We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of The Garden Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed a few nights at the Garden Lodge and really enjoyed the whole experience. The staff were so friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean but had a curtain across separating the bathroom from bedroom (not ideal if your the shy type) also the food is very basic and would not be to everyone's taste, but obviously being in the bush one could not expect too much. It was quite expensive for what it was. However, apart from that all the wildlife more than made up for it. The safaris excellent, the grounds immaculate with the most beautiful birds flying around. A Really wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jentol57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

nice location
at the bank of the river chobe
at the opposite bank, elephants are grazing.
at night a hippo visits the garden.
gezellig (untranslatable Dutch)
expensive, but good gamedrives. (we had a private one, the whole day, 150 dollar pp)
regards
schliek

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights recently. We stayed in room 7, which is the smallest room on the end. It was a fine room. We loved the location of the Garden Lodge and Greg and Julia were on top of things. The food was good and the staff was very good and tried hard to please. We loved the afternoon boat rides the best--lots of time spent watching elephants.
Highly recommend this place as a good value. You could pay more to stay elsewhere, but there is no need to.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We´ve spent two days in this fantastic lodge, and it was a big pleasure being there. Gregg and Julia treated us as a really friends. The rooms are nice, food excellent and we had the best cruise sunset of our lives.

They take care such a tiny details. Congratulations for a welldone job!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mercedes972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Our party of seven, plus guide-driver and his assistant spent three nights at the Garden Lodge. The staff was immensely helpful and kind. The owners mingled with the guest during cocktail hour. When my fine camera broke down completely, two members of the staff lent me their expensive camera and extra lenses and even allowed me to take it on to our next site 400 miles away and leave it with an acquaintance there for subsequent return. The setting of the Lodge is magnificent and every aspect of its customer relations is geared to assuring maximum customer comfort. The kitchen and service were a model of excellence and professionalism. Best of eight lodges and camps we visited.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank Gorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Garden Lodge. The place, food, and staff were great. It is a small place (which we prefer) - maybe 8 rooms or so. When we stayed there was only one other couple for just one night - the rest of the time we had the place to ourselves. We liked the flexibility of choosing your game drives options of either land or river - and we chose land in the morning and river in the afternoon/evening and also what time we would want to go. We did get to see alot (lions, elephants, hippos, crocs, kudu, sable, buffalo, etc). The guides were very knowledgable and very friendly and we loved that we had the whole jeep and boat to ourselves.

The lodge/food were great. The room we had was upstairs and very large with a loft and a great view. The pool was nice and we took advantage of it on the hot afternoon. The food was great and it was nice to get to eat with the hosts and the owners and get to share stories. They do have lots of dogs, but we are dog lovers so that was great- but even if you weren't - they are not allowed around the house so it would be no problem.

If we ever come back to Kasane - we would stay again! - Kate from Minnesota

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I chose this hotel due to the good feedback it had in Tripadvisor. But it did not meet my expectations: Not very clean I found a mouse in my bathroom. The staff was correct but that was all. It is a very expensive hotel , I know that Bostwana is a expensive destination, but let me tell you that this hotel is similar to many bed and breakfast I have visited in Scotland.
They say that every guest has dinner together with other guests to share experiences...but but they don´t tell you is that it is a German oriented business, so everybody was german speaking, so we felt very sad that night: without understanding anything.

The owners also own a different lodge named Three Baobabs in the way to Savuti. I wouldnt advise anybody to go there...Because the couple running the lodge, who are the owner´s son and wife, don´t care for the guests at all. They treat you as if they were making a favour, lending a room in their house....and they are charging $300!!!!!
Unbelievable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariana003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasane hotels
0.5 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
4.9 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
120 reviews
7.1 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#7 of 26 in Kasane
149 reviews
1 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
472 reviews
33.6 mi away
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Lodge

Address: Plot 174 President Avenue, Kasane K48, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We built The Garden Lodge with the specific intention of offering personal service to a small number of guests. There are many fine lodges in the area, however most have over 100 beds, we have 22. The lodge has eight bedrooms (4 standard double/twin bed rooms, 3 family rooms with 4 beds each and 1 smaller double/twin room. ). All rooms with own bathrooms and private verandahs overlooking the Chobe River.We are truly a garden lodge. The combination of unlimited water and constant sunshine allows hibiscus, frangipani, bougainvillea, banana and paw paw to grow in profusion. Guests love the garden and the prolific birds attracted to the flowers and fruits. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing