We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sanpete314
London, United Kingdom

UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 22, 2015
We stayed for 2 nights and had an amazing time - all thanks to Dan, our guide and driver. There is absolutely nothing he doesn't know about all the animals and birds and just wants to give you as much information as possible. The accommodation was exceptional and the views of the water hole were breathtaking. Watching elephants, giraffes, buffalo, impala and many more around the water hole every evening while having an evening meal is quite unforgettable. The river trip on the Chobe river with Dan was great - and we were so close to the crocs and hippos!
Thank you Dan for making this a truly wonderful experience - it wouldn't have been the same without you.
Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$129
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • eDreams
    $129
7.2 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception Area
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $132
6.2 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $101
  • Algotels
    $91
  • Hotels.com
    $105
6.5 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our small swimming pool to enjoy your stay with us!
$36
$21
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $36
  • Hotels.com
    $36
3.7 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$325
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $325
7.2 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Family Cottage

Queen Size Bed
$52
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $52
  • Official Site
3.6 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$76
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
37.9 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free parking
Pool
sanctuary for birds
$114
$108
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $114
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $114
6.2 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$456
$401
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $456
  • Vio.com
7.2 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$465
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $440
  • Agoda.com
    $403
  • Booking.com
    $476
7.4 miles from Elephant Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kasane
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
201
87
29
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
201
87
29
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole water hole electric fence game drives sister camp boat ride on the river safari guide chobe park sleeping area common areas okavango delta kasane airport two nights animals coming african safari laundry service minute drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 345 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2015

we stayed 2 nights and had a very enjoyable time . the best part of our stay was eating dinner outside and watching the animal show under the floodlights at the waterhole about 60 ft. away. we saw a lion , a hyena , and then the elephants silently made their way in to drink . there were mothers and calves and the batchelor bulls taking turns at the well with the mothers giving the bulls some shoves and some tusk pushes. this show went on for 2 hours .very cool .
Daniel , our guide was great, very knowledgeable about the birds and animals .we saw 2 leopards mating in the daytime, which Daniel said was amazing as he had never seen this in 18 years of guiding , nor had the other guides . all the staff were very attentative to our needs , with excellent meals.thanks roni and sue and all the staff . john and barb .

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank johnandbarb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2015

Stayed for 3 nights and saw all the game we ever wanted to see except no leopards and rhinos. A million elephants, giraffes, buffalo, lions, lots of birds (do the Chobe River tour and cruise), crocs. The hotel has a great deck and you can watch the animals show up to the watering hole a few metres away and bathe and drink. Really can get close if you are quiet and careful. Great picture taking opportunities. Staff are outstanding, beautiful and gentle people. I would go back in a second. Good value for the price. Devaluation of their currency really makes Botswana a great deal.

Room tip: wifi in the main lodge is available and free.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 11, 2015

Just finishing a one night stay - wish we had time for another night or two. We are a party of eight. We arrived early yesterday morning and took in a land safari before returning for lunch at 1:30 PM. Nice buffet lunch and then some rest time before an boat safari from 3 to 7 PM. Back for dinner in the boma (Barbeque area overlooking the water hole. During the evenin the water hole was visited by a leopard, hyenas, white owl, elephants, a jackal, wart hogs, baboons, and a pride of five lions. An amazing experience.Finished in the morning with an early safari (5:30 to 9:00 AM).

The accomodations are very nice - having a bathroom and shower in each room is great. Oor tour guide for all three safaris. Eugene, was amazing. We saw lions, elephants, zebra, all sorts of antelope, hippos, crocs, painted dogs, and too many bird speies to mention.

Would definitely come again and recommend to friends.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

Like it tranquile? Then this is your place! Nice ensuite safari tents with tree showers. Good food, great hosts, a small pool for some refreshment and a view on the water hole. Kasane itself might feel crowded, this place doesn't. Try it yourself!

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank AfricanTravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2015

As someone who has been on safari before (not in Botswana), I wasn't sure what to expect this time round - I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised by the lodge and the experience as a whole.

The lodge itself is a short journey from the Zambia-Botswana border (15-20 minutes)and has a number of "tents", each of which are a lot more than the name would suggest - the tent has an en-suite bathroom with a wall separating it and the shower from the rest of the room. The tents also have lights and (South African style) electric sockets, if needed.

There is a swimming pool at the lodge (which I didn't use) as well as a watering hole area just outside the lodge grounds - this is special as you get all sorts of animals just wandering up to the watering hole throughout the day (we saw elephants, hyena, warthogs, giraffes and honeybadgers to list a few). The boma (where dinner is served) has a great view of the watering hole so you can animal watch while you eat.

There are normally two activities per day, one in the morning and one in the afternoon (10-1ish and 3-7ish respectively). The park is a reasonable distance from the lodge (around 30 minutes for me, although this does depend on the route taken), so a 4-hour round trip is actually more like 3 hours in the park. That said, the time spent there was fantastic - our guide Daniel really knows his stuff and was able to find us plenty of variety of animals to see (the most prevalent big animals for us in the park were Impala and Elephants - they don't call it Elephant valley for nothing)! One piece of advice for the afternoon trips is to take a jersey - sunset can be at around 6pm which makes the drive home pretty cold and windy if you forget.

We did also go on a boat ride, seeing some of the more aquatic animals and birds - again, Daniel showed he really knows his stuff - he could tell us what all of the various animals were and answered all of the questions we had on them. He's got eyes like a hawk as well! (Highlights here were a number of hippos and crocodiles - make sure to keep those hands in the boat!)

The service here was also good - everyone was very friendly from start to finish (whether it was the guides, the staff or the owner, Sue). The food was also good - lunch is more of a buffet-style affair with some vegetarian options, dinner was a three course meal with soup to start with, a selection of meats and vegetables for the main and a (very tasty) dessert.

Overall, this was a great experience - the main thing that would make this even better for me would be having a quicker trip to get to the park as it did take a fair amount of time to get there and back each time.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JimTobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews