We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Marriott's Fairway Villas - 2nd Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Fairway Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Fairway Villas
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Absecon
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Marriott's Fairway Villas - 2nd Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We just returned from a week's vacation at the Fairway Villas. 2nd time was better than the first. My wife and 2 year old daughter had a great time, and were very sad to leave. Once again we stayed at the final villa, which is at the far end of the property and closest to the Spa. Since we were not there to golf, this was a great location and a close walk to the pool. Service is top notch, and everyone is friendly and accommodating. Great family resort, and lot of activities during the day. During the week, we spent a lot of time at the pool, and a couple of days at Ocean City, LBI, and Stone Harbor. Each of the beaches were between a 30 and 45 minute drive. Try the Mud City Crab House outside of LBI. Although there are limited dining options at the resort (unfortunately the Mulligan's pool bar is only open until 6 p.m.). However, we enjoyed driving 10 miles to Historic Smithville. Cute shops and restaurants. We ate breakfast at AJ's on the Lake, and a very good casual dinner at Fred and Ethel's Tavern. Also, there is a gas station, grocery and liquor store on the way (left turn out of the entrance). Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: High floor was pretty quiet during a busy time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRITOPSPIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    92
    24
    5
    8
See reviews for
185
63
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We loved our stay at this resort and have alread booked our return trip. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. It was emaculate and just what you want on vacation - to have everything feel new, top of the line and relaxing. The location is in a very quiet wooded setting and about a 20 minute drive from Atlantic City. Our daughter loved the pools and activities. We've stayed at other Marriott time shares (Harbour Lake, Grand Vista, Ford's Colony in Wiliamsburg) and have loved them all. Only thing that I would want traveler's to know is that this is one of the more quiet locations. If you have real young kids - they obviously won't golf and aren't into AC - other than the pools and activity center - this may not be their favorite spot. I.e. Busch Gardens or Orlando had more for them but us grown ups loved it. We're native New Yorkers but if you are wanting to take a day trip into either Manhattan or Philly - this place can do either - another plus. Great stay!!

Room Tip: Top floor always keeps little one's from running on your head :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMACKLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in the Breakers building at the front of this resort. All Fairway villas contain two fairly large bedrooms with two full bathrooms.Our villa was quiet and clean. It had a well appointed full kitchen.The kitchen appliances functioned well. The central air worked efficiently and was quiet.The villa also contained three large well panel televisions. Overall, our villa was comfortable
and pleasant, although not as luxurious as other Marriott timeshare accommodations we have stayed at in the past.
This Marriott resort is less than a 30 minute drive to the Atlantic City boardwalk. The seaside resorts of Ocean City and Brigantine are within a one hour drive.

Room Tip: Villas in the Amelia and Breakers buildings located in the very front of the resort (away from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyny019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeTravel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our initial plans involved us heading to Ocean City, but all the decent hotels were booked or were asking for ridiculous rates. Traveling with a teen and a recent college grad, we knew a standard hotel room would not be sufficient, so this property seemed ideal, albeit not on the water . We arrived at approx. 3pm, but unfortunately our room was not available yet. We decided to get a bite at the onsite grill near the pool while we waited. Service was good, prices were a tad high for poolside food. The room was available by 4pm at which time we were able to check in. Unfortunately we were assigned to the bldg furthest from the pool (Amelia), but closest to the golf course. Front desk staff was quite helpful with suggestions for an outing for my son's birthday. Thanks Jay! We had a second floor room, despite requesting a top floor. As has been noted in other reviews, if you have a unit above you, you will hear everything above you. The unit however was very spacious and clean. No complaints there at all. What was a tad confusing was a) whether housekeeping was included in rates and b) where dishes and glasses were (they were in a side closet near a BR, as opposed to cabinets above sink)). It would be helpful if management were clear about some of the basics, particularly for those guest who are not tenants.Activities onsite are definitely geared to little kids. Our 16 & 22 year old were bored stiff, which is why most of our stay was spent off premises. Ocean City is approx. 30 minutes away and AC approx. 20. Unfortunately because we spent most of our time offsite, we didnt get to spend much time in the pool area, however it was always jammed packed when we'd walk by. It would be idea if there were an adults (18+) only pool, as there was no such thing as quiet time at the pool, more like an amusement park/waterpark. The indoor pool was great, however. My oldest attempted to get in some gym time, but @ 9am it was packed as well. Many resorts (i.e. Marco island Marriott) opt for a 24 hr fitness center and maybe its time for this resort to do the same. My only complaints were a) the 10am check out time, especially when you cant check in until 4pm and b)There should be a Market, not a Market Express for a facility of this size. Overall we had a great stay and if in the area again, yes, we'd stay here.

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is our home resort and we have not stayed here in a while. This resort is very, very nice. The desk staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. The two-bedroom was very clean as we have always found with Marriott. There were activities for the kids and even a few for adults. We missed the owner reception so I can't comment on this. Atlantic City is close by and we also went to the Historic Smithville a few mins away. Just don't go when it's hot like we did! They could really use a second pool and the food at the beach snack bar was sort of expensive for sandwhich fare. I also didn't like that they let our kids sign, and sign, and sign, for food until we realized what was going on. All around a good vacation. Suggest you take plenty of videos and games in case it rains and so you don't have to rent videos. Though there are supermarkets close by where you can rent Red Box for a buck rather than the $4 at the resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjthomas807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just returned from a week stay at Fairway Villas. The resort is very well kept as are all Mariott properties however the chairs and sofa in the the living room are very uncomfortable. While there are many activities at the resort if you want to do anything else you must drive 20 - 30 minutes to get to anything. IT didn't seem to have the same "resort" feeling that you get from some of the other properties.
Request a top floor room because if you don't you will hear everything that goes on above you. It was very noisy when our upstairs neighbors got up in the morning. The pool was nice but it was very very crowded! There were screaming kids everywhere. We headed to the mineral pool by the spa and it was a little better but very crowded and it was difficult to find a chair if you wanted to sit in the sun.
If you are vacationing as a family with children this might be a good spot but if you are looking to kick back and relax and not have to drive all over the place this is not the place for you.
We did enjoy our trips to the boardwalks in Seaside Heights and Ocean City, NJ. The beaches there were outstanding and the boardwalk was fun for people watching and shopping for funny t-shirts.

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor or you will hear your upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank las964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I own timeshare at Marriott's Fairway Villas and decided to go there after not having visited in three years or so. Unlike the other Marriott properties we've visited in Florida, Fairway Villas did not send an email a few weeks in advance to invite us to select unit preferences and activities. I felt that was so strange that I checked my confirmation a few times to ensure my check in date was correct.

On turning into the resort, I was immediately struck by how subdued the energy was (versus Florida). There were lots of cars parked in the lots, but not many guests around. At the registration desk, when I asked for the most updated unit, the guest service rep replied that all of the units were the same. I asked for a top floor unit so that we wouldn't have to deal with hearing heavy footsteps above our heads, but none was available and so we were assigned a ground floor unit in The Breakers building.

As we walked down the hall in The Breakers building to our 2-bedroom unit, I noticed a tiny piece of wallpaper that had come undone and an awful carpet stain across from my assigned unit. I wondered why they had not taken care of these issues. Maintenance and Housekeeping had to have seen it on their rounds.

Our assigned unit had a great, fresh clean smell. It appeared much more spacious than the Florida units I've been in due in large part to the layout. The kitchen and dining area is open while other units in Florida tend to section off the kitchen from the dining area. I was very impressed with the 2nd bedroom which was also larger than most I've seen. And except for a carpet stain in the master bedroom and a loose shower cover plate, everything in the unit was fine and in order. We did have noisy neighbors above our heads, but it wasn't something we were willing to complain about and risk offending them.

Instead of a full-service Marketplace, they have a Marketplace Express which is literally a tiny room with candy, snacks and beverages. The lack of the full-service Marketplace is definitely a minus. Something just seems amiss without it.

This place is great for couples and for visiting all year round. It's close to the casinos and has good shopping. Although there are lots of onsite activities for all ages, I believe my kids would've been bored half to death. Like I said, the energy is low-key and the resort is located in an area that caters to an older population.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Escalade5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
13.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,099 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,645 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Fairway Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Fairway Villas

Property: Marriott's Fairway Villas
Address: 500 Fairway Ln, Galloway Twnshp, Absecon, NJ 08205-6018
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Fairway Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Fairway Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Fairway Villas Hotel Absecon
Marriotts Fairway Hotel
Marriotts Fairway Resort
Marriott Absecon
Absecon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing