We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
334
39
7
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
39
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower song and dance female staff game drives school visit tree house warm towels the river honeymoon suite boma night local culture private deck guide dan village tour on stilts memorable stay big game
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 383 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2016

Whenn arriving the entrance looks a little basic. But don't judge to early. You will get to your cottages via a path through bushes. This Lodge is completely run by females. They greet you with song and dance. The cottages are large and have very nice facilities. The food is great and the trips by safari jeep and boat are really an experience. No AC, therefore it is Afrika.
The personal and guides are exceptionell friendly. Think about going there.

Room Tip: All look to the Chobe River and are fine.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horstriven2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2016

The location to Chobe National Park makes this lodge an excellent choice for any traveler. It's a relatively new lodge with excellent amenities. The staff and accommodations are par excellent! The manager, OP, was professional and pleasant and set the example for her entire staff. The kitchen staff prepared delicious menus for me since I do not eat red meat. I really appreciated their kindness.

Obviously, any traveler visits Botswana to engage in animal observation. Every day of the three days I stayed there, I watched antelope munch on the bushes just outside my chalet. What a joy it was to be so close to nature!

I need to compliment Bakwena's guides, especially Boago. Wow! I saw so many animals on this segment of my seven-week visit to Southern Africa. Boago has a sixth sense in anticipating where the animals are and where they will move about. One morning, Boago took me on an early morning independent game drive and we watched 14 lions begin their walk across an open area. After watching them for several minutes, Boago suggested that we move to a different location. I couldn't believe what was happening. Each and every lion sauntered next to our Land Cruiser and finally lay down under the bushes ignoring us as I took photo after photo of these majestic creatures.

Finally, every staff member "went the extra mile" for each traveler. I highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: Wifi was available in the lodge area. Every chalet was located by the water. I LOVED the chalet that I had.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maesnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at Bakwena following two weeks on a self drive safari through Botswana and what an incredible place. It doesn't look much from the outside, but once through the gates, the lodges, the service and the food were outstanding. Run by a team who couldn't do more for you, the lodge features secluded rooms throughout a forest section on the edge of the Chobe river. A well stocked bar, complete with free wifi and comfy sofas were a great place to relax. Food was fantastic and really varied, again the team couldn't do enough for us. Rooms are beautiful and feature large beds, comfy seating and both indoor and outdoor showers... Would highly recommend and love to return in the future!

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
Thank AndrewT2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam Y, Owner at Chobe Bakwena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2016

Our team here at Bakwena work hard to try and make all our guests feel at home and hopefully want for nothing. Our (mostly female) staff are genuinely proud of their lodge and what they have achieved over the last couple of years. Thank you for the recommendations and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2016

We absolutely loved our time at the Bakwena Lodge. The staff was incredibly friendly and made us feel right at home. Our villa was clean and open. I loved the outdoor shower (there's also an indoor shower.) Our room overlooked the river and was very scenic. The meals were delicious. We ate every slice of the freshly baked bread we were given. OP (the manager during our stay,) organized all of our safari activities before we got there and they were superb. Our guide was knowledgeable and was able to get us safely very close to wildlife. On each outing, the lodge packed us all a snack and beverages of our choosing. During the water cruise, my fiance and I shared a bottle of wine while taking in all of the elephants a hippos playing nearby. Can't recommend this lodge enough!

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kati T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016

We stayed 3 nights at Chobe Bakwena Lodge early in January 2016 after a 2 week tour around Botswana. All of the staff, mainly ladies, were really helpful and friendly. The rooms were really well appointed with a large double bed, inside and outside showers and very well decorated. The food we were served was excellent and they catered for one vegetarian brilliantly. Wifi was freely available in our room but it was the closest to reception. Wifi is available in the bar/dining area. We will certainly return, Thanks to all

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BucksMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews