We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Zimbabwe !!”
Review of Chobe Marina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chobe Marina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Kasane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stay in Zimbabwe !!”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

If we had not been to Imbabala and the Elephant Camp in Zimbabwe, we probably would have thought this was a great place, but as we had something to compare it to, we can safely say stay in Zimbabwe. The people were very rude in comparison, and not very helpful, all they wanted was your money. We went on a sunset cruise, they brought a tray of food, offered it to us once, then the staff ate the rest .... We had heard great things about the game drives, but they were just as good at Imbabala and a lot less crowded, the roads were a nightmare on the drive and I was literally thrown around the whole time, hitting my head on more than one occassion ....

Room Tip: stay in Zimbabwe
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kidtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    140
    49
    14
    11
See reviews for
94
143
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piraeus, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

my friend and I stayed at the lodge for 3 days and we had an overall great time.
The room was spacious with all the necessary amenities, big comfortable bed, a cozy balcony overlooking Chobe river as well as a big screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
The staff was truly helpful and polite. Try to do the early morning game drive and the sunset cruise on the Chobe River. The sunset is just spectacular plus you get to see all these animals very close. The people at the Activities' Office were just great. We had 2 game drives and 1 sunset cruise and we decided to cancel one of the 2 game drives. When next day I went to the office to ask if and how we could cross over to Namibia the girl told us that we could do it for free since we did not do one of the game drives and she arranged it. We went to visit one of the cultural villages in Impalila Island where we saw a huge baobab tree among other interesting things.
The buffets were more than adequate and the barbequed impala simply delicious.
One of the funny things is the pair of warthogs that graze a couple of times a day on the grass around the swimming pool where at first I was so scared only to find out that they were only interested in the grass. I actually got some great photos of them. Maybe a more than one daily swimming pool cleaning of the leaves that fall constantly from the trees and feel sludgy when you step on them a few hours (or days???) later.
a very good experience and we would definitely come back

Room Tip: as long as it has a balcony it's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covaltio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

we recently stayed two nights at the lodge and found the staff and amenities to be excellent. There was a good range of food in the restaurant which was a buffet for most meals. we went on two game drives and one sunset cruise and found the knowledge of the birds and animals. After reading some reports we were a little concerned but really this proved to be without foundation and we felt safe and well looked after at all times

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ikev48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Went to Chobe after visiting Vic Falls. The rooms are very spacious. The food was served as a buffet dinner and was very tastful and lots of things to choose from. The only let down was the meat that was very chewy and I think that depended on that they cut the meat in any directions that suited them. The servis was impeccable. The staff was quick, friendly and attentive.
The lodge is really nice situated right by the Chobe River and you could go out on a River safari at their own jetty. A very nice tour where you see lots of elephants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 189894Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

What a place, what a setting, what a view.
Let's start with the Accomodation: the entrance is worthy of screensaver status. Rainforest like setting with the serene Chobe river as backdrop. Check-in, painless. Chalets very comfortable. We had a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom unit, with fully kitchen, spacious lounge, not to mention the breathtaking view of the river in close proximity. Main bedroom upstairs included its own lounge area. The only problem we had was a burst geyser on the first night that flooded the unit. Although unforeseen, just felt that 5 star review could have been obtained if a porter trolley was available to move our stuff to another chalet. Bygones.
Setting: Kasena is ideally positioned on the banks of Chobe river and the north-eastern tip of Chobe National Park. Game drives, river cruisers and tiger fishing are what you in for. TIP: DON'T USE THE HOTEL TO BOOK YOUR SAFARI AND FISHING TOURS - FAR TOO EXPENSIVE. Rather use the local guys that go up and down the river in ther own boats. We utilised the services of Steve ([--] - +[--]) for river cruise, game drive and tiger fishing. 2/3 the price and great service. Try to do the sunrise game drive and sunset cruise on the same day - you only pay once for entry into the park as they give you a day permit - 70 Phulas.
Setting: what can I say. Calm river only disturbed by wondering elephants, hippos, crocodiles, jumping tiger fish, not forgetting the distinctive sound of the Fish Eagle. On game drive: lioness with 2 cubs on the prowl. Black back jackets, sable antelope, kudu, Piku (only found along Chobe river) and the famous Chobe elephants. River cruise: crocodiles, elephants crossing, cape buffalo, hippo yawning and numerous bird species (personal favourite) . Fishing: caught 3 and, as always, you should have seen the one that got away - it was a monster fish. Fishing was by far the best part of my 7 year old sons holiday.
WE ALL THOPROUGHLY ENJOYED IT AND CAN'T WAIT TO GET BACK!!!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom chalets were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibn_Batuta_of_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

After countless phone calls I booked here and confirmed them to pick us up from the Airport we even rang them AGAIN from Gabarone to confirm the pick up and guess what No one came or contacted us so... they are useless ... Chobe Mowana Lodge, being renovated was a better choice and we stayed in a newly renovated room, very nice and would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Recently had a fantastic stay at the Chobe Marina Lodge. Great value for money and the staff are excpetionally friendly and helpful. A little disappointed that the pool was closed for revamp in peak season. They did arrange for us to go to the pool next door but think better planning should have been done.
There evenings ar epretty quiet and felt taht they could have arranged some entertainmnet at the bar in the evenings.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is not right next to teh entrance as music plays all evening and they don't swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
0.5 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,095 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
7.2 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
206 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 21 in Chobe National Park
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Marina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Marina Lodge

Property: Chobe Marina Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chobe Marina Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Chobe Marina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Marina Hotel Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing