We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but room smelled horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but room smelled horrible!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is probably just luck of the draw or maybe we looked like people who wouldn't complain, but our room smelled extremely musty and almost moldy, coming from the AC. The problem was handled by Henderson, who was great, no complaints of his service or friendliness. Unfortunately, the solution added the smell of Febreze on steroids to must, which was disgusting and difficult to breathe in all night. I seriously was worried about the safety of this, but didn't really have another option, and just prayed for morning to come, getting little sleep.

The hotel itself is nice. Service was good, especially Henderson, who should be on Undercover Boss, and get in some high level training program because he is great. Breakfast was good. Pool was fine, normal hotel pool.

I would not stay here again based on our room, and hope I never smell that smell again, I might have flashbacks. But if you luck out and get a non-stinky room, you're golden.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 218
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    111
    42
    17
    26
See reviews for
156
142
21
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sept 2/13
I was very impressed with this hotel and staff. Clean, bright, helpful with informatin and very friendly. It made our trip very pleasant and highly recommend you give it a try- you wont be disappointed. They very handy cap friendly, even in the pool area and that impressed me greatly.
Sharon the manager was really there for her guests and worked along side her team.
Great Job see you again.
Sue Butler/Pringle family -Canada

Room Tip: there is no restraint in the hotel but the staff were very helpful to point us to a great one not fa...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are in the Green program and that's important to us as well.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a great stay at the Clarion! We drove in from NYC, so I called ahead just to notify them that we were arriving late on Friday night. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean and we got a pretty good nights rest.

FYI- Everything in town closes early. There is a liquor store next door that closes at 10 every day, but for your convenience there is a mini bar full of beer in the lobby. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the strip, which is the only fault I give this place!

The breakfast was good, you have a waffle station, cereal, fruit, bagels, muffins etc. The coffee wasn't great, so just grab some juice, or you can your own coffee in your room, just grab a cup of milk and put it in your own mini fridge. The coffee station is open all day, but beware breakfast ends at 10am SHARP! They also have a shuttle to the casinos if you don't drive which is about 10$ a person one way, and you have to call 1/2 hour in advance. Shuttle service ends at 1am!

Theres a great gazebo outside passed the pool and fitness room. Staff is great, and I would definitely book a second trip with this hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor Away from Ice Machine
See more room tips
Green Features: Energy-saving lighting controls Linen reuse program Toiletries w/ recycled packaging
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was a great experience with Clarion Inn. Very clean hotel. Nice rooms and clean bathrooms. The hotel is not far from Atlantic City and you canfind all good places to eat around the hotel. I would recommend the hotels to my friends would come and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LokiMehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for a weekend, and it was another excellent experience at this hotel. Room was very clean, bathroom is spotless, and the bed was comfortable. It's proximity to Atlantic City is another reason for us to stay here, as it is about 8 miles from the casinos. Very good experience!

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor this time, close to the front desk. It was very quiet, could not hear oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here on business last week--Liked this hotel, and the staff so much, I chose this place again this week. Great beds, spotless rooms, friendly staff. Home away from home. Manager Sandra B. ,and her staff do a great job!! My thanks to them all!! Mark S.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Sandra is the general manager ... she has a firm grasp of the hotel and the employees. We stayed here for over a month while working. Sandra was always available to render assistance and provide excellent service. Her employees were always efficient and very helpful. I stay in hotels over 100 nights a year ... This is the best ...

Room Tip: The laundry is on the north end ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
0.2 mi away
Garden State Inn
Garden State Inn
#3 of 25 in Absecon
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
7.4 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
Address: 342 E White Horse Pike, Absecon, NJ 08205-9565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North, a newly built hotel minutes from the Atlantic City Boardwalk! For your relaxation needs, the Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North boasts a beautiful 33-foot-long indoor heated pool and a well-equipped exercise room. All rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave oven for your convenience. For those who will expect nothing less than the very best, we proudly offer a King Hot Tub Room for the ultimate in luxurious romantic relaxation. If you are traveling with family, we are ready for you! Our Triple Queen Suite is complete with two bedrooms, including a private en-suite room so the family can be together while affording everyone a bit of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North Hotel Absecon
Clarion Inn And Suites Atlantic City North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing