We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TraveLodge(Kasane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
191
243
94
32
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
243
94
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaobab treechobe rivergame drivesinfinity poolbuffet styleboat cruisea la carte menukasane airportbuffet dinnerwi fisouthern africabeautiful settingwild animalsmosquito netbird lifeearly morningvictoria falls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 572 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Mowana Lodge from 25 September to 28 September 2011. It was a delight!!! the rooms have been completely renovated...comfortable, clean and spacious!!! The pictures that have been put up on the site are old. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food was good. There is lots to see and do around the lodge. I would highly recommend this place for anybody who wants to visit Botswana!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here one night and were very pleased. Rooms were great, with nice views. Restaurant was okay but had many options. Safaris were good. Place is much better value than Munchenje (we stayed there 2 nights). Bring your golf clubs, as they have a course.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I did not stay at Mowana, but we did have lunch there with a tour group.
We did a fully day safari at Chobe where lunch was included that was at the Mowana Safari Lodge. The quality of the food was poor. Salad was limp, with avocados that were black, veggies where hard. The waitron, got orders confused. He had to reminded about them. Dtinks took a long time to come. Surprisingly there were only 12 of us int he group and at the restaurant.

Stayed: May 2011
1  Thank AshikaGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Me and my wife spent 5 days at the hotel to experience the nature and as a mini holliday. We liked the stay very much. First of all people in Botswana are very friendly and nice.. So we met a lot of nice people at the hotel. We visited in December and most of the guests were from Botswana or South Africa and it was almost not any big groups. It made the atmosphere nice. Many used the hotel just a family resort.

The check-in service was OK and the desk help us with small things without delay. The hotel room was fantastic. It was a normal sized room of good standard. A nice bed with mosquito nets. It was nice to sit on the balcony with view over Chobe river and a lot of birds. Sometimes the local baboons vere on a raid outside so food should not be left unattended.

the hotel had free internet connection but as always in Botswana the term high speed is not what we expect. It is painfully slow but you can read mail and check weather.
The breakfast buffe was very nice and made it not nessessary to eat too much for lunch. However the dinner buffe were not of the highest quality. We choosed quickly to change to the à la carte menu and found that the restaurant allways know how to prepair meet. We also tried restaurants outside the hotel and found them a good deal. The hotel should have credit for helping us with tips and taxis to restaurants.

We did two boat safaris and three jeep safaries. If you go on a safari try to get the guide Lungo. He is outstandingly the best. We went to Victoria waterfall, but the hotel trip was too expencive so we usedthe company Steenbock safari. They did a good job for a good price.

The swimmingpool area is relaxing and nice and the hotel is surrounded with nice green territories. We spent a lot of time watching birds, warthogs, baboons etc. The hotel had the only golf course that we have seen with warning signs for crocodiles at the water hole, but we did not seen any. The hippos down at the river was nice to see.

We strongly recommend a visit to this hotel. Nature is though limited so we would not recommend more than mayby 4-5 days before moving to an other place. We did not manage to see wild dogs, so we have to come back. It was one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we have stayed in many.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larsnilssonaselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We are here right now and have to say that the lobby and set up at the river is very nice but the whole hotel needs renovation. The people are very helpful but if the aircodition doesn't work it takes a while, if the w-lan doesn't work it takes a day...well if you got time...Food is served buffet-style every day and depending who cooks it is very good to average but everybody will find something here, the selection is wide. In the off-season like right now it seems that the hotel is kind of in sleeping mode besides some local conferences. the very best thing is the bar on the first floor (can also call it lounge or cafe) where the view at sunset is amazing. Here the internet works most of the time besides the lobby and it is unlimited if it works. I guess since we are not on a culinary trip or spa thing, but to view animals this is a good location and the guides are great who do the hotel tours. You can also book a private tour here which really pays off if you got an extra day here. Request 'killer' for your guide and you will be happy. He got great knowledge and goes out of his way to find animals for you to watch/photograph. The mini-bar is empty in the rooms - so bring something it you want something. Otherwise you are dry - meaning not even water during the night.
There is tons of birds and wildlife around and you won't regret visiting Chobe NP.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews