We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again tomorrow if i could!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kasane
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here as one stop of an organised tour of SA, Botswana and Zambia, so had no control over choice of accommodation. In hind sight the tour company could not chosen better on our behalf! We stayed in a cabin with a stunning view over the Chobe River. Very clean room with modern facilities and like nowhere ive ever stayed before! The staff were very friendly and provided help and advice as we asked during the stay. Breakfasts were very good, wide selection and some items on request e.g. omelettes as you like them. Evening meals were alittle samey each evening but were of a high standard and very nice for the length of time we stayed for. The staff seemed genuinely pleased to see us each day and were super friendly. The grounds were very nice and had a pool, but really it is the location that sets this place apart, right by the river the views from our room and the bar were just out of this world. Due to bugs you cant drink in the bar on an evening (after dark) as its open and you get swarmed!!! You only try this once trust me! Then you quickly learn that after dark, you have dinner and head back to your room for an early start the next day! I really liked this place and would recommend to others. The game drive and boat safari were fantastic and the staff were great and knowledgable, i got some great photos on each trip!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are delighted to hear that you would stay again tomorrow at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa! Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the rooms and facilities, as well as the friendly and helpful staff you encountered. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food on offer and were able to experience the beautiful river views of the Chobe. Encouraging comments from helpful customers like you are so inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 559 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed with a group of clients at the Cresta Mowana Lodge in Kasane, Botswana. The room are nice and very well equipped , the staff is mostly helpful. To bad the kitchen and the restaurant are very disappointing . After a wait of more then a hour, ribs and steak arrived almost burnt to complete death. We asked for a replacement which arrived in the same state of burnt meat. Finally we canceled the order only to get a third round of burnt meat. Then the staff tried to charge us for the menu and only after a lengthy discussion they were ready to scratch the bill. Not very professional for a lodge claiming to be on a high level of accommodation and service and charging for that bud not delivering. The restaurant itself has the appearance of a cold waiting room in a train station. To bad !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We regret that your dining experience was so disappointing on all levels. We will certainly take heed of your comments and look into the operational issues. However, we would like to thank you for your compliments regarding the rooms we have at Cresta Mowana. Helpful feedback from customers like you enables us to affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This clearly is Africa and although there were some problems during our stay at Cresta Mowana I have forgotten it all because the service was absolutely excellent! The staff was friendly and wanted to help. They were thinking ahead trying to anticipate our needs.

Room Tip: They do a great river cruise in at sunset! Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristGuideAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are pleased that you received such good service from our keen and eager staff. Your kind comments are inspiring and encouraging for the entire staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your river cruise at sunset in the beautiful setting the Chobe River offers.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Cresta Mowana as part of a one-night safari package from Zambia, and overall, we had a positive stay. The property itself is beautifully situated along the Chobe River, and the rooms are nicely decorated. I really liked the view of the river from our room's balcony. There is also a nice pool with lots of deck chairs for sunbathing.

Where Cresta Mowana falls short is the food and the staff. It is clear that this hotel makes its money catering to large tour groups and as such, the only food options are buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food ranges from indifferent to inedible, and the prices are very high. The lunch buffet was approximately $33 while dinner was $37. For these prices, I would expect amazing food, and at dinner, I received an overcooked yet tough portion of springbok. The staff was indifferent, without making much of an effort to be helpful. Some members were friendly, but most looked like they were simply doing a job - not very welcoming. If they can improve the quality of food, lower the prices to a reasonable level, and improve staff customer service, this hotel would be a very attractive place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Othello491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

While we are pleased to know that you enjoyed the stunning surroundings, the rooms and our lovely pool, we regret to hear that you were disappointed with the food options, quality and pricing. We are also sorry to learn that you experienced less than exemplary service from the staff. We will certainly be looking into these issues in order to rectify any operational problems. Helpful feedback from customers like you helps us affect swift improvements at the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Cresta Mowana is a stunning resort on the banks of the Chobe river offering excellent accommodation, meals and service. The staff are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to care for the guests. The meals are first class with a huge buffet variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Do make time to go on a game drive or boat cruise in the morning or afternoon. The town of Kasane is frequently visited by game such as Impala, Elephants and Warthogs that roam wild.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are delighted that you had such a good experience during your stay with us! It thrills us to hear that our guests have thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We also appreciate your complimentary comments about the friendly service you received and the quality and variety of the food. Positive feedback from guests like you is so inspiring and encouraging for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our group of 25 stayed 2 nights at the lodge.We were coming from Victoria Falls. What a wonderful place with that giant baobab in the center of the lodge. We had a 3 hours morning drive (unfortunately under heavy rain) with an other on the Chobe River late afternoon. The room was really nice. Well equipped, nice bed, big bath and a can of DOOM for flying insects (a must in Africa). Service and food were perfect. The first night we had a power failure that lasted one hour (their generator failed to start). Nevertheless we ate our supper on time. The 2nd night was our last meal all together and we had a lot of fun. A nice place to stay anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are so pleased that your group enjoyed your experience at Cresta Mowana. Thank you for your comments regarding our baobab in the centre of the lodge - we are very proud of it! We also appreciate your complimentary remarks about the service and the food. Positive feedback from guests like you is so inspiring and encouraging for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of this camp is stupendous. The location of the individual 'tents' is discrete amongst the strange rock formations. Each 'tent' is a small palace with a balcony overlooking the landscape and all mod cons.
The staff are professional and friendly and the food is excellent. Sundowners taken on a rock are the start of a wonderful evening, then dinner and stargazing by a log fire.
The game at this time of the year is not optimal but just the pleasure of meeting a desert elephant made up for it. The birds however are good.The guide was well informed and amusing. The design of the camp is very clever and blends into the landscape so as to be almost invisible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Lodge & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are delighted that you had such a good experience at Mowana during your stay. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the location and design of the grounds, and all the amazing views that the Chobe has to offer! Thank you for your comments regarding the friendly service you received. Helpful feedback from customers like yourself is encouraging and inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Lodge & Spa.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Mowana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
8.7 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
478 reviews
4.9 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 26 in Kasane
156 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#21 of 21 in Chobe National Park
140 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa

Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana (Formerly Mowana Safari Lodge)
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range: $438 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa situated on the banks of the mighty Chobe River in Botswana is one of southern Africa's sustainable tourism destinations where luxury exists in harmony with nature, providing a unique location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. Game, including herds of elephant, antelope, giraffe, zebras, lions, leopard and many more, roam freely in the nearby Chobe Game Park. Sunrises and sunsets in this part of the world, with the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains as a backdrop are the substance of dreams. Birdlife is in abundance. Bird species unique to this part of southern Africa can be seen on the property as well as on the banks of the Mighty Chobe River. Facilities at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa include 110 luxury air conditioned bedrooms and 4 suites all with river views, a 9 hole golf course and fully equipped spa. Each guest room has a private balcony. In these tranquil surroundings you will come to experience true comfort, superb accommodation, gourmet cuisine and African inspired menus and only the best in personalised 'African-style' service. Play a round of golf on the famous golf course or enjoy bird watching on the banks of the mighty Chobe River. Take time to interact with the un-spoilt natural and beautiful surroundings while enjoying a leisurely massage at the Mowana Spa. All 110 bedrooms and four suites boast spectacular river views and have been tastefully decorated in an ethnic style to compliment the natural ambiance. Both the Serondella Restaurant and Savuti cocktail bar overlook the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains, the ultimate place to watch the abundant wildlife gathering at twilight. The Spa at Cresta Mowana is beautifully designed, featuring natural textures and ethnic elements. It is in harmony with the surrounding Chobe National park, a serene space that offers sanctuary from the stresses of life. With four private treatment rooms complemented by a raised deck overlooking the mighty Chobe River on which open air pampering sessions are highly recommended, the Mowana Spa offers state of the art facilities and a range of Clarens treatments and therapies that will have you spoilt for choice. Life doesn't get much better than this. Day trips can be organized to Victoria Falls, just 80 kilometres away from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowana Safari Hotel Kasane
Mowana Safari Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing