We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the ultimate place on Chobe river”
Review of Kubu Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kubu Lodge
Ranked #11 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was staying few days in Kubu - enjoyed every second of it. Excellent food, great accommodation and service you can dream of. Plan to come back :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverline888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 191 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

We visited Kubu Lodge at Christmas in 2010/11. Having been to many other safari lodges around Botswana this was one of the best experiences I have had. The chalets were lovely, very clean and quaint and well equipped with mosquito nets etc.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Meals were pleasant and one night we were treated to a special dinner by a fire, decorated in flower petals and lamps. It was lovely eating breakfast on the decking with the idyllic view of the river.

Overall, the lodge was very green and beautiful and right on the river. The pool was small but very nice with benches and sunbeds positioned perfectly! We have our own 4x4 and the game drives were long but incredible, we were lucky to see some really good game - lions/leopard/elephants. The birdlife was absolutely incredible!

By far the best part was the boat trips up the Chobe river, we even went twice in one week! We saw one of the most breathtaking sunsets in the boat as an Elephant chose the perfect moment to cross the river in front of us. The lodge provided the basics and the stay was one to remember.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SidonieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We visited Kubu Lodge in May 2007, and loved it!! Our chalet was perfect, the service was great, we enjoyed the gardens and watching the mongoose, monkeys, bushbuck, hippo's water monitor and all the birds from our deck. The evening meals and breakfasts were a treat with our last night being given special treatment alone in the boma. Game drives and boat cruises booked at reception were great. My wife left a brand new jersey in the cupboard when we left, after a phone call when home the staff posted it home to us at no extra charge. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeraub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Large estate at the Chobe river, friendly staff and a variety of activities make it a perfect location to start or end your Safari trip in Botswana. The Chalets are beautiful, we have enjoyed our 3 nights stay very much. The lodge is situated a few minutes outside of Kasane by car, and it takes 20min to drive into Chobe National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

When comparing amenities and comfort and beauty it was reasonably priced. Restaurant food was delicious.Dinner is set menu and on the high side. Grounds well established and lush. Mongoose, bird and bush buck, and monkeys abundant on the grounds. Cabins well appointed, clean. Staff friendly and gracious. Tours - game drive, river game watch, trip to Victoria Falls - were provided by professionals, knowledgeable in the ways of the animals and the land. Well worth the price. Best safaris I experienced. Internet service available in office.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hottop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We visited Kubu Lodge in July 2011 with our 16 yr old son. We all loved it - the surroundings are beautiful and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The view across the Chobe river is beautiful and the chalets are charming. Very clean and cosy with mosquito nets on all beds.

The food is fabulous - never had a bad meal. Breakfast was an experience sitting out on the lovely deck overlooking the river with a group of resident mongoose hanging around hoping we might drop a piece of bread.

The game drives into Chobe are amazing - such fantastic game viewing. We took 3 drives out into Chobe and had the same guide each time - Brave. Brave was brilliant and managed to seek out lions on each of the drives - he's just so knowledgable about the area and wildlife. If I had to point out a negative it would be the distance from Chobe. The drive in the open Land Rover was about 20 minutes or more and at 6.00am in July it's pretty chilly - and seems much colder on the open road than in the bush. The sunset cruise is unmissable.

The Kubu staff are great - all of them. Service was always with a smile. I had a birthday during my stay and the travel agent had tipped them off. When we went down for dinner we were escorted through the restaurant to the boma where a special table had been laid - candlelight, fresh flowers scattered on the table and a fire lit to keep us warm, and blankets on each chair in case we got chilly. The restaurant team then appeared with a cake iced with my name and proceeded to serenade with 'Happy Birthday'. Normally at home this would have been embarrassing but here it was charming.

This is just an example of the lengths they go to to ensure we are pampered have a wonderful time.

If you're looking for a real bush camp experience this isn't the place for you. It's more of a hotel than a camp, although all the rooms are in individual chalets. We came looking for a camp experience and although this wasn't what we were looking for we had a wonderful time and couldn't fault it. The Chobe area is quite commercialised so I imagine bush camps don't exist in this area.

All in all a lovely place, peaceful, relaxing and very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizateve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

This a nice lace if you are staying in Kasane, The food this last time was better than before (we had some vegetarian lasagna). Not a lot of dishes to choose from but is ok. The rooms are small but cute with mosquito netting and a little safe in the closet, small showers but they have setting area outside in the balcony. The gardens are well maintained and you can see some animals walking around. The camping spots seem to be ok but a little crowded for me.The staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ifrankallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasane hotels
4.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
125 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
253 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 8 in Kasane
228 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sekama Guest House
Sekama Guest House
#4 of 8 in Kasane
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubu Lodge

Address: | Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Hotel Class:3 star — Kubu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kubu Hotel Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing