We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chobe Marina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chobe Marina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Kasane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

There were a number of problems with the room here. It seems that most of the rooms have inter-connecting doors which ofcourse means that you can hear anything happening in the adjacent room. Another sound issue was that from time to time we could hear what seemed like a large generator. The room itself had a number of minor faults - the security door latch was loose, the patio door latch was broken, the shaver socket did not work, the wall safe was not attached to the wall, and the mosquito net needed adjustment as it do not go all the way to the floor. Also, the TV was probably at least 20 years old. If you were wanting to enjoy a big event, the only way would be the flat screen in the bar area. The food was reasonable, but here in mid winter they need plate warmers at the buffet - all plates were ice cold. There is no wifi in the rooms, but there is really good free broadband wifi in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Request top floor room as close to the river as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    127
    47
    14
    11
See reviews for
86
135
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

As part of a full day trip from Victoria Falls, staff at this Lodge welcomed us and settled us for a widespread buffet on the terrace beside the river- accepting that we were in transit.We were treated as long term guests with questions answered and suggestions made. Based on this fact, staff hospitality and overall ambience we plan to return to stay.What followed was one of the highlights of our five week stay in Africa.Stepping from the terrace onto a flat bottomed pontoon like ferry, and later jeep, The Marina Lodge Chobe proved to be Noah's Ark on land. The abundance of wildlife- in the air, on land and in water was truly indescribable. Just go! Flights in and out of Kasane make this so venue most accessible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlock Alberta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We left the Livingston Hotel and went by taxi van to the Zambisi river crossing between Zambia and Botswana there is a small box car town there and we spent about an hour looking around and taking picture also buying some items, after we got our bags to the boat to take us across the Mighty Zambisi rIver to Botswana and Chobe national game park when we got to Chobe there was a safari vehicle waiting to take us to Chobe Lodge it was a great ride through the forest to the camp , and what a wonderful camp it is ,we were greeted by the manager and introduced to our guide then after checking into our rooms we headed for the bush and the river ,we started down the river and seen so many animals ,including a leopard who put on a great show for us ,the next four days were just as fabulous and the guide we had stayed with us for the whole week , Overall it was the best part of a two week trip in the four countries, that join in around the vic falls Zambia, Botswana, Zimbabwe coming from South Africa.we will probably doit again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyalami
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our second stay at Chobe Marina.The Chobe river cruise provides the best game viewing experience as the animals are all there, no need to drive around looking.... And you can do it all with a drink in hand and with a camera ready.
Our July experience was different as it was fuller and busier than our previous visit.The number of boats on the river made the experience feel less natural than before so we would not visit again in July.We counted twelve tourist boats in the same vicinity and people were calling to others in other boats so it was a little noisy for us.
Our previous visit was in August , the hotel was not full and we were the only boat in sight in the afternoon, a peaceful and memorable game viewing experience.
Chobe is a special place and the Chobe Marina Lodge is well situated on the river front.The staff are efficient and the rooms are clean and modern.The bars and landings are perfectly situated for outdoor sundowners overlooking the water.
We went on the 6am game drive and saw a pride of lions as the sun was coming up and we went on the afternoon boat cruise everyday.Large herds of elephant are on the river everyday and there is a large variety of bird life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne and Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Collected at Kasane airport by a most friendly driver and an open game viewing vehicle - arrived at Chobe Marina Lodge - and was met by wonderfully friendly and efficient staff - who go out of their way to assist you with any request - efficient housekeeping and great food - an excellent Chef with a fab team - the location of this river side lodge is magnificent - the sunsets and sunrises - game viewing in the park and the awesome river cruise makes this a must stay destination. Its something else to experience so many smiles and effortless greetings through every level of staff member. If you want to see elephants 'swimming' - check in at Chobe Marina Lodge - I cant wait to get back and I have not even left yet ...

Room Tip: all rooms have wonderful views of the river and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDHowell38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Staying at the Chobe Marina, you have access to loads of exciting activities such as tiger fishing and elephant viewing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheréne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed at Chobe Marina Lodge in Kasane for a week. Excellent all round stay and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good accommodation, great food and perfect siting on the river front and a good range of well priced activities available. If there is an easier way to see huge amounts of game in comfort than in Kasane, I am unaware of it, and Marina Lodge is a good base to enjoy this magical town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor_optivite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
0.7 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
82.3 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kasane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 3 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
6.7 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#7 of 20 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Marina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Marina Lodge

Property: Chobe Marina Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chobe Marina Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Chobe Marina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Marina Hotel Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing