We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unplanned but welcome second visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chobe Marina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chobe Marina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Kasane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Unplanned but welcome second visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

After leaving Nunda River Lodge a day early because of their poor quality service. (Unable to raise this location on Trip Adviser) we headed for a location where we knew we would receive quality service. The Marina Lodge was even better than the last time we visited. The rooms were excellent and the buffet for both dinner and breakfast was very, very good. The staff are friendly and efficient and the WiFi works. It is also free, as in most every hotel I have stayed in most parts of the world. As our next stop was in the Chobe NP we only spent one night there this time. We will certainly go back and spend more time there next time.

Room Tip: Trips on the river are available from the hotel and are extremely popular. Most of the rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chobe Marina Lodge. Thank you for your comments and we will certainly pass the comments about our food being so good onto the chef, he will appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    127
    47
    14
    11
See reviews for
86
135
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

It was our last hotel on a three week journey and how lucky we were to be here. We enjoyed the amazing animals nearby both from land and water and were able to swim in the beautiful hotel pool and relax. The food at the buffet was really delicious and there were so many choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Chobe Marina Lodge, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the great feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Chobe Marina Lodge is a very nice hotel in a wonderful location. We stayed in a suite that had a really big living room attached to a nice sized bedroom.

The air conditioning in the bedroom was very inadequate, but it was Africa, not the middle of the U.S. That being said, we had to keep the bedroom closed to get any sort of cooldown in there which made the living room basically unusuable. There were stunning views of the river from the living room, but we kept the drapes closed so the sun would not bake the rooms. If deciding between the suite and the regular room, I'd choose the regular room simply because the lack of air conditioning makes the living room pretty worthless.

The food was good, but not great. Keep an eye out for pesky monkeys who like to steal food! ;)

The game drives and river cruise are musts.

Room Tip: There is a grocery store a few blocks away where you can pick up some water or snacks. Go out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkToTravelOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. It seems you met some of our unwanted guests around the dinning area, the monkeys, good things they are not always there and only visit from time to time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel's location on the river and close to the national park are big pluses. The hotel is a bit like a tree house, and the grounds are quite nice. Our room was roomy and had a great river view from the balcony. Food was good but you would not come here for the food. Likewise the service in the hotel was lacking in some ways, although people were friendly. Some days it took a long time to get a napkin, for example. Drinks seemed to arrive halfway through dinner. Our A/C never really did work and no number of service calls from maintenance seemed to fix it. We simple gave up and slept with the balcony door open and the mosquito netting down and it was actually quite lovely. It had a rather nice gift shop. It is the location that makes the place. The sunset cruises and game drives were excellent.

Room Tip: I would advise a second floor room close to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcCleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Chobe Marina Lodge and for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor. We are always looking for ways to better our service levels and appreciate any constructive criticism,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I took one star off because the dining set up and the food.The ground is gorgeous ,lodge is very spacious .Each lodge has a view of the river ,a roomy porch ,beautiful kitchen area and the living room.Really big for one bedroom lodge.
We were with Gate 1 on the last leg of the 16 days South Africa / Victoria Falls / Chobe .
The dining area facing the river which is nice but it can get nuisance by the mosquitoes at night.
Food was just OK in the buffet .
On the last day we were there,I guess they didn't have enough people to make a buffet so we were sent upstairs to dine in a la carte menu which is Ok but the service was sooooo slow .At one point we as the group of 8 actually ran out of conversations to wait for the food.
The food was very average but you know what the animals and the view were make up for it :)
We can eat good when we get home ,yeah ?
The safaris by road or by boat both were NICE.We saw everything in that 2 days .Lions/ African Wild Dogs / Birds / Hippos / Sable / Giraffe / Leopard and of course the Elephants.
I would definitely come back though .Very comfortable stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyKimLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Oerating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your response and for visiting Chobe Marina Lodge, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice well kept hotel with lovely grounds.
It is located in Kasane next to the Chobe River.
The rooms are spacious, clean, with lovely views of the river.
The food is good, not great.
For dinner, you have a choice of a buffet downstairs or a la carte upstairs.
Make sure to do a river game cruise - you see "tons" of animals and spectacular sunsets.
The land game drives are also great. The afternoon drive lets you see more animals, but in the morning you have a better chance of seeing a lion or leopard.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us as Chobe Marina Lodge, it gives us great pleasure hearing from guests that have stayed with us and enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

In early August we were in a Botswana, self drive safari with our friends and their children. After 7 wonderful nights in Moremi, Savuti and Ihaha camps, we decided to stay for one night in Chobe Marina Lodge, enjoy a bit the luxury. While the lodge is going through a renovation, it was not really disturbing, rooms were very nice, all the staff were very friendly and professional, and the food quality, choice and service was excellent, too. I also like the location, garden is very nice, well maintained. The only negative point was that for my taste the restaurant was a bit crowded, however the staff managed the situation very well, service was smooth. As we spent the previous 11 days on the road, self drive safari, we decided to try the afternoon boat cruise and see the animals from the river. It was an excellent experience, our guide was very professional, the captain found the best position to see and photograph the birds and all the animals like the crocodile, hippo, elephant, buffalo, waterbuck or monitor lizard as well as the the beautiful Chobe sunset. The crown of the boat trip was the elephant river crossing, we were in a perfect position to watch how can a few month old baby elephant follow his/her mother and the elder sisters/brothers, swimming, holding the tail, use the trunk to breath. Was simply perfect. Overall great experience, hope we will be able to come again.

Room Tip: If you are with children, the 3 room chalets are the best, bit more expensive though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferenc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for deciding to stay with us for the night after your mobile / camping Safari through Botswana. As you mentioned we are busy refurbishing our lodge and we try our best so it does not inconvenience any of our guests visiting us at Chobe Marina Lodge. We hope to have all the renovations completed by March 2014 and then we will have a stunning property as we can pay more attention to the gardens as well and more importantly pay attention to our guests and our service levels. We are looking at ways of extending our dinning areas to create a bit more space, but in the mean time we do what we can with what we have and it works. It would be great if you do come back and visit again in the near future after we have completed our renovations I have no doubt you will enjoy your stay even more. The Elephant crossing is a fantastic sighting, something everyone should experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
2.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
4.6 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 3 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
32.5 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 20 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chobe Water Villas
Chobe Water Villas
#7 of 29 in Caprivi Region
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Marina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Marina Lodge

Property: Chobe Marina Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chobe Marina Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Chobe Marina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Marina Hotel Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing