We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Mean owner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Superlodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Superlodge
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Absecon
Wellford, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mean owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Room was clean. Close to the road so there was road noise but not real bad.
The worst thing was and why I would not go back was the female owner. She had the WORST customer service I have ever encounted. She was close to mean. If I wouldn't have paid in advance through hotels.com I would not have stayed there.
Bed was old and sagging.

Room Tip: Go late in the day and try to encounter the male owner or don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    7
    14
    41
See reviews for
24
26
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The toilet paper holder was torn off the wall and in the closet in the next room. Mold in the shower and around the tub surround. Shower curtain rod broken. Towels threadbare and gray (not the color just dirty). The smoke detector was hanging from the ceiling. Several lamps didn't work and the shades were torn and dirty. The tile floor was sticky and the carpet felt damp and greasy. Forget breakfast. We didn't even bother to eat it. The lobby was so dirty we didn't want touch anything never the less eat. It is animal friendly. I wouldn't even let my dog stay there. When we complained to the person at the front desk (we believe he was the owner), he didn't care and didn't want to hear anything. So do yourself a favor and don't book this DUMP!!!!! I won't click to rate this dump because a 0 rating is too good. Oh had to check something for rating or it wouldn't allow me to post this review.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any of the rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
Level Contributor
293 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Jacuzzi room right next to the office Not good All you hear is doors slamming and opening
No nonsmoking jacuzzi room Bed not great Nice size shower
Breakfast was a joke Weak coffee, watered down orange juice, ting muffins That's all they offered I am not coming back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NittanyLion70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The guy called about our reservations then when we first arrived the room was no where near ready and it was a little after 4pm the Jacuzzi room is right next door to the front desk so there all in your business the door was filthy the walls were very dirty the bathroom looked like a disgusting public bathroom some of walls were chipped we got 2 nights paid in advance and the owner would not let us get a refund for day 2 room was nasty he couldn't even explain to us how to use the Jacuzzi tub. Paid for 2 nights but did not stay went to royal lodge DON'T STAY HERE SERIOUSLY.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lelelivinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
322 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

There's a reason why it is cheaper than nearby motels- the place is horrible! Rooms have a musty SMELL, rooms are dirty, towels feel like sandpaper, bedspreads have stains, etc; too bad, cause it is a good location but they could take better care of the rooms, like a paint job.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the well known chain hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rex e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Arrived on Friday evening. Mr husband & I entered our room & immediately was overcome with smokey smell. Yuk. We had to leave the door open & spray the room with air freshner spray & lysol we brought with us. The 3 pillows on the bed was extremely flat. The carpet was stickey & dirty. Had to keep our shoes on. The shades on the lamp dirty with spots on them. The towels dingy. Felt uncomfortable lying in the bed. We took a shower, had a hard time turning on shower. Called the front desk the manager's wife, I could hardly hear her because the volume was so low& could not be adjusted. She finally came over & pulled hard on the knob of the shower to turn it on. The next morning we woke up to go out for the day left the soiled towels outside the door, went to their continental breakfast @7 am. The front door was locked which stated that it will be open@6 am. My husband had to ring bell 4 times before manager's wife came out. She just woke up it looked like. The breakfast was very small one bite muffins& coffee. Disappointed. When we came back to the motel to take shower to go out for dinner, we noticed that there were no replaced clean towels. I called front desk to ask for clean towel, was told housekeeping left for the day. So that means what? The manager said he will see what he can do. We never received clean towels. Good thing my husband and I kept our washcloths& one hand towel. I asked for an iron, I had to go get it. (SMH). The microwave was rusty inside, I was afraid to put my food inside to reheat. My husband& I left out Sunday morning @ 8 am. Could not wait until 11 am check out. And this is supposed to be a 3 star motel. I don't think so.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mischie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place is dirty, the owners/managers are extreamly rude and like to peek into your room. If someone knocks on your door the owner lady will stand behind off to the side and peek into your room. There was no breakfast, no maid service, sheets are dirty, internet is extreamly slow. Its overall just a bad place. do yourself a favor and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bn821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn & Suites
Crystal Inn & Suites
#7 of 18 in Galloway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galloway Atlantic City Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Atlantic City
Travelodge Atlantic City
#9 of 18 in Galloway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superlodge

Property: Superlodge
Address: 633 White Horse Pike, Absecon, NJ 08201-2301
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Superlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Superlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superlodge Hotel Absecon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing