We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean City bound”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
PA, United States
2 reviews
“Ocean City bound”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, very clean, quiet, comfortable room, and a very nice breakfast each morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel which had a very nice pool but we did not have enough time to use it. Will stay again if and when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    139
    72
    25
    38
See reviews for
98
158
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I witnessed another guest abused by staff during my check-in for over 10 minutes. I was there long enough to understand the nature of the issue, and the staff actually accused the customer of causing "trouble" when they lacked the skills to calm the situation. I went to bed shaking after the incident. Do not stay her if you want to be treated with respect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank 123NYCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here one night while in Atlantic City. The staff were all very polite and friendly. The room was comfortable, everything worked perfectly and everything was very clean. This hotel is just a short drive (about 12 minutes) from Atlantic City and is a good low cost choice for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent a night here recently and was very satisfied. The room was exceptionally clean and the staff very friendly and courteous. The room even had a whirlpool bath and hot breakfast was served in the morning. I didn't use the pool but there were several families in it and it appeared to be very clean. Considering the low cost of this motel, I would rate it as an outstanding value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed here many times before, and I highly recommend it. It is considerably cheaper than the casino hotels in Atlantic City, but is only about a 10 minute drive from the beach and all of the action. It's close enough to AC to be convenient, but far away enough to be a quiet getaway after spending the day on the beach, boardwalk, and casinos. The rooms have always been clean when I have stayed there, the beds are comfortable, and they offer a complimentary continental breakfast from 6:30-9:00 am. For a slightly higher cost, you could also get a room with a jacuzzi tub.

Room Tip: Jetted tubs (available in some rooms) are great for relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was shocked. I was actually scared at check in because the room was only $60 for a king size bed, jacuzzi, fridge, microwave, free breakfast and free wifi in the SUMMER!!! Yikes! I went for it and was very impressed. They just remodeled so the lobby was nice and clean. I got to the room and it is very very clean. The ONLY complaint is the bed is a little too soft for my liking but other than that, I am very happy. I would stay here any time. The manager was very nice too. I called ahead and asked a few questions. I personally feel you can get a heads up by how they act on the phone.

Room Tip: call first, like I did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs7262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I will have to say that i have been traumatized by motels and hotels either in south jersey or close to LBI. This hotel was okay in the sense that i have seen worse, and i Mean really really worse. However there was some issues that do need to be address. I stayed with my husband on the downstairs portion of the property while my friend had her room on the top. The man at the front desk was nice when we arrived at the property being that it was late. As for what happened with my friend i do not know. I can only state my perception of the room on the downstairs level . Even though my husband did also claim to see bugs coming out of my friends room.

When entering the motel at least there was a man on premises and he was awake in the sense. I have seen clerks who were asleep and far gone when arriving so that was a plus. He was nice to show us where to park since we came in late. My husband and i entered the room and there was a musty smell not exactly mold but more then stale air. I had a few perfumes on me so i sprayed this to cover it up. It seemed to do the trick lol. The AC worked good, but got very cold at night that i had to keep adjusting from hot to cold. This was somewhat annoying. The good thing is i did not wake up gasping for air due to severe mold or cig smoke. I am allergic to this stuff and with my pituitary tumor i have to becareful... My last hotel i went to> I went to bed and was gasping for air 3 hours later because of the heavy cig smoke from the next room billowing from the walls . With this hotel i did not smell cig smoke just musty.. The carpet looked fair, but i did not expect the entire room because nothing prompted to find anything else. I did home inspections in the past so from what is saw without moving beds or looking behind the beds, it looked ok...I like firmer pillows the pillows were very soft..extremely soft.. Thank god i bring my extra set of pillows with me when i travel because i was expecting this ..just seems to be a common trend . As far as dirt or screwed up linens this was okay..
What i did see> was on the upstairs level the following day- I saw a maid who was cleaning 5 rooms down from my friend and bugs were flying out of this other persons room.. I am unsure if there is a infestation or not but it can not hurt to call someone to make sure its nothing coming from another room or the primary is coming from my friends. The summer months can bring all kinds of creatures in so maybe might want to do an operation clean sweep just to be safe lol.. I mean have the maids freshen up the air and make sure there is no bugs.... I am unsure why the clerk put a bug up to my friends face it seems a little odd. I think there should be no fighting and peaceful resolution to fix the harmony of the best western lol, bugs, people and all.. Still a great place to travel to and from AC as far as closeness.. I give this a C-.Cant wait to go back to AC again, love AC:)Great nightclub that opened up there!!

Room Tip: The rooms are the downstairs level seem okay.. AC works cold..if you like it that way,, stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galloway Atlantic City Area
1.0 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Atlantic City/Galloway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn
Address: 701 White Horse Pike, Absecon, NJ 08201-1415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn!Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at this Absecon, New Jersey hotel located just minutes from exhilarating Atlantic City. Discover the BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn ideally located just 7 miles from thrilling Atlantic City, known as the World's Playground, and all the exciting Atlantic City attractions including the world-renowned boardwalk and casinos. Within a short walk or drive from this Absecon hotel, guests can enjoy a variety of activities including golf, shopping, dining and visiting area beaches. Each well-appointed guest room at the BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. King rooms with Jacuzzi® tubs are available at this Absecon hotel. Guests are welcome to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. For added comfort and convenience, the BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn comes equipped with an oversized outdoor heated swimming pool open during seasonal months.Less than an hour's drive from the hotel guests can visit historic downtown Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Families especially will enjoy being located less than an hour from Six Flags Great Adventure Theme Park®. Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden State Hotel Absecon
Best Western Absecon
Absecon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing