We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
98
45
16
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
45
16
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria falls chobe national park banded mongoose game drives evening cruise base to explore following morning sitting area a lovely stay local village we loved our stay very nice place to stay rooms are clean minute drive watch the sunset perfect location nice bar
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 161 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2017

I had a very pleasant stay at River View, the staff is incredibly kind and helpfull , beautiful surroundings and spacious rooms.
I asked for a lunch quickly and they prepared a few lovely sandwiches straight away, excellent service.
Showers are hot and good water pressure.
I was there for business but we will surely come back to explore a bit more this lovely little lodge.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marjan511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverViewGM, Manager at River View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

We really appreciate you taking the time to review us and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt well looked after by our team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017

Stayed for a week and were very pleased.

Shingi & Candy, who run the place, were always available and always helpful whenever we needed them.

The room was first class, with a big comfy bed, a decent size wardrobe, bedside cabinets, a writing desk and a good bathroom. There was no fridge, though, and none available even at an extra charge which was odd, as we have always had a fridge in our room in every hot country we've ever been to. It meant that we couldn't buy any water outside the hotel and keep it cold, so we had to keep buying water from them if we wanted it cold. That might be why.

The hotel arranged a few trips for us, adding on their own charges, but we knew that and could have booked our own if we wanted to, but they were all very good ones so we were quite happy with the arrangements.

The pool was a bit neglected; all the things needed for cleaning it were there & working but unless a guest used them it never got cleaned so there were leaves floating on the top and covering the bottom even though the water itself was crystal clear. Not a major problem though, and it didn't stop us using it.

The food was really good, and plenty of it, although we did run out of things at breakfast occasionally, like bread & fruit juice - but new supplies came quickly when we asked.

Everyone else we spoke to who were staying there had a similar high opinion of the place, so we're confident that if you decide to stay here you won't be disappointed.

Room tip: We had room 10 which was right on the Chobe River
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mr_Candid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverViewGM, Manager at River View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for a whole week and we thank you for taking the time to write us such an informative review.

We are really delighted you enjoyed our rooms, public facilities and food, as well as the activities we arranged for you which whilst outsourced are through excellent service providers and at competitive prices. Your comments about the aspects of your stay that were less than 100% perfect are also greatly appreciated, as we really value guest feedback and use this as an opportunity to improve wherever we can.

Regarding the lack of mini fridges in our rooms, as we are not a self-catering establishment we have to date not felt the need to provide these but rather ensure our bar is fully stocked at all times with a wide selection of cold beverages. We are also more than happy for the complimentary bottles of water provided in our rooms to be replaced with cold ones from our bar whenever needed.

It is very regrettable that you found our pool to be in less than perfect condition. We endeavour to keep it spotlessly clean at all times, being of particular importance during the hot months when guests like to take a dip in the pool to cool off. Unfortunately there was a lack of quality control with our pool cleaning service and after review we have implemented changes that will ensure the pool is monitored throughout the day and remains pristine at all times.

Many thanks again for your review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again on your next visit to Chobe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

We had an excellent welkome after our trip in Botswana . The lodge have a beautiful view on the River and the manager is very good. The food is delicious. And we had a very good diner and breakfast. We would like to recommandeer this lodge

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dickteunis741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverViewGM, Manager at River View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and for your wonderful feedback which we greatly appreciate! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back should you ever find yourself in Chobe again. Wishing you all the best for your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

The trip on the border river and the corresponding game drive with lunch were very good.
A bike tour is also at hand which unfortunately was not completed because of rain.
Very friendly staff and good food.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank augustinusv468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverViewGM, Manager at River View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, and are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and food, had a relaxing time and enjoyed the boat cruise and game drive arranged during your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

The hosts were very accomodating with both meal requests and early morning breakfast prior to safari pickups. Rooms although simple were more than made up for by the spectacular setting on the river and the relaxed outdoor seating areas

Room tip: make sure you spray the perimeter of the room with insecticide as we did get some uninvited guests
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverViewGM, Manager at River View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and special setting on the Chobe River, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews