We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kasane
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Cresta Mowana Resort & Spa and can honestly say that it was an excellent experience. The accommodation is above average and the staff will go out of their way to make your stay more pleasant. The activities like game drives and sunset cruises are well organised and gives you maximum exposure to the wonderful Chobe area.
The spa and golf course are there for those who want to relax and is well equipped.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are delighted that you had such an excellent experience with us at Cresta Mowana and that you were able to take advantage of all that we have on offer in the stunning Chobe area! We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our hardworking staff. Positive feedback from helpful customers like you is inspiring and encouraging to our whole team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 511 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in need of just a little TLC in the rooms. The mosquito nets were a bit grubby and the bathroom had a slight odour of drains, The beds however were very clean and comfortable and the room was spacious. The food was very nice. It was all buffet style but that means you have a good choice of local dishes and it gives you an opportunity to try different game meats. The bar area was a dissappointment as it closed at around 9 to 9.30 pm and a smile was a stranger to the bar tender 's face.
However, the game drives and sunset cruises were fantastic.The guides went out of their way to ensure you saw as many animals as possible and you get really close to them as they are used to the jeeps. We saw everything we hoped to and more. The hotel is geared up with rugs for early morning starts to keep you warm and provide a hot drink and muffin to keep you going until you return for breakfast. The spa is new and really lovely. The treatment areas are immaculate and the spa facilities very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimandVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are so pleased that you found the safari activities we offer to be fantastic, and that you were able to get a wonderful wildlife experience! We appreciate your kind comments regarding the spacious rooms as well as the lovely new spa facilities which we are so proud of. We will certainly take heed of your observations you have made about the mosquito nets, the bar and the bathrooms. Helpful feedback from customers like you assists us in providing high quality service and is inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Mowana Lodge has this special, specific, African feeling! Rooms and entire lodge are elegantly decorated with Afri-art, which makes you feel like on a "safari trip long time ago"... I especially enjoyed the closeness to nature, bird-watching, lovely green bush outside the windows, sounds of hippos in the river and heart-rejoicing call of an African fish eagle, circling over the restaurant deck and the lodge during our breakfast. Mowana is definitely worth of visiting. An oasis of quiet at the riverbanks of Chobe...still returning there in my memories!

Room Tip: Rooms are located on two floors, so if its difficult for you to climb stairs, request your room to b...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaSmaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are so delighted that you experienced such a memorable and special time with us in our beautiful and natural surroundings. We are so proud of the wildlife, bird-life and fauna that encompass our beautiful oasis and are so pleased when our customers are able to enjoy all that we have to offer at Cresta Mowana. Encouraging comments from helpful customers like you are so inspiring for the entire staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were at the Cresta Mowana in May 2013. Our reception was very indifferent - she answered the phone and helped someone else, in the middle of our check in. We were also told the wrong time for pickup for our river cruise and where to be. Our room looked nice but there was no hot water for the shower and two days later we had small red bites on our bodies.....we were not outside at night so you can only guess what they were. The food was good but the service in the restaurant was sporadic....get your own coffee - it's faster. The Clintons stayed here in 1993 but I think they would skip the Mowana until some work is done.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisseifridt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We deeply regret that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We apologize for the indifferent reception you received, as well as for the miscommunication regarding your river cruise. All other operational issues you have highlighted will be looked into immediately. Constructive feedback from helpful customers like you assists us in affecting improvements in a swift and effective manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Lodge was filled with pleasant memories, I was planning a safari for my BIG birthday when a friend who had stayed there previously recommended the Cresta Mowana. Located on the banks of the Chobe River in the Chobe National Park, the hotel provided excellent service from check-in until departure. The staff was very professional, helpful, friendly and courteous The room was well appointed with a rustic safari theme.
Warthogs and other animals grazed on the well manicured lawns.
Cresta is about 15 minutes drive from the Kasane Airport and is a convenient location for a day trip to Victoria Falls in neighboring Zimbabwe.
The restaurant while not "gourmet", was satisfactory and I recall sitting on the deck overlooking the Chobe River, watching the sun set with birds and wildlife in the river putting on a show.

Cresta provided a Chobe River safari as well as a drive safari in the Botswana National Park.
I have awesome memories of Cresta Mowana Safari Lodge and would stay there again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the Chobe River.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are so pleased that we were able to play such a memorable part in your birthday safari! We are delighted that you were happy with the professional, helpful and friendly service you received from our staff while you were here. Thank you for your compliments regarding the well appointed rooms and the beautiful surroundings and setting we are so proud of. Encouraging comments from helpful customers like you are so inspiring to the entire staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here as one stop of an organised tour of SA, Botswana and Zambia, so had no control over choice of accommodation. In hind sight the tour company could not chosen better on our behalf! We stayed in a cabin with a stunning view over the Chobe River. Very clean room with modern facilities and like nowhere ive ever stayed before! The staff were very friendly and provided help and advice as we asked during the stay. Breakfasts were very good, wide selection and some items on request e.g. omelettes as you like them. Evening meals were alittle samey each evening but were of a high standard and very nice for the length of time we stayed for. The staff seemed genuinely pleased to see us each day and were super friendly. The grounds were very nice and had a pool, but really it is the location that sets this place apart, right by the river the views from our room and the bar were just out of this world. Due to bugs you cant drink in the bar on an evening (after dark) as its open and you get swarmed!!! You only try this once trust me! Then you quickly learn that after dark, you have dinner and head back to your room for an early start the next day! I really liked this place and would recommend to others. The game drive and boat safari were fantastic and the staff were great and knowledgable, i got some great photos on each trip!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are delighted to hear that you would stay again tomorrow at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa! Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the rooms and facilities, as well as the friendly and helpful staff you encountered. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food on offer and were able to experience the beautiful river views of the Chobe. Encouraging comments from helpful customers like you are so inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed with a group of clients at the Cresta Mowana Lodge in Kasane, Botswana. The room are nice and very well equipped , the staff is mostly helpful. To bad the kitchen and the restaurant are very disappointing . After a wait of more then a hour, ribs and steak arrived almost burnt to complete death. We asked for a replacement which arrived in the same state of burnt meat. Finally we canceled the order only to get a third round of burnt meat. Then the staff tried to charge us for the menu and only after a lengthy discussion they were ready to scratch the bill. Not very professional for a lodge claiming to be on a high level of accommodation and service and charging for that bud not delivering. The restaurant itself has the appearance of a cold waiting room in a train station. To bad !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We regret that your dining experience was so disappointing on all levels. We will certainly take heed of your comments and look into the operational issues. However, we would like to thank you for your compliments regarding the rooms we have at Cresta Mowana. Helpful feedback from customers like you enables us to affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
8.7 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
459 reviews
4.9 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 26 in Kasane
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 8 in Kasane
215 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#15 of 26 in Kasane
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa

Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana (Formerly Mowana Safari Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range: $451 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa situated on the banks of the mighty Chobe River in Botswana is one of southern Africa's sustainable tourism destinations where luxury exists in harmony with nature, providing a unique location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. Game, including herds of elephant, antelope, giraffe, zebras, lions, leopard and many more, roam freely in the nearby Chobe Game Park. Sunrises and sunsets in this part of the world, with the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains as a backdrop are the substance of dreams. Birdlife is in abundance. Bird species unique to this part of southern Africa can be seen on the property as well as on the banks of the Mighty Chobe River. Facilities at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa include 110 luxury air conditioned bedrooms and 4 suites all with river views, a 9 hole golf course and fully equipped spa. Each guest room has a private balcony. In these tranquil surroundings you will come to experience true comfort, superb accommodation, gourmet cuisine and African inspired menus and only the best in personalised 'African-style' service. Play a round of golf on the famous golf course or enjoy bird watching on the banks of the mighty Chobe River. Take time to interact with the un-spoilt natural and beautiful surroundings while enjoying a leisurely massage at the Mowana Spa. All 110 bedrooms and four suites boast spectacular river views and have been tastefully decorated in an ethnic style to compliment the natural ambiance. Both the Serondella Restaurant and Savuti cocktail bar overlook the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains, the ultimate place to watch the abundant wildlife gathering at twilight. The Spa at Cresta Mowana is beautifully designed, featuring natural textures and ethnic elements. It is in harmony with the surrounding Chobe National park, a serene space that offers sanctuary from the stresses of life. With four private treatment rooms complemented by a raised deck overlooking the mighty Chobe River on which open air pampering sessions are highly recommended, the Mowana Spa offers state of the art facilities and a range of Clarens treatments and therapies that will have you spoilt for choice. Life doesn't get much better than this. Day trips can be organized to Victoria Falls, just 80 kilometres away from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowana Safari Hotel Kasane
Mowana Safari Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing