very nice breakfast each morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel which had a very nice pool but we did not have enough time to use it. Will stay again if and when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I witnessed another guest abused by staff during my check-in for over 10 minutes. I was there long enough to understand the nature of the issue, and the staff actually accused the customer of causing "trouble" when they lacked the skills to calm the situation. I went to bed shaking after the incident. Do not stay her if you want to be treated with respect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank 123NYCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here one night while in Atlantic City. The staff were all very polite and friendly. The room was comfortable, everything worked perfectly and everything was very clean. This hotel is just a short drive (about 12 minutes) from Atlantic City and is a good low cost choice for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trav115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
200 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent a night here recently and was very satisfied. The room was exceptionally clean and the staff very friendly and courteous. The room even had a whirlpool bath and hot breakfast was served in the morning. I didn't use the pool but there were several families in it and it appeared to be very clean. Considering the low cost of this motel, I would rate it as an outstanding value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed here many times before, and I highly recommend it. It is considerably cheaper than the casino hotels in Atlantic City, but is only about a 10 minute drive from the beach and all of the action. It's close enough to AC to be convenient, but far away enough to be a quiet getaway after spending the day on the beach, boardwalk, and casinos. The rooms have always been clean when I have stayed there, the beds are comfortable, and they offer a complimentary continental breakfast from 6:30-9:00 am. For a slightly higher cost, you could also get a room with a jacuzzi tub.

Room Tip: Jetted tubs (available in some rooms) are great for relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was shocked. I was actually scared at check in because the room was only $60 for a king size bed, jacuzzi, fridge, microwave, free breakfast and free wifi in the SUMMER!!! Yikes! I went for it and was very impressed. They just remodeled so the lobby was nice and clean. I got to the room and it is very very clean. The ONLY complaint is the bed is a little too soft for my liking but other than that, I am very happy. I would stay here any time. The manager was very nice too. I called ahead and asked a few questions. I personally feel you can get a heads up by how they act on the phone.

Room Tip: call first, like I did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babs7262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galloway Atlantic City Area
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn
Address: 701 White Horse Pike, Absecon, NJ 08201-1415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn!Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at this Absecon, New Jersey hotel located just minutes from exhilarating Atlantic City. Discover the BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn ideally located just 7 miles from thrilling Atlantic City, known as the World's Playground, and all the exciting Atlantic City attractions including the world-renowned boardwalk and casinos. Within a short walk or drive from this Absecon hotel, guests can enjoy a variety of activities including golf, shopping, dining and visiting area beaches. Each well-appointed guest room at the BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. King rooms with Jacuzzi® tubs are available at this Absecon hotel. Guests are welcome to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. For added comfort and convenience, the BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn comes equipped with an oversized outdoor heated swimming pool open during seasonal months.Less than an hour's drive from the hotel guests can visit historic downtown Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Families especially will enjoy being located less than an hour from Six Flags Great Adventure Theme Park®. Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden State Hotel Absecon
Best Western Absecon
Absecon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing