We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Judge J
Gaborone, Botswana

A wonderful frolic in Mother Natures playground

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 4, 2016
A really super 3 night stay at this marvellous hotel. Chobe is just Nature at its best and the Crests Mowana certainly brings to the party to make it so. There was no need for us the leave the hotel, as everything is laid on. From good food to game drives both on land and on the river. Friendly and extremely helpful staff bring the experience full circle, so from sunrise to a spectacular sunset, the mighty Chobe river never ever gets old.
Date of stay: May 2016
Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs, as the view over the river is great. We were in 207
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review
Responded Jun 28, 2016
Dear Judge J.

Thank you for awarding full marks to Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa on Tripadvisor.

We enjoyed being of service to you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

John Gray |GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Reception Area
$130
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.5 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$356
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.8 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Free parking
Pool
$126
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.0 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
$105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $100
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.2 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$230
$202
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $202
  • Expedia.com
    $202
4.9 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$50
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.3 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
$78
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $78
1.0 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$126
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.5 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $515
  • Expedia.com
    $350
  • eDreams
1.4 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our small swimming pool to enjoy your stay with us!
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $29
  • eDreams
3.9 miles from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kasane
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveler rating
316
333
118
40
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
316
333
118
40
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chobe river game drives boat cruise a great stay buffet style enjoyed my stay view of the river wild animals victoria falls early morning safari botswana lodge africa activities warthogs tree
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 823 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2016

Great foyer with a big baobab tree and great location with river views. The spa was also very good, massage highly recommended after too many bumpy safari drives! Rooms are a bit of a letdown, dated bathrooms and slight odor throughout but still comfortable and overlooking the water. Watch out for the hippos munching the grass by your front door!

Room tip: Try to get one on the spar side then you are closer to the amenities.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2016

Dear Bruce D.

Thank you for staying at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spa experience. We appreciate your feedback on areas where we can do better. We are looking into these.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

John Gray |GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

I had a lovely time in this hotel. The natural decor of the room blends in very well with the whole area. My room overlooked the Chobe River, which was wonderful for relaxing. I would recommend anyone to ensure that they go to the deck above the restaurant, its a great place to relax in between tourist activities, have a drink and watch the sun go down. Nothing beats a sunset over the Chobe River. I found the staff to be friendly and welcoming and accommodative of customer needs.

Room tip: Although all rooms somehow face the river, rooms on the upper floors on the eastern side have the best views and closer to the river.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ponalo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Ponalo T.

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. Thank you for being our guest. We were honoured to be of service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

John Gray | GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

The Cresta Mowana is one of the largest hotel's in Kasane and is part of a group of hotels.

The hotel is rated as 4 stars and I would say that this is probably fair considering the small town location in Africa.

It is not the equivalent of a 4 star in Europe or North America but experienced travellers should recognise this and accept it.

The staff are friendly and the facilities are decent. The restaurant offers a buffet dinner and an a la carte menu. The buffet options are pretty good with a reasonable selection, all well presented.

On one night they decided without any warning not to offer the buffet and we ordered a la carte. We waited an hour for our first course.

The hotel offers wifi but it was not operational for half of our stay.

The hotel seems to offer a good activities programme of game drives and excursions but we were doing our own thing so did not use them. I think their vehicles etc seemed to all be smart and in good order.

Overall I would say this is a decent place to stay especially if you prefer a larger hotel rather than a more boutique type experience - which this is not.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank derek6107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2016

Dear Derek i

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari & Spa.

We were honoured to have you staying with us. Thank you for highlighting areas for improvement. Please be advised that our wifi is up and running.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards

John Gray | GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2016

We travelled to Kasane and stayed in Cresta Mowana Lodge in the first week of May. We had a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean and any request were attended immediately. The chef Dominque went over and beyond to take care of my special request of Asian vegetarian food. He made very tasty Indian vegetarian food that surpassed even any great Indian restaurant food. Every day he came around and made sure that our special dietary needs are met. Great hospitality. I recommend this resort and Dominque to any one specifically who Indian vegetarians like me.Fabulous service. Than you to Dominque for your special and warm care. Can't wait to come back! Felt like home away from home

Room tip: 4th floor facing the Chobe river
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMILE011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear Smile011

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

We are delighted that you had an awesome experience staying at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. On behalf of Chef Dominique and the team, we were honoured to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

John Gray | General Manager, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 night at end of April 2016.

The food was great and made to suit my vegetarian wife. The chefs accommodated as directed.

We had pre-booked massages as a package and were treated extremely well. This were the best massages in Africa. The jacuzzi and the infinity pools are wonderful.

Thank you

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Prav150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Dear Prav150

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and found the massages in our Spa to be the best in Africa!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

John Gray | GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews