We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,347)
Filter reviews
1,347 results
Traveler rating
460
576
211
63
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
576
211
63
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river game drives dinner cruise activities office private boat buffet style national park vervet monkeys safari lodge breakfast and dinner victoria falls stir fry reception area day trip dining area main building water buffalo
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 1,347 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2016

We had booked and paid for three nights but were so disappointed that we only stayed one night. The lodge may be fine but the campsites are cramped, neglected and lack any charm whatsoever. I actually got cried with disappointment on arrival. To topp the experience off the guards on site said we should leave a chair or table if we left over day so they wouldn't give away our spot even if we had paid in advance. We left a table for a few hours and came back to find it stolen, a guard claimed he had witnessed it yet when i asked why he hadn't reacted and stopped the theft he had no good explanation. On reporting the theft and guards claim to the managing staff of Chobe safari lodge we were met with condescension. Not recommended.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erratraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

The Chobe National Park is a little bit of heaven. The wildlife in the area is amazing to behold. Then right next door is the Chobe Safari Lodge.
Likes:
Large spacious and comfortable accommodation in the Safari rooms. Huge Bed.
Amazing afternoon river cruises to observe the wildlife really close which is unique for this area. Game viewing from these cruises is exceptional.
Awesome sunsets.
Good buffet meals in nice setting.
Nice swimming pool and decks overlooking the Chobe river.
Morning Game drives. Game viewing on a morning drive is very good.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Dislikes:
Game drive drivers drove too fast on morning game drives - should drive much more slower to allow us to take pictures, appreciate the natural surroundings, and not scare animals away.
No self service fresh coffee in the mornings.
WIFI was useless - only worked for 5 mins and then was off all the time.
WIFI only available in restaurant and reception areas.

However the dislikes did not deter us from us enjoying our holiday and appreciating our wonderful natural wonders this planet has to offer.
Chobe park however need to control the speed of game viewing vehicles from the various operators driving in the park.

Room tip: Book a safari room
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu9ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

The room was very comfortable and very clean. The matters was omfortable, the sheets were changed every day. The staff were very friendly. Used it as a base for river safari. The restaurant was average.

Room tip: Most rooms have river view and patio opening into a terrace. Aircon and ceiling fan in rooms.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

After 5 days of camping, we were over the moon to stay at the Chobe Safari Lodge

The lodge is definitely your typical big commercial establishment with the curio store, lots of tourists from all over the world. However, even with this, the service remained excellent. We spent two days at the Chobe Safari lodge and loved every minute of it

Most Liked
- rooms are very comfortable and upmarket with a view over the Chobe River
- the breakfast and dinner buffets was delicious, with a lot of different food on offer
- the cocktail bar area gives you a fantastic view over the Chobe river while the sun goes down
- Curio shop and art shop has a lot of great items you can buy as gifts
- activities centre makes it very easy to book excursions within the hotel

Important to note
- if you are wanting to quite and the stillness of the bush - this is not for you. Although Chobe Safari lodge has all the luxuries and comforts, because of its size and popularity, you are sharing this experience with many other people and outside of the reserve
- this include their excursions as well. Don't expect private tours unless you specifically ask, otherwise you are doing the excursions with the masses.
- this does seem to be a family resort, so don't get upset with happy, shouting kids

Would I go back - definitely, our most memorable experience at the Chobe Safari lodge was their sunset cruise we went out. Their guide (Bakang) was absolutely amazing and knowledgably.

Room tip: We proffered rooms on the top floor to get a better view of the Chobe River
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Genelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2016

I dont understand why vehicles are allowed to drive so fast through Chobe national park... The guides radio each other when they spot something interesting, the guides then drive through the park at ridiculous speeds. When you finally reach the animals there are so many game viewers that they fight to see over each other.. feel so sorry for the animals! Seems that nobody stops to think that this will result in an accident one day.

Room tip: Choose the new wing.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews