We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your earplugs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Certificate of Excellence
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bring your earplugs.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel was nice, clean, breakfast was good as well. We stayed in room 226 and the noise from the highway kept me up all night as well as the air conditioning unit. I called the front desk to complain that the room wasn't really cool ( it wasn't hot outside) and the fan keep shutting off and kicking on, waking us. I was told it was an energy efficient unit and try raising the temperature to at least 75 degrees. Well that didn't work and 75 was too stuffy. It was a shame because the bed was comfortable. I'm sure we won't stay here again as I don't want to risk a bad nights sleep again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francescakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    118
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
91
103
17
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife, our two teenage children and I stayed here for five nights in late July and experienced a very high quality hotel with thorough housekeeping, efficient and helpful hotel staff, a small, but lovely heated pool with hot tub (which was mostly quiet) and a spacious two queen bed suite with additional fold-down, fridge and microwave.

It was very quick to access Atlantic City (AC) by getting on the Expressway and we had no problem going to the beach during the day and returning to the hotel to prepare for going to Atlantic City restaurants in the evening. There are not many recognisable chain restaurants in the area (this could be argued as a positive!), but some of the local restaurants have been subject to poor Tripadvisor reviews. We were mostly in AC, but on three occasions, used local restaurants - Denny's (about a mile west), Five Guys (across the road - use the slip road next to the hotel to cross, and the Sunryser. All were very good, especially the Sunryser for breakfast.

This was our second hotel in two weeks in New Jersey and it took time to become familiar with the limited left turn system on main routes through the cities. If you are unfamiliar with the upcoming right hand turns then this can be a stressful experience, especially when the driving culture is pretty intense here compared to other parts of the USA and drivers follow close behind and will sound their horns at even a moment's hesitation. When returning from AC, it is not possible to make a left turn on route 30 West to gain direct access to the hotel. Instead, we found it a reasonable straightforward procedure of keeping on driving in the right lane, crossing over Seventh Avenue, then immediately taking the slip road off to Sixth Avenue allowing for a left turn to cross over route 30 and get back to the hotel on 30 East using the Best Western as a landmark for preparing for the turn into the Holiday Inn carpark.

The only frustration with the hotel was our poor wi-fi. Our devices (iPads and iPhones would always detect the hotel wi-fi but we could only connect in one part of the room - at the table near to the bathroom door, but would not stay connected for more than 10 minutes and would disconnect when moving to the bed area). I asked one of the reception staff for assistance and she was very helpful and advised that it had been affected by storms and informed that it would be reset. This did not improve things and we realised that it was the location of our room (224 - near the south west corner of the hotel) which was the key issue and as we had already unpacked, it was easier to put up with the issue rather than request a change in room, which I believe, after the full occupancy weekend, the hotel would have been obliging. Our devices had no problems connecting and staying connected in the more central parts of the hotel.

Overall, we had a great stay at this hotel due to the great environment, the helpful and friendly staff (nice to be asked if everything was okay during breakfast), and the high standard of housekeeping.

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi, especially for business, avoid our room 224 and perhaps, check it out before comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chungsongyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotels I usually stay at where booked solid so upon the recommendation of a local, I stayed here. It was a much nicer hotel than I thought. The rooms were clean, bathrooms spacious and bed comfortable. I thought the carpet in my room was a bit dingy, but other than that a good value. My only complaint (which had nothing to do with hotel) was noisy people in the hallways just lingering and talking when I was trying to sleep. Oh, and I found the a/c unit to be a bit annoying. It was hard to get the temperature right and it's a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Try to face the courtyard vs the main road..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RipleyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had a wonderful time staying here although it was short stay and was raining. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and roomy. It was few mins ride to the casino. The room view was great. I will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elikopoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As you drove down White Horse Pike you started to wonder what type of property have I been booked into by my company, but when I get there I was pleasantly surprised. This is a new (or at least very well maintained) property and really exceeded my expectations.

The rooms were typical HIX rooms - but there was plenty of space to spread out and work. The bathroom was clean, each room came with a fridge and the A/C worked great on one of the hottest days of the year.

The staff was very friendly and even provided me menus and suggestions for restaurants that would deliver to the hotel as they do not have a full service restaurant on the property.

The only downside to the property was the lack of a restaurant in the facility - although there are plenty in the area. The breakfast buffet was just OK - they were doing their best to keep it fresh and warm and they had the typical HIX spread.

Room Tip: Ask for a room way from the main road as you will get street noise if you are on that side of the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I felt right at home when we arrived. The Staff was very welcoming and very helpful to get the best room for us because of my Wife's and Daughters disabilities. The room was very comfortable and roomy. We went to see a show in Atlantic city which was about 10 minute ride to the Casino. There was a Jitney available to the Casino which was wonderful. There are many Hotels there to choose from. But after getting acquainted with the wonderful Staff, we decided to make our next trip back to the Holiday Inn in Absecon... .

Room Tip: I always call first to speck to a Representative about the kind of room that I require. I have not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingmomma
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Last weekend my family took at trip to the Jersey shore and stayed at this fairly up to date Holiday Inn. The woman who greeted us was pleasant and professional and later had baked cookies set out for guests to enjoy so a plus for the kids!

We stayed in room 209 which was the nosiest room I have ever endured so much so that my husband had to find a white noise app on his phone so any of us could sleep! This room boasts the pleasure of being next to the slowest elevator in the history of man kind where dumber and drunker guests enjoy loitering (instead of stumbling down the stair just a few feet away to walk...oh no 2 small flights). It has the added feature of being positioned just above the main threshold for the hotel so that you can actually hear guests coming and going into the hotel! In addition no need to draw those curtains as you have a lovely view of a brick wall covering 80% of your only window with a view to the parking lot!!! If you are hearing impaired and don't plan to enjoy much sun light thought this could work!

The upsides of room 209 were that it is really spacious and having endured tiny rooms in the past this was not one of them. The beds (even the fold out in the couch our daughter remarked) was comfortable!

The free breakfast was lacking in fresh fruit but if you like carbs, microwaved eggs, sausages and a plethora of toaster friendly treats you are good to go! The dining area was a decent size as well and clean with a nice man who actually came to our table and other tables to ask we were doing okay which was great.

The Zimmerman trial verdict came out the night before our breakfast and we did endure a fairly on fire cleaning staff woman loudly sharing her views. I am all about free speech and don't disagree that because we live near Washington maybe are more tight lipped than people in other areas and I did not totally disagree with everything this woman was saying but I found it alarming that her diatribe went on for more than 20 minutes loudly as the front desk staff looked semi apologetic and stood back a small ways from her possibly understanding this was not entirely appropriate.

Last, they have a small pool and jacuzzi which are fine and well maintained and several sitting areas where guests can congregate and did which is lovely. They have taken good care of this hotel and most of the staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: DO NOT ALLOW THEM TO PUT YOU IN ROOM 209 unless you are hearing impaired or have no desire for anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingmomma_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
0.1 mi away
Garden State Inn
Garden State Inn
#3 of 25 in Absecon
435 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
5.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,297 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
Address: 655 White Horse Pike, Rt. 30, Absecon, NJ 08201-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Atlantic City has to offer at the Holiday Inn Express Absecon-Atlantic City Area. The weather is getting warmer so you'd better get your swimsuit ready! Our Atlantic City hotel is located just outside of town in a quiet and safe area, yet you are only minutes away from all the fun and excitement. Atlantic City has something to offer for all ages. If music, entertainment, and shows bring you to Atlantic City, then The House of Blues is a must for you. The Borgata s Water Club is open and ready to relax your worries away or try Elizabeth s Arden Red Door Spa which is just around the corner. Party the night away at The Pool Night Club, Atlantic City s new hot spot. Other area attractions include gambling, wine tasting, beaches, golf, Stockton College, AC Medical Center and Historic Smithville.The Holiday Inn Express Absecon-Atlantic City Area features newly renovated guest rooms and suites with a modern touch and feel of elegance. Enjoy a romantic evening in one of our fully mirrored Jacuzzi Suites or make yourself at home in our spacious King Executive Suite. The experience of our rooms is comfortable and relaxing with 32 flat panel HD TVs in all rooms! It s New, it s Modern, it s HD and it s all waiting for you at our fabulous hotel. Our Atlantic City hotel is handicap accessible and ADA-approved. Let our friendly staff treat you like family and make your next trip to Atlantic City one you ll never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area Hotel Absecon
Holiday Inn Absecon
Absecon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing