We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place which oozes beauty, and tranquility !”
Review of Chobe Marina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chobe Marina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Kasane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Make an effort to go to Chobe Marina Lodge, it is a heavenly spot and the staff are wonderful!!! The lodge is beautifully situated on the banks of the Chobe river. The boat rides are fabulous, the waters are just teeming with creatures!! The guided land rover trips are awesome, the guides go absolutely out of their way to find the animals! What a treat!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for making the effort to come to the Chobe Marina Lodge it is indeed a special place and heaven on earth for us which we love to share with our guests. The game viewing is spectacular and we believe we offer great service and excellent food. Thank you for this wonderful review, it makes us feel great that we were able to meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Chobe Marina Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 459 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

I love this place. I have been several times over 4 years and each time I discover something new. The villa style accommodation is very confortable and spacious. They are divided in half so you don't have to taske a whoile villa.They also have rooms in the main building. Wart hogs frequently roam around the lush garden. This great white hunter was a bit scared until he saw the children chasing them. The food here is very good. The Batswana love buffets so don't be surprised if that's whats offered on some nights. Otherwise its al a carte in one of the other dining places in the resort. The pool very inviting and picturesque beside the Chobe River. The national park is a short drive away and the wildlife has to be seen to be believed. People prefer to go in the dry season because the animals will come closer to the river but even during the "wet" they are still very accessible. Both the land and water based safaris are woth it. You will see more birds and of course hippos by boat than on the land but then when driving you may encounter lions. It really is a special place as many are discovering. Unfortunately the infrastructure will not cope for long with the influx of visitors without a major injection of funds. Go now before its either spoilt, overrun or turned into a resort playground.

Room Tip: Further from the main building is quieter but obvioulty your walk to breakfast will be further too.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hi Russell, there is a hunter in all of us and as all there is a fear element, but our regular visitors the Warthogs are friends of ours and have never harmed anyone and are indeed enjoyed by all our guests. We are in the process of a total refurbishment, so our accommodations will be even more special when completed. I hope that you will come back and visit us again at the Chobe marina Lodge, to enjoy the new rooms and indeed better quality service we are rendering. The game viewing is still spectacular and indeed a must to be experienced!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a great stay with the family. Rooms were really superb with a balcony overlooking the river. Its a smaller lodge that Chobe safari lodge. If you like a wide variety of food I would recommend Chobe Safari Lodge. Marina lodge is a lot smaller but they put effort in placing the dinner buffet outside on the lawn etc. Service was slow but not slower than Chobe Safari Lodge. If you are on holiday and you enjoy a stunning view, you don't really mind waiting for your cappucino for about 15 minutes.
The only thing that bothered me was that the staff eats from the snacks and breakfast table while the guests are still eating. I thought this is very inapropriate, you never see this in Europe. They also used the same bathrooms as the clients...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricanTravelsNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

It has been sometime since you where here, please accept my late response. The hotel has gone through some changes since, and one of them is the employing me as COO. Your comments are noted and since April allot has happened, the service it better, the food selection is better, as I have employed a brilliant Executive Chef, the staff no longer dine in the same restaurant as our guests and we have placed allot of attention to service levels and detail ensuring our guests stay with us is nothing short than fantastic. I would certainly not like to compare us with any other lodges in the area as we are all different and have something unique to offer, but am confident we do still compare well or even better the the other operations in the area. Thank you for taking the time to think about us on your return and for posting your thoughts and comments they are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but it was the starting point for a great three hour river cruise safari. We also had lunch there when we got back, which was some of the best food we had our whole trip.
Very impressive buffet, including lovely potato and coconut soup, great fresh salads and plenty of main course meat and fish dishes.
Barely room for dessert but another great range - with gorgeous home-made vanilla ice cream.
All the staff lovely too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Rubybirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is magnificent and sits along the Zambezi river with views of Namibia. That said, the rooms were very small and could use updating. Additionally, the service left something to be desired. Our refrigerator was never stocked with water (as it was supposed to, daily) and after repeated requests for water, it finally came with a 30 pula bill attached.

Admittedly, the breakfast was spectacular, with an omelette bar, assorted meats and cheeses, nuts & berries. Again, though the service was friendly, they had supposedly 'reserved' the entirety of the seating closest to the water for 'other guests' and we were not allowed to sit there though no one came during the 1 hour we sat for breakfast.

NB: It was the only luxury hotel, on the night we stayed there to have functional internet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaynaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here on an accommodated overland safari. This is by far the nicest lodge we stayed at in Botswana. Very service oriented. From the gardeners, to the omelet bar, to the pool bar staff, the restaurant staff, the spa, and front desk and mgmt, PROPS to EVERYONE! We had a member of our group who didn't like to share her room, so mgmt catered to her high maintenance needs, and moved her into her own room at minimal cost. The rest of our group were happy to share our suite. We had vaulted ceilings, a kitchen, 2 patios, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms. Very nice! The pool was amazing, and while the monkeys were slightly annoying, were also entertaining as we watched from the pool. We also did the Zambezi cruise and was in awe of the endless wildlife, we saw it all. I highly recommend this tour AND this lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shredbetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is very well maintained and they had a complimentary native dance show each evening. They offer 2 basic tours from the hotel. One is a boat ride on the Zambezi river that offers fascinating images of wildlife. Did you know elephants can swim underwater using their trunks as snorkels? The other is a land rover ride through the nearby Chobe National Park where you can get up close to the animals.

The property is pretty spread out. Our room was a 5-10 minute walk to the dining room. The pool is not heated so you better like cold water.

Kasane itself does not seem to offer much so we stayed on the property (execpt for the excursions) during our visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
1.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
9.0 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
468 reviews
5.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#7 of 26 in Kasane
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 8 in Kasane
215 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 22 in Chobe National Park
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Marina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Marina Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kasane
Price Range: $686 - $913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chobe Marina Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chobe Marina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Marina Hotel Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing