We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the 50% of the hotel being refurbished until December 2011 - or is it March 2012?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kasane
Reviewed December 8, 2011

A super location and great game drives and cruises with really good guides.

Stayed on a Voyages Jules Verne trip for 3 nights in 2 different rooms in November 2011.

The wing to the right of reception as you enter the hotel is being ripped about - yet we were put in it, despite checking with our guide and reception (before unpacking) that there would be no disruption. We had to enter via the staff car park past the dustbins, clamber over tarpaulins, past wet paint, over electricity cables and dodge wood shavings from the workmen. On day 2 we were told we had to move to the other wing. The acting General Manager could not understand why we had been placed in that wing at all, especially as we had queried it on check in.

The breakfast waiting for you at 09.15 when you return from a game drive has been sitting there on the "hot" plate since 07.00 and is stone cold. Chef said that nobody had ever told her to cook fresh food for those returning at 09.15.

The food was average but service in the restaurant for dinner each night was terrible. There was no supervision and the (too few) staff were either chatting amongst themselves or sitting together at a table in the restaurant eating their own meals.

The hotel has a really good (small) swimming pool with comfortable loungers but the promised pool attendant was not seen once in 3 days. When we asked reception for a towel we were told to go back to our room to get one.

The Reception staff (there was invariably only one) were generally unhelpful and they seldom knew the answer to basic questions about the hotel - e.g. when the pool attendant was supposed to be on duty. Annoyingly, they are trained to stop talking to a guest at reception in mid sentence in order to always answer a phone on the first ring.

Insist on a room to the left of reception.

Room Tip: Apart from the rooms on the right being a building site until at least December 2011 they have tview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 555 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

Was here Sept 13-15, 2011 with a group of 33 from Los Angeles, CA. The food was excellent and plentiful and staff very accomodating, rooms were large and comfortable. They were remodeling one of the restaurants, but the outdoor buffet was more than adequate. The lodge is a short drive into Chobe National Park.
The highlight of course were the 4 game drives, one of those was by boat on the Chobe River. These were done by Chobezi, and they totally made our trip to Africa. Their guides were personable, informative and made sure we saw all we couId. The pride of lions walking around our jeeps was unreal. Would not hesitate to recommend this lodge or safari company to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank h20act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Mowana Lodge from 25 September to 28 September 2011. It was a delight!!! the rooms have been completely renovated...comfortable, clean and spacious!!! The pictures that have been put up on the site are old. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food was good. There is lots to see and do around the lodge. I would highly recommend this place for anybody who wants to visit Botswana!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here one night and were very pleased. Rooms were great, with nice views. Restaurant was okay but had many options. Safaris were good. Place is much better value than Munchenje (we stayed there 2 nights). Bring your golf clubs, as they have a course.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I did not stay at Mowana, but we did have lunch there with a tour group.
We did a fully day safari at Chobe where lunch was included that was at the Mowana Safari Lodge. The quality of the food was poor. Salad was limp, with avocados that were black, veggies where hard. The waitron, got orders confused. He had to reminded about them. Dtinks took a long time to come. Surprisingly there were only 12 of us int he group and at the restaurant.

Stayed: May 2011
1  Thank AshikaGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Me and my wife spent 5 days at the hotel to experience the nature and as a mini holliday. We liked the stay very much. First of all people in Botswana are very friendly and nice.. So we met a lot of nice people at the hotel. We visited in December and most of the guests were from Botswana or South Africa and it was almost not any big groups. It made the atmosphere nice. Many used the hotel just a family resort.

The check-in service was OK and the desk help us with small things without delay. The hotel room was fantastic. It was a normal sized room of good standard. A nice bed with mosquito nets. It was nice to sit on the balcony with view over Chobe river and a lot of birds. Sometimes the local baboons vere on a raid outside so food should not be left unattended.

the hotel had free internet connection but as always in Botswana the term high speed is not what we expect. It is painfully slow but you can read mail and check weather.
The breakfast buffe was very nice and made it not nessessary to eat too much for lunch. However the dinner buffe were not of the highest quality. We choosed quickly to change to the à la carte menu and found that the restaurant allways know how to prepair meet. We also tried restaurants outside the hotel and found them a good deal. The hotel should have credit for helping us with tips and taxis to restaurants.

We did two boat safaris and three jeep safaries. If you go on a safari try to get the guide Lungo. He is outstandingly the best. We went to Victoria waterfall, but the hotel trip was too expencive so we usedthe company Steenbock safari. They did a good job for a good price.

The swimmingpool area is relaxing and nice and the hotel is surrounded with nice green territories. We spent a lot of time watching birds, warthogs, baboons etc. The hotel had the only golf course that we have seen with warning signs for crocodiles at the water hole, but we did not seen any. The hippos down at the river was nice to see.

We strongly recommend a visit to this hotel. Nature is though limited so we would not recommend more than mayby 4-5 days before moving to an other place. We did not manage to see wild dogs, so we have to come back. It was one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we have stayed in many.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larsnilssonaselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We are here right now and have to say that the lobby and set up at the river is very nice but the whole hotel needs renovation. The people are very helpful but if the aircodition doesn't work it takes a while, if the w-lan doesn't work it takes a day...well if you got time...Food is served buffet-style every day and depending who cooks it is very good to average but everybody will find something here, the selection is wide. In the off-season like right now it seems that the hotel is kind of in sleeping mode besides some local conferences. the very best thing is the bar on the first floor (can also call it lounge or cafe) where the view at sunset is amazing. Here the internet works most of the time besides the lobby and it is unlimited if it works. I guess since we are not on a culinary trip or spa thing, but to view animals this is a good location and the guides are great who do the hotel tours. You can also book a private tour here which really pays off if you got an extra day here. Request 'killer' for your guide and you will be happy. He got great knowledge and goes out of his way to find animals for you to watch/photograph. The mini-bar is empty in the rooms - so bring something it you want something. Otherwise you are dry - meaning not even water during the night.
There is tons of birds and wildlife around and you won't regret visiting Chobe NP.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
8.7 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
472 reviews
4.9 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#7 of 26 in Kasane
151 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#21 of 21 in Chobe National Park
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa

Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana (Formerly Mowana Safari Lodge)
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range: $336 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa situated on the banks of the mighty Chobe River in Botswana is one of southern Africa's sustainable tourism destinations where luxury exists in harmony with nature, providing a unique location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. Game, including herds of elephant, antelope, giraffe, zebras, lions, leopard and many more, roam freely in the nearby Chobe Game Park. Sunrises and sunsets in this part of the world, with the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains as a backdrop are the substance of dreams. Birdlife is in abundance. Bird species unique to this part of southern Africa can be seen on the property as well as on the banks of the Mighty Chobe River. Facilities at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa include 110 luxury air conditioned bedrooms and 4 suites all with river views, a 9 hole golf course and fully equipped spa. Each guest room has a private balcony. In these tranquil surroundings you will come to experience true comfort, superb accommodation, gourmet cuisine and African inspired menus and only the best in personalised 'African-style' service. Play a round of golf on the famous golf course or enjoy bird watching on the banks of the mighty Chobe River. Take time to interact with the un-spoilt natural and beautiful surroundings while enjoying a leisurely massage at the Mowana Spa. All 110 bedrooms and four suites boast spectacular river views and have been tastefully decorated in an ethnic style to compliment the natural ambiance. Both the Serondella Restaurant and Savuti cocktail bar overlook the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains, the ultimate place to watch the abundant wildlife gathering at twilight. The Spa at Cresta Mowana is beautifully designed, featuring natural textures and ethnic elements. It is in harmony with the surrounding Chobe National park, a serene space that offers sanctuary from the stresses of life. With four private treatment rooms complemented by a raised deck overlooking the mighty Chobe River on which open air pampering sessions are highly recommended, the Mowana Spa offers state of the art facilities and a range of Clarens treatments and therapies that will have you spoilt for choice. Life doesn't get much better than this. Day trips can be organized to Victoria Falls, just 80 kilometres away from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowana Safari Hotel Kasane
Mowana Safari Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing