We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Valley Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$716
$516
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The River Club(Livingstone)
$759
$599
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
$997
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$829
$804
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$170
$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roysam Lodge(Livingstone)
$45
$29
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TraveLodge(Kasane)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge(Victoria Falls)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
142
66
23
19
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
66
23
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatering holewater holeelectric blanketselectric fencegame drivesluxury tentsfree laundry servicehoney moonsafari guideporch overlookingbore holeelephant familiesa regular hotel roomsumptuous lunchhalf wallanimals visitingwatch animals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 258 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Getting to the lodge is a joyful safari in itself. Arriving down a dirt track with minimum sinage I had already count over 30 elephants!
The lodge set in well kept green surrounds and is staffed by friendly & attentive staff.
The meals were buffet for Breakie & lunch and always delicious with many options incl a wonderful dessert. Evenings were ala carte & again delicious with the bear by watering hole a back drop that often housed elephants at night and during the day a mirriad of beasts & birds.
The rooms lovely, clean and spacious with great showers & cloud like pillows.
With two daily safaris you'll have time between to shower-swim before enjoying the amazing Chobe park. A fantastic stay , highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joancollins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you are visiting Chobe National Park, this exclusive lodge is an ABSOLUTE must for your lodging in Botswana. All the guest areas are focused on an active waterhole where we saw many animals during our breakfast, lunch or candlelight dinner. The tents are lavishly furnished with all the amenities. The include a daytime safari and water safari on the Chobe River which are both out of this world - a photographer's delight. Our stay at this lodge was a highlight during our 2-weeks in Africa.

Room Tip: Tents are configured in a circle and there really is no bad location.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfmaurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spent two nights here during our first African safari trip in August 2012 and had a wonderful experience. We got one of the "valley" tents, where we had a direct view of the very active watering hole and valley as well as a gorgeous view of the sunrise. The luxury tent itself was above my expectations -- very neat and clean, twin beds with electric blankets, hairdryer, whistle at the bedpost for safety (which was NOT a problem at all), separated but open style bathroom area (typical of the safari lodges), lovely front porch with camping chairs. The staff was extremely helpful and gracious throughout, from carrying our lugguage to all the meal services. Internet use is available for free at the reception desk, but no wi-fi is available. Complimentary laundry service was a very nice surprise! Last but not least, our safari guide Zambo was awesome, fun, and knowledgeable. The game viewing in Chobe National Park was amazing -- saw 4 out of the Big 5 (no Rhinos there) and much, much more!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This property is getting a face lift by the new owners. Excellent service by efficient staff. Fantastic game viewing- our Ranger was Vasco- He drives a jeep, boat and we didn't test his aviation skills - just kidding! Great sense of humour and full of knowledge. The Lodge is right in the forest overlooking a watering hole where elephants, bushbacks, warthogs and buffaloes come in droves to drink regularly. Breakfast and lunch are served in the dining room while dinner is always outside by the fire(at least when we were there in July/August). Stay for one or two nights. Be prepared for open bathrooms- toilet is open to the bath area and both are separated by a low walll from the sleeping area. We were not presented with vegetarian options for dinner, so if you are vegetarian you should be sure to indicate that.

Room Tip: We were told there are additional cottages at the back overlooking the watering hole- check those out.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was the second stop for our Group of 14 travellers. We were met at Kasane Airport by our Guides, Ran and Vasco. These guys were to mean a lot to us in the following days. We were promptly driven to Elephant Valley Lodge for check-in. Efficiently carried out and with tents assigned, we headed for lunch. Every meal was a buffet, with enough choices of good tasty food.

Then, we headed for our first ever afternoon game drive. As a new experience for most of us, it was exciting. The guides gave us good, detailed explanations about the animal sightings, the trees and the birds, and all animal behaviour. Vasco tested me to check if I was a genuine bird-watcher. Then, it was down to serious safari stuff. We saw a lot in this first day, as the comfortable but powerful safari game vehicles made light work of the rough terrain and long distances required. The next morning, we took their River cruise safari. It was another exceptionally wonderful experience. The boat was spacious, comfortable and guiding by Ran was superb. We got close to many animals for great photos. Notable were 26 sable antelopes which came to drink by the Chobe River-a most memorable sight. For the next day, we opted for the dawn game drive on land. It turned out to be the right choice.It was very cold setting out, and the blankets provided helped immensely. Minutes into the drive, we spotted a lovely pride of 8 lions relaxed and playing by the riverside, just as the sun rose behind us. It turned out to be a lion day, as we saw a mature pair, and another pride of adolescents stalking impala and warthog. On our final day, Ran did the best job of all by getting us the elusive leopard, even though the sighting was brief, it was great!

Back at our tents, we enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort. The hot showers worked well, as did all the lights and electric blankets. The staff kept them clean and neat. Coffee making sets were available in the tents too. A neat writing table completed the set-up.

The common areas were beautiful, with great views of the lawn and water hole. We were able to spot many birds and mammals as they visited throughout the day and night. In fact, we got 2 African wild dogs at the waterhole at dinnertime, and they were never again seen in the trip!! The bird hide at the side was great for viewing the creatures of the waterhole and photography. IT was very, very well used.

The lodge management was excellent, always on top of the situation, clear about what's going on and very caring & helpful. And I did need their help on several occasions. The dining staff were always attentive and prompt. Dinner at the Boma near the waterhole was always fun and had great atmosphere, dining under the stars and a near full moon( when we were there!)

All-in, a great place with the best animals sightings of our trip. Highly recommended for a powerful safari experience! Could stay here longer than our 3 nights!

Room Tip: All rooms/tents were great, being spaced out nicely around a manicured lawn.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews