We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place, great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Mowana with a group during our tour of Southern Africa. The service was superb, the staff very obliging. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the location on the banks of the Chobe River gave easy access to the Chobe Game Reserve. The food was good, and the lodge is only 5-10 minutes from the Kasane airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of our Safari Resort and proximity to Chobe Game Park. We are particularly pleased that you found our service superb and our staff obliging. This feedback is very encouraging for our team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    212
    82
    27
    11
See reviews for
98
167
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in this lodge for three days.and as a whole we were very impressed with the place, the time were good and the food excellent, however the housekeeping was appealing. Our room was only turned down once in the three nights- we did not expect our towels to be changed every day but twice the Bathmat was removed and not replaced. One day we had no.milk left in the room. It should also be pointed out that each room is only allocated 2 sachets of milk per day, this is not enough. However regardless of the shortcomings in housekeeping the stay was most enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wovit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

Thank you for highlighting areas of concern in our housekeeping. It is with feedback from our guests that we can continuously improve our service.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We came to this hotel as a staging place for our safaris and river cruises. It was a typical African hotel, similar to a hotel in Europe more then a hotel in America. Built in the 90's the ground and buildings are very well keeped, and have views of the rivers and wildlife.

LOCATION -- Outside of Kasane, Botswana it sits on the river with the Namibian strip on the other side. The entire facility is fenced it so there is not worries of running into any of the big five with walking to dinner.

FOOD -- Less fine dining and more buffet. There was a side menu but everyone ordered from the buffet. The food was tasty and flavorful with offering of game meats such as impala and Kudu every night. There is a side local food option that has Mopani worms as a selection. Breakfast was also buffet style, and offered omelets and a variety of breakfast type meats. As for lunch it was also buffet style, but was located at the pool area instead of the dining room

ROOM -- Tiled floor with no carpet greeted us. Our room was right next to the spa with easy access to the gym, pool and hot tub. As for the bedding it was sufficient nothing over the top or special. Basic sheets and amenities. There is a mosquito net around the bed that must be used at night. All the African hotels we stayed at do not use seals on any of the doors so insets do come into the room. Bring a fly swatter you will use it. There was air conditioning in our room

STAFF -- Very helpful and kind.

POWER PORTS -- There was two plugs easy to get to for charging your devise. One was the typical large round South African post type the other was the large 3 rectangular post type.

INTERNET SERVICE -- Poor when it worked. It is only available in the lobby. Although there is a overall room internet service that does not work. We were constantly asked to try the internet at the spa but that did not work also.

Would I stay there again, Probably. I had no major issues with this hotel.

They do offer safaris and river cruises through the hotel but we used the local Thomson Africa affiliate. FYI, thanks to nature the morning safaris start at 6am so be prepared to wake up early. Coffee and muffins are offered early in the morning with a full breakfast after. The river cruises are a must do, and are unbelievable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the location and all the amazing views and game experience that the Chobe has to offer. Thank you for your remarks relating to our staff being helpful and kind. Such feedback is very encouraging to our staff. We appreciate your feedback on areas of improvement which we are looking into.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a family safari during August to the Chobe area in Botswana Very good lodge but showing its age a little Exceptional service in all areas , very good food with a nice variety , wonderful deck area , excellent spa , nice fitness center with state of the art equipment and a good location make this a top destination The tours on land and river (included) every day was informative and well organized with really good guides We enjoyed the river cruises and saw a wide variety of game and bird life - even some elephants crossing through the river on two occasions All the staff are well trained , helpful and attentive We also particularly enjoyed the evening drinks on the deck before dinner while the musician that played and sang songs during dinner was excellent A very enjoyable stay overall

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and game experience that the Chobe has to offer and found the service exceptional. We are particularly pleased that you found the service exceptional. Thank you for your remarks indicating that our staff are well trained, helpful and attentive. This feedback is very encouraging for our team. We are delighted that you enjoyed the music at dinner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a big hotel and some rooms are far away form the reception. Our room was at the ground floor, river view with a nice patio outside. In the middle of the night, while we were in bed, two people entered the room from the patio window and , they searched the room with a torch and they stole our backpack and few other item and then, since we started screaming they went away. We called the reption and we got little attention then we went the lobby and we alerted the security. but it was far too late. For the rest the hotel is quite acceptable. Due to layout and position (along the riverside) the security should be much stricter and much better organized.
The day after the management has been nice with us but what happened can be hardly forgot

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the first floor not on the ground floor, they are much safer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superparacelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Security within and around the peripherals of the resort has been increased with regular patrols being conducted to avoid recurrence.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Mowana Lodge was really nice, the rooms were well eqipped,very clean and most of them have a good view over the chobe river(as ours was). The boat safari was excellent, saw, crocs/elephants/hippos/giraffes.impala/baboons/zebra/many birds of prey/diff types of stork, just wonderful something for everyone. also did an all day sarafi in open jeep, saw all the above animals from a different aspect, but hte icing on the cake was the leapard coming up from the river, and sitting just about 15 feet away from our jeep, it was pure magic. The food in the lodge was OK, ice cream lovely, but the staff were a bit sullen. The staff outside of the restaurant were fine.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views, especially at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the location and managed to see a lot of game including a leopard. We value your feedback on service areas needing improvement.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

had a great river game drive from here saw elephant,impala,zebra crocodile ,kingfishers and various other birds including birds of prey.the rooms are large and have a view if the chobe river.the bar staff were polite and helpful but i thought the restaurant staff a little sullen.food was fine with a fair amount of choice.we booked an all day game drive for our last day,our driver/guide was matt.what a goldmine of information he turned out to be,nothing was too much trouble and we saw more that day than the previous three days.the hotel also provide an excellent packed breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the game viewing and birding experience as well as the views of the Chobe River. Thank you for the encouraging feedback regarding our staff in the bar and Matt our driver/guide. Your feedback on areas needing improvement is appreciated and is being acted on.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
8.7 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
445 reviews
4.9 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 26 in Kasane
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 8 in Kasane
212 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#13 of 21 in Chobe National Park
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa

Property: Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana (Formerly Mowana Safari Lodge)
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa situated on the banks of the mighty Chobe River in Botswana is one of southern Africa's sustainable tourism destinations where luxury exists in harmony with nature, providing a unique location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. Game, including herds of elephant, antelope, giraffe, zebras, lions, leopard and many more, roam freely in the nearby Chobe Game Park. Sunrises and sunsets in this part of the world, with the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains as a backdrop are the substance of dreams. Birdlife is in abundance. Bird species unique to this part of southern Africa can be seen on the property as well as on the banks of the Mighty Chobe River. Facilities at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa include 110 luxury air conditioned bedrooms and 4 suites all with river views, a 9 hole golf course and fully equipped spa. Each guest room has a private balcony. In these tranquil surroundings you will come to experience true comfort, superb accommodation, gourmet cuisine and African inspired menus and only the best in personalised 'African-style' service. Play a round of golf on the famous golf course or enjoy bird watching on the banks of the mighty Chobe River. Take time to interact with the un-spoilt natural and beautiful surroundings while enjoying a leisurely massage at the Mowana Spa. All 110 bedrooms and four suites boast spectacular river views and have been tastefully decorated in an ethnic style to compliment the natural ambiance. Both the Serondella Restaurant and Savuti cocktail bar overlook the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains, the ultimate place to watch the abundant wildlife gathering at twilight. The Spa at Cresta Mowana is beautifully designed, featuring natural textures and ethnic elements. It is in harmony with the surrounding Chobe National park, a serene space that offers sanctuary from the stresses of life. With four private treatment rooms complemented by a raised deck overlooking the mighty Chobe River on which open air pampering sessions are highly recommended, the Mowana Spa offers state of the art facilities and a range of Clarens treatments and therapies that will have you spoilt for choice. Life doesn't get much better than this. Day trips can be organized to Victoria Falls, just 80 kilometres away from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowana Safari Hotel Kasane
Mowana Safari Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing