We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsiderate Management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Absecon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had reserved 2 rooms on Expedia but had to cancel (within the timeframe for a full refund). I did not know that I had to cancel each room separately and the day of the reservation received an email confirming the reservation. I tried to cancel online and could not, so called Expedia. Since they had already paid the hotel, they called the hotel who refused to cancel the reservation and provide a refund.

It was my mistake that I did not understand that I needed to cancel each room, but I expected some understand since the other room was cancelled long before the deadline. Also, since the hotel was nearly full on a busy summer weekend, I offered to cancel the room so it could be given to someone else. They would not do that either. An Expedia supervisor also contacted the hotel management who would not provide any assistance. At least they could have given a partial refund and then freed up the room for someone else. It certainly was not customer-friendly, either for me or for others who may have wanted to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank JG11935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 438 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Great price for being so close to AC. Very clean. Made use of the pool, which was clean and relaxing. They also have a sauna. The continental breakfast is a good quick fix. The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. Overall very happy with my stays, looking forward to staying again soon.

Room Tip: Ive stayed on upper and lower levels, both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aafunnycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We've stayed here for 4 days midweek in july after booking a cheap two room express deal from Priceline. After one night we could get two adjacent rooms with connecting door. The breakfast was OK, but the the breakfast room was too small, so we had breakfast three times under the gazebo. This gazebo behind the hotel is intended for smokers by the way.

There was just one problem. We arrived in very rainy weather. There was coming some foul smell from both the airconditioning units on the third floor. We reported this to the reception and the clerk said the smell was caused by the humidity and would disappear in one day if we would constantly use the airconditioning. The weather continued to be rainy and the smell did not disappear. The third room we've got on the second day, had the same problem. Because we were very satisfied with the connecting door, we didn't want to complain and decided to open the window ( with musquito netting) instead of using the aircondioning.

The pool was very nice with open windows. Staff seem to walk in and out the pool area each hour. After a complaint to reception about loud music from another room, the music stopped in a couple of minutes. The carpets in the rooms could be cleaner in the corners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memberHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that this was my first time booking a 'choice hotel' (in this case 'Clarion').

This is by far the most horrible experience in terms of customer service that I've ever had.

I'll break it down into:

Pros:
Clean and nice facilities
Indoor pool
Close to Atlantic City

Cons:

Noisy guests on the room above us
Supervisor/Manager/micro-manager -'Sandra'- was very unpleasant, condescending and abrasive.
We felt like being watched all the time by her.
I'll spare some of the details, but the few interactions (unwanted) that we had with there were not up to par with what a customer service personnel is supposed to treat customers
An excerpt of those interactions:
I asked for a toiletry item that i needed (as they had a note saying that you could ask the front desk). The other front-desk assistant (Henderson -nice guy-) was trying to help when this lady interrupted him and started to lecture me on what a toiletry item is (it looks like she is from a foreign country, but it's not justifiable) and deny the request.
She greeted us upon arrival "Hey, what do you want guys?". Seriously? Is that how you treat guests?
In the night there was a loud noise coming from the room above us. Turns out there was a bunch of kids 'playing' basketball in the room. Called 3 times to front-desk and she said she will take care of it. 3 hours later (midnight) the noise stopped.
Next day during breakfast, she was walking around us waiting for us to free the table --an uneasy feeling--. To do what? to give it to the coach of the same basketball team that was making the noise in the room --and that appears to be (the team) a regular customer of that hotel--
After coming out of the pool, she literally stopped us from using the elevator claiming that were 'soaked in water'. Soaked? really?

I removed some of the other 2 non-sense interactions when I was bringing our stuff in from the car, and also I ignored the fact that she was talking down the employees in front of guests (quite a professional, huh?).

I wasn't a good feeling at all. I paid 203 US$ for the room --it wasn't free--, and felt profiled, watched and uneasy with the way this person treated us.

PS: Our stay was last week, if you want to take recent reviews about the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nelson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel before, we knew what to expect, but I am always pleased during a stay here. The hotel is clean through and though, from the lobby and breakfast area to the indoor pool to the hotel room. Everything is warm and inviting, and the staff is friendly and courteous. The manager, Sandra, is clearly business oriented but at the same time, helpful and welcoming. Our room smelled clean and fresh, along with the bedding. Plenty of room with two queen beds. The air conditioner is fairly quiet, which makes for a great sleep. And the beds! The beds are definitely the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept on. Plenty of pillows and a soft but firm mattress.

The boardwalk is a 10 minute drive from here, and hotel is literally 2 minutes from shopping centers, restaurants, CVS, dollar tree, etc. Great place to stay if you don't want to pay the high prices of the casino/hotels!

Room Tip: Our room was in the back, so there was no noise from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We usally stay at the borgata but there were no rooms avaible. I have to say the bed was just as comfortable and the room was so clean. Breakfast was very good and the staff was very nice. I would definitely will stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgar179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you want to stay outside Atlantic City or any of the nearby beach towns, this is a great place to stay.

Sandra and Henderson were wonderful. There was a situation our first night where some people had to be kicked out. The hotel is three years old and Sandra told us this was the first time the police had to be called. I have to say that Henderson and Sandra both dealt with the problem quickly and correctly. I was glad to learn that they don't just ignore problems. If you plan on fighting and causing trouble, this is not the hotel for you.

The breakfast room is very small (six tables total--four with two chairs each and two tables of four). Also, the way the room is designed, it's very hard to have more than two or three people getting breakfast at the same time. I liked the make-your-own waffles. There were lots of bread items: English muffins, bagels, breads, Danish pastry, blueberry muffins. They also have I believe four kinds of cold cereal, instant oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs and whole bananas, as well as grapes and either watermelon or cantaloupe cut-up daily.

There's coffee, teabags and hot chocolate packets available near the breakfast room twenty-four hours a day.

Sandra runs around, doing everything from working the front desk, wiping down tables in the breakfast area, helping children get their breakfast, etc. (Someone sent their child down to breakfast alone. He appeared to be no more than eight or nine.) Sandra is a self-professed perfectionist, so she's constantly on the move, keeping things running smoothly.

Everything was very clean....our room, the lobby, breakfast area and laundry room.

I like the fact that the AC unit wasn't exceptionally loud in our room and the bathroom vent was a separate switch, so no one was awakened by the noise of the vent if someone else used the bathroom at night.

There are three floors in this hotel, and only one elevator, so sometimes you have to wait a bit. Also, the elevator doesn't seem to have an air-conditioning in it, so it's a bit warm in there.

As for the location, I can only give it a four out of five simply because of the inconvenience of having to go past the hotel and turn around whenever we came back from being out.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet, even on the front of the building, near the road. Ask for a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
0.2 mi away
Garden State Inn
Garden State Inn
#4 of 26 in Absecon
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlantic City/Absecon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galloway Atlantic City Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North

Address: 342 E White Horse Pike, Absecon, NJ 08205-9565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range: $62 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North, a newly built hotel minutes from the Atlantic City Boardwalk! For your relaxation needs, the Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North boasts a beautiful 33-foot-long indoor heated pool and a well-equipped exercise room. All rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave oven for your convenience. For those who will expect nothing less than the very best, we proudly offer a King Hot Tub Room for the ultimate in luxurious romantic relaxation. If you are traveling with family, we are ready for you! Our Triple Queen Suite is complete with two bedrooms, including a private en-suite room so the family can be together while affording everyone a bit of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North Hotel Absecon
Clarion Inn And Suites Atlantic City North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing