We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Botswana overland trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chobe Marina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chobe Marina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Kasane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Botswana overland trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Accommodation good, food good but the buffet is just to expensive, no ale cart options to choose from, which means no other choices, breakfast very good but also very expensive.

The staff are good and friendly, but they are limited with any requests on the food issues.

In town also not many other options to choose from for restaurants etc.

Room Tip: All the river facing rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OVERLANDER515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, we value comment be they good or bad as they do assist us in delivering what is expected. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Chobe Marina Lodge. As you would have seen how far Kasane is from anything and everything, so all of the hotels and Lodges all get their fresh, fruit and veg from SA, which becomes an expensive exercise, however I am happy to say that our prices are still very competitive with other establishments in the area if not cheaper than others. We do have an alacarte restaurant, which we do run in tandem with our buffet restaurant, unless there was a specific request or reason we only open one of the restaurants which seldom happens, it appears it did on this occasion, our sincere apologies for that. We recruit staff locally from the village as we like giving back to the community, so most of our waiting staff are on training however most of them are really good and can compare to any top waiter in the country. I certainly hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future so that you can experience our service levels as we know it should be! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    133
    49
    14
    11
See reviews for
89
138
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moss Vale,Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My accommodation was superb so much room I could have had a party! Food excellent and staff lots of fun. The lodge is in an excellent position by the river. I had 5 days at the lodge, 2 days too many, only because the game drives were pretty boring having to stay on the roads all the time and no off road to find the animals who weren't inclined to stay by the roadside and be presented to us!!! However one time the driver did sneak slightly off the road and we did see a pride with a kill. I loved the river trips with the amount of bird life around each time (I did 4 trips). Sunset on the river was magical.

Room Tip: My room was spacious, also had an area with lounge, microwave set up and great little balcony, could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camellia785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Camillia, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while staying at Chobe Marina Lodge. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that your expectations were met, we do have an amazing property and we always happy to share our paradise with others such as yourself. The game viewing, on land and water is amazing in the Chobe and this area of Botswana. As the game drives happen in the Chobe National Park, no of road driving is permitted, which is unfortunate, however we support it totally as it does preserve the area for our future generations and we are very much concerned about our environment. I will pass your comments onto the our Chef who has recently started with us and has taken our meals to a different level. We look forward to welcoming you back, and hopefully not in the to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Chobe Marina Lodge is a neat and compact resort on the banks of the Chobe River. It is about five minutes away from Kasane Airport and is in the middle of the one street Kasane town. The accommodation is of a lower average luxury standard. The rooms are unpretentiously simple and without extravagant decor. The lodge boasts superb birding opportunities on its grounds. I occupied an upper level suite comprising one room and a combined kitchen and lounge. The room and lounge open onto a balcony that overlooks the Chobe River. This part of the Chobe River is however rather bereft of wildlife sightings-you are therefore expected to travel to the Chobe Game reserve by either water on a boat or by land on an organised game drive. It is settled that the best view of Chobe is by boat. My major problem with my second floor accommodation-there are only two floors- was the trickle of water that I had to endure to shower with. The heat during the day makes showering at least two times per day essential. The management failed to heed to my compalint and after spending five nights there, the water flow had not been attended to, to my satisfaction. Supper is served in buffet style- but the choice is very limited. The breakfast buffet is slightly better. The cost of holidaying in this part of the world is exhorbitant by any standard and one should carefully scrutinise one's exchange rate before choosing Chobe as a holiday destintion. As an example-cold drinks purchased at the hotel were at least four times the price paid in South Africa. A good tip is to do all purchases in the town's supermarkets.Game drives and river boat cruises should also be preferably arranged by your tour organiser as I believe that they usually score the best prices for these activities. Apart from the pool and the serenity of the surroundings-there are very few activities that one can engage in at the lodge apart from the birding and the occassional small wildlife that venture into the lodge's grounds.

Room Tip: get an upstairs room or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhoops2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Bhoops2011, Thank you for taking the time to visit Tripadvisor and mentioning your stay with us at Chobe Marina Lodge, Kasane Botswana. Your comments have been noted and they are much appreciated as they do assist us in bettering our operation.

We are in the process of a total Refurbishment of our property which will transform our property into a stunning property which will certainly make our guests stay most enjoyable as we are looking into comments such as yours to ensure our guests stay with us is memorable!

I hope that we will be in a position to welcome you back here in the near future so that you can enjoy our "new" hotel after the refurbishment, it will be stunning! I can however assure you that we do look after our guests as best we can and will continue to do so, and endeavor to meet all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have recently spend four nights at this hotel and highly recommend it. It is spacious clean and comfortable. The willing staff always on hand, thye love kids and make them feel at home. I appreciate the effort they went to bake a cake for my wife on her birthday - it was enormous! Thanks for the wonderful memories, I will definately try to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Manager at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It is always great to have such positive feedback from our guests as it is most rewarding when we met or exceeded any expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope that you will indeed come back in the near future, as you would have noticed that we are in the process of a enormous refurbishing our property and this will make your stay even better the next time you come. Enjoy the wonderful Cape and Paarl!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Chobe Marina Lodge as part of a small group safari journey through several countries in southern Africa. Location of this lodge on the river is excellent, as were the wildlife sightings in Chobe National Park, ten minutes from the lodge. The Kasane location had a more commercial feel to it than other sites on our safari. But once we saw the massive numbers of the Big Five and others in the park, it was clear why this is such a magical and not-to-be-missed safari location.

At Chobe Marina Lodge we were in a "suite" which had a vaulted ceiling (very nice), deck overlooking the river (gorgeous), kitchenette and table, living area and separate bedroom and bath. Wonderful space, but our room was in need of repair and updating. Non-suite rooms that we saw were very cramped and small, so try to get a suite - the space is dramatically different, We were told our suite had recently been updated, which was puzzling. The toilet didn't flush all the way; shower water pressure was low and lacked hot water; yet fixtures did look new. Bathroom floor tiles were in need of replacement. An exposed pipe in the bedroom closet leaked (which we didn't discover until we were leaving with a very wet piece of luggage we had placed in the closet - the management did compensate us for that damage). As a result, the closet smelled of mildew. Kitchenette cabinet hinges were broken, mini-refrigerator had no shelves and needed repair, living room couch felt grungy (we put an extra sheet over it). Window screens were torn; there was a broken, rusty window blind in the bathroom. Management seems aware of these problems in our and other rooms. A new manager had just arrived to deal with renovations and went around talking to guests, asking for suggestions. Apparently other renovations and corrections to prior renovations were in progress. We could see the difficulty of conducting renovations and bringing construction materials into this remote location. Beds and bed linens were good, and overall the suite was clean (couch needs to go), which was important to us on balance.

Food was mixed: breakfasts, including the omelet station were very good; but food at the lunch and dinner buffets was mediocre and lacked variety (every dish was laden with green and red peppers). The safari drive vehicles were in need of repair and not as well maintained as others we rode in at other lodges (for example, all the seat belts appeared torn off or broken).

We hope the staff, who were incredibly welcoming and gracious, are able to improve the property. The lodge's potential and setting on the river are excellent, and it has great access to the national park, which is an international gem.

Room Tip: Suites on the second floor with direct river views and vaulted ceilings are great locations; but use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi there Ladies, it was great having you stay with us at the Chobe Marina Lodge and I was happy to have spent sometime with you and meet you, as mentioned I had just started my new challenge at Chobe Marina Lodge and indeed there is and will always be work to do as we continuously look at ways to better our product. We went into the room on your departure and resolved the issues mentioned, and paid especial attention to address the leak you mentioned! As you also mentioned we are in the middle of a huge refurbishment, which will transform this lodge into one of the best if not the best to stay in while visiting Kasane, Chobe National Park! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to hear you have traveled home safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was fantastic to stay at the spacious, elegant, African-styled bungalows! Semi-self catering with beautiful sitting area, outside, outdoor patio overlooking Chobe River, neat bedrooms with ultra-comfortable beds, mosquito nets and own bathrooms. Everything was just perfect and elegant! While we enjoyed coffee on the porch outside, large hippo stacked out his head out of the water, looking directly at us and diving back into the river. Lovely breakfast, swimming pool and surroundings!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaSmaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi, it is fantastic to get such a great review and we are all delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. We are in the process of a total refurbishment, and will complete this soon which will make the Chobe Marina lodge even better. We have also recently employed a new executive chef who is doing wonders with our cuisine and we look forward to offering our guests a great dinning experience. Hope to be in a position to welcome you back to Chobe Marina Lodge again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Chobe Marina Lodge for 4 nights. Incredible food, service and venue. Morning and sunset game drives or river boat cruises displaying the best Chobe has to offer. This was our honeymoon and it was a truly unforgettable experience, highly recommend to all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are all delighted that you and your husband stayed at Chobe Marina Lodge to celebrate your marriage and honeymoon and are happy we were able to deliver Incredible food, service and venue. The morning and sunset game drives on the river by boat is amazing as the game viewing in the area of Botswana is fantastic. We aim to please and are happy that we were able to be part of your unforgettable experience, and thank you for highly recommending us to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
1.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#7 of 24 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
83.3 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#14 of 24 in Kasane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Marina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Marina Lodge

Property: Chobe Marina Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chobe Marina Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chobe Marina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Marina Hotel Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing