We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Bakwena Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a terrific location on the river! We heard hippos every night and saw the trampled down grass every morning. You could sit on your deck and be mesmerized for hours!

The food was great. But the hospitality was the greatest! The staff women sang to us as we left to go on safaris and greeted us with song upon our return. They also provided delightful entertainment.

The rooms were comfy, clean and beautiful. The outdoor shower was a bonus addition! But we also had an indoor shower.

What a way to end our trip to Africa - in the hands of lovely people.

Room Tip: All the rooms liked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenlayzell, Owner at Chobe Bakwena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for appreciating our in-house lawnmowers, a bit noisy at times but efficient!
We certainly consider our staff to be our greatest assets and work hard to keep our team strong, their obvious enjoyment of their job is a constant source of pride. Bakwena looks forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 286 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

Right on the Chobe river, surrounded by bush, sitting on the wooden deck built around a shady tree surveying a spectacular sunset with the very full river rushing by, sipping G & T's served by friendly welcoming staff with fish eagle & hippo calling after a dip in the Eco friendly pool - couldn't ask for more! What a fantastic & relaxing stay in a stylishly finished lodge. Loved the outdoor showers! Easy drive to Chobe game reserve or a visit to Vic Falls and town close by. Highly recommend a river cruise which helpful staff organized.

Room Tip: The family chalet had fantastic views over the full Chobe river and the hippo were grazing nearby du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brigid_Goudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenlayzell, Owner at Chobe Bakwena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are delighted you had a great stay with us, we have worked very hard to make our lodge a friendly, comfortable place to stay while in Chobe and hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

You could not ask for a more; perfect setting, friendly staff and amazing owners!!
We arrived after a long drive along some very dusty dirt roads. We were greated by the most welcoming and friendly staff offering us Iced Tea and snacks.
The eco friendly swiiming pool was perfect to cool down in while you watched the Chobe river flow past and the african sun set.
The room was home-from-home and then some! Everything was fresh, clean and well presented. An amazing outdoor shower could not be ignored after the long drive.
At night while you relax in your room over looking the Chobe river you are serenaded by the sounds of the african bush.
This Lodge is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarahliversage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A fantastic lodge, well situated close to the airport (but not too close), Chobe National Park, Zambia, Namibia and Zimbabwe. This makes excursions to Victoria falls and other sites of interest effortless. Situated a short walk from a small school and local shops gives you a chance to rub shoulders and engage with the very friendly a honest locals. A walk of a few minutes will have you rubbing shoulders with Elephants, Buffalo and Wart hogs to such an extent Id say there are more of these animals walking around the town than in the national park.
The rooms are simple and stylish and echo an African ethic without being in the least 'fake' or chintzy. Each room has a shower inside and outside and are private from the other Rondavel's. Mosquito nets are large and work. The tap water is fine to drink (for me at least) the food was excellent and the staff genuine and warm. House wine was very drinkable and inexpensive. The lodge owners are very knowledgeable about the area and can work anything out for you if you need a hand from cheap taxis to directions to obtaining visa. The owners also have a real love for the area and it seems the staff, goods sold, food served and decorations are all sourced locally in an effort to support the local growing community. Oh, it also has river front views and Internet!

Room Tip: I looked at many of them and they are all good and you can hear the 'barking' hippos from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TommyZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Bakwena is beautiful! From it's sweeping wooden deck curving around a gnarled rain tree, a bio-filtered eco pool to counter the stifling midday heat to the simple, yet sophisticated rooms, your experience is one of elegance and comfort. Friendly staff and attention to detail set this lodge apart. Highly, highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrangeJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We (my husband and I and our then 6 year old daughter) spent 5 nights in the family suite at Chobe Bakwena lodge last winter, and what a wonderful treat it was. After travelling through Zimbabwe for a couple of weeks, it was like finding an oasis in the desert! The lodge had only recently opened at the time, but was already operating smoothly and professionally run by the on-site owners / managers, Adam and Jenny. We were very impressed by the location and view from our "rondawel", which consisted of 2 bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms with both an indoor and outdoor shower ... Tastefully decorated, with lots of lovely personal touches, an "out of Africa" mosquito net (which we didn't really need in July, but it added a romantic / holiday feel to the room!) completed the upmarket look. I wish I'd had more time to simply sit in the beautifully decorated lounge and enjoy the view, so will simply have to return for longer at some stage to do so!

We also enjoyed the activities in the area, but after the relative quiet of Hwange game reserve in Zim, found Chobe park to be too busy, particularly the river. You would however never think so from our beautiful photographs of the wildlife against the proverbial setting sunset!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judestim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Bakwena lodge. We were a "family" party of 6 people (all adults) and stayed there for 6 nights. The personnel is extremely welcoming and very helpful. Each day we were welcomed with wet cloths to refresh ourselves after the different activities in the Chobe National Park. The food was delicious and they made every effort to accommodate our schedules that varied quite a lot depending on game drives and evening boat cruises. The company they use for those game drives/boat cruises is great: the guides really go out of their way to show animals, they are very knowledgeable about the fauna of their country. Also, it was easy from there to go and spend one day at the Victoria Falls.
The rooms are great, with inside and outside showers. At night, there is always someone to walk you from the main building to your room.
The location of Bakwena lodge is a little "out of the way" compared to other lodges in Kasane but the view of the river is still beautiful. I must say that we really appreciated the "eco-friendly" approach as it gave the whole place a more "genuine and authentic" feel that other places don't have while still ensuring top level accommodation and service. We stayed there at the green season and were on our own in the lodge for the first 5 days (which might not be common). We loved it as it made us feel really at home (a super home!). Again, the dedication and kindness of the whole team made this stay very special (some of us got really emotional when came the time to leave and say goodbye).
I would certainly recommend the place to anybody going to this area as it is top rate service and lodging for an affordable price especially compared to other lodges around Kasane. I sincerely hope we can go back there.
Again many thanks to Adam and Jenny (the owners), Tracy and Chembe as well as the whole team for making our stay such a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fanny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenlayzell, Owner at Chobe Bakwena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, it was a great pleasure meeting you and and your family. I am glad we met all your expectations and you had a great experience, we look forward to seeing you again next year. All the best, Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
5.1 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 29 in Kasane
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 29 in Kasane
253 reviews
38.3 mi away
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages
5.7 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Bakwena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Bakwena Lodge

Address: Kwena Road, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Price Range: $175 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chobe Bakwena Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chobe Bakwena Lodge is a small owner run eco lodge built on the banks of the Chobe River. The lodge is built using sand bag technology and offers an eco friendly, affordable option for a responsible tourism option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Chobe Bakwena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing