We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five-star treatment”
Review of The Garden Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden Lodge
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Five-star treatment”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My stay here was booked through a package with another company and I was unsure of what these lodge offered. Upon my arrival I was greeted warmly and offered lunch (at a cost). Everything from then on was wonderful. The food was great, the staff were friendly and accommodating. The meals and conversation with the other guests were great for a solo traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaRae13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    38
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
59
86
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has only few rooms and has a nice personal and homey feeling, it almost felt like staying with friends. The garden by the Chobe river is usually visited by ducks and warthogs but also hippos can be seen at night, a very special sight over dinner. The room was nice and ample although we seemed to have the largest room in the hotel (room 1), probably worth asking when booking. The boat trips in the evening are just amazing, you will fall in love with those African sunsets.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nico_LND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

On arrival at garden lodge we were greeted by the very friendly owners who gave us a tour of the place and made us feel very welcome,the Rooms are very comfortable with a private outdoor terrace to relax on, I especially enjoyed the dining experience with all the guests sat around the communal dining table which turned out to be a very international affair with guests from around the world swapping stories from their trips so far, this lodge would be particularly good for single travellers as you could never feel isolated here, there is always someone around to chat to, all the staff were extremely friendly and after only 2 days it felt like we were staying with family rather than a hotel,and the game drives we went on were also very good,would highly recommend this lodge

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just returned home from 3 weeks of many places in South Africa, Johannesburg, Port Elizabeth, addo elephant camp, Durban, Vic Falls and Capetown and by far this was my favorite place we stayed. Located on the Chobe river, hosts Gabi and Phillip were like family. A lovely 9 room lodge, excellent appointments, great food, arranged all tours, fantastic staff, and accommodating every request. I wish I could live there!!!!!! My son and I stayed 2 nights and did not want to leave. Great value and most of all Just lovely people. Do the sunset cruises and of course Chobe National Park. Saw leopard, hippos, elephants, crocs, impala, zebra, giraffe plus thousands of different birds. Bring decent camera to capture the amazing wildlife. Phillip will even give you a ride on his amazing motorcyle!!! Miss you guys and cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Any room would be sufficient. Could not have been a better experience. GO GO GO
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived at the Garden Lodge with a group of fellow Kiwis on our "Number One Kiwi Botswana Adventure" to be warmly welcomed by all the staff onsite. Shown to our beautiful room with private balcony, which, like the rest of the Lodge, was decorated with fascinating African handicrafts. Nothing was too much trouble - including the coffee and cake on the terrace for afternoon tea!
Meals were super, staff were friendly and attentive and the riverside setting of the Lodge made for great sunsets and animal watching. The staff went to such trouble to cater for the needs of all the guests in this boutique Lodge (whether couples or a group such as ours) - in all, very memorable.

Room Tip: Upstairs was gorgeous- rooms have a 2 bed mezzanine for family stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed three lovely nights at the Garden Lodge -- a charming guest house where we felt at home right away. My youngest made herself at home in the kitchen with the cooks, and her older sister happily chased ducks in the garden. We all enjoyed the gardens, including the hippo that wandered up from the river right up to the hedge where we were having dinner! The meals were very good -- kid friendly variations were happily provided. Our room was comfortable and clean, with a neat loft area above with the children's two single beds. We had a nice view of the river. Phil was a charming host and I enjoyed our dinner conservation. The rest of his team were very friendly and welcoming. We really enjoyed the Lodge's sunset river cruise -- amazingly close to hippos eating in the marshy parts of the river, and elephants right across from them. Probably the most spectacular water experience we've had with these beautiful big creatures. Our last night was my husband's birthday --- they made a special cake for him, and surprised him with everyone singing happy birthday. A special touch was the Amarula flavoring of the cake -- noting how much of it he'd been drinking in the previous evenings! Definitely a nice guest house to explore Chobe by land and water from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCalnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Garden Lodge occupying three rooms (us+2 kids, and 2 other double rooms). Location was very nice, with pleasant views down the garden to the river. Staff were fantastic and very accomodating with all our requests, including a birthday dinner in a private dining area on our last night. All game viewing (boating and truck) were in the lodge's private vehicles with their own experienced guide. Amazing game viewing - never been so close to so many elephants. We also saw a leopard twice, and an interesting exchange between three lion and a very large herd of elephants. We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a nice private balcony with views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiRo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasane hotels
1.4 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 26 in Kasane
61 reviews
33.6 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#7 of 26 in Kasane
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Lodge

Property: The Garden Lodge
Address: Plot 174 President Avenue, Kasane K48, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We built The Garden Lodge with the specific intention of offering personal service to a small number of guests. There are many fine lodges in the area, however most have over 100 beds, we have 22. The lodge has eight bedrooms (4 standard double/twin bed rooms, 3 family rooms with 4 beds each and 1 smaller double/twin room. ). All rooms with own bathrooms and private verandahs overlooking the Chobe River.We are truly a garden lodge. The combination of unlimited water and constant sunshine allows hibiscus, frangipani, bougainvillea, banana and paw paw to grow in profusion. Guests love the garden and the prolific birds attracted to the flowers and fruits. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing