We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lodge with direct access to Chobe River”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Lodge with direct access to Chobe River”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is a larger lodge which has good accomondation and good food. Nothing special or extraordinary, but really good. I would consider the highlights to be the bar area to visit the sunset directly from the lodge as well as the boat excursion. They are offered from the lodge and thus the guides seem to be very interested in offering a great experience, whereas the game drives are done by a third party game drive company and the guides seemed to be more interested in the business than in making it a great experience. The lodge itself has large rooms, we had a family suite with two rooms, but it is a little bit aged by now. The curio shot offers a wide range of products and the area itself has everything you need to relax and enjoy the time between the excursions. The lunch on the porch was great and most of the time the staff was helpful and friendly. However, in a lodge this size you cannot expect the personal experience you get in smaller lodges and you cannot expect this kind of personal service either. We would recommend the lodge anyway, as it is one of the closest to the Chobe park and offers boat trips leaving directly at the lodge - and as said, these boat trips are really making the difference and are a must when visiting Chobe.

Room Tip: We had a family suite with two rooms on the lower floor with direct access to the garden. It was wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    452
    158
    47
    26
See reviews for
229
438
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you are into bird watching this is the place to make your "camp". Going on boat trips into Chobe is easy. We stayed two nights. Staff very helpful, with checking and arranging activities. The Lodge prices are very affordable – i.e. prices for food and drink is very reasonable. Food is good at the lodge (breakfast and dinner) , but if you want some snacks - there is a small shopping centre 200m away.
No WIFI in the rooms, only close to reception - if you choose table (breakfast, dinner) you can check your mails ect. (Note - it is not the fastest but I got 160kB download -so it is usable to stay connected to the world).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed Chobe Safari club for 3 night comfortable rooms . Staff friendly . The game drives where amazing we where lucky on our first drive to see lions feeding on a baby elephant , and a leopard resting in a near by tree . The guide did extremely well to position our vehicle in a perfect position after negotiations with other drivers The river cruises where amazing the concentration of animals was mind blowing .The guides where very informative and would answer all the questions we asked and giving plenty of information . The staff at the lodge where helpful . Staff in the restaurant attentive and good variety of food .

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

After several days camping from the Kalahari to Savuti, the Chobe Safari Lodge was a great re-introduction to comfort, and the power showers were bliss!
The Safari Rooms were a short walk from the main part of the Hotel, but were not isolated and were comfortable with plenty of room. Standing on the verandah and watching a band of about thirty Mongoose chattering past the Warthogs and Baboons on the lawn was memorable.
The evening meal was better than the 3 star rating for the Hotel, with a good range of choice.
Having been on Safari for about ten days, we did not take up the safari option along the river from the Hotel, but the reports of what was seen was good, including a Sable Antelope we had not managed to see. I thought the river trips were far too hectic, several boats chasing about were actually disturbing some of the wildlife, particularly a small group of elephants swimming.

I thought the Hotel fully deserved its 3 Star status, and perhaps a bit more. I would return here.

Room Tip: The Safari Rooms are better appointed then the River View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkIvory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our trip to S. Africa was so spectacular it feels a little bad to write a review that is not glowing. However, CSL is a little odd...if Del Webb and Walt Disney got together to create an African experience this would be it. Even the crowded river boat safaris down the Chobe seemed reminiscent of It's a Small World ride.

The rooms are good enough, but not great. I didn't have a single hot bath or shower until the last day because I showered in the morning. I didn't think to complain, but it was frustrating. The staff is, at best, indifferent. Not very helpful because they don't have to be--its not like there is much around. The food, again, odd. The concept is this big all you can eat buffet. It you don't want that, too bad--they have you over a barrel because there are no other restaurants around. Plus, the food was expensive--because if you don't want much, you still have to pay the $40 or so plus drinks. We ordered room service two nights and each time the order was wrong.The bar area is nice for an evening cocktail. But, as soon as the cow bell rings for dinner, they all lose interest in you.

The game drives were busy and not great--but we saw many wonderful animals. One driver was so cold he couldn't even concentrate--you would have thought he would have dressed appropriately. But, because there are so many animals, they just don't care to really 'guide' the drives, they just drive. This was a bit of a disappointment. They also cram so many people in that it is sometimes impossible to get a good seat or enjoy the drive with pinch-faced 60 somethings who didn't like where they were sitting

If you can find a better spot, then book it. But, if you keep your expectations low and remind yourself you are with someone you love and you are there to see the beauty, then you should be OK. Bring some protein bars to tide you over....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were here as a family for 3 days in May 2014. 2 using a room, and 2 plus 2 children camping.
Overall, everything was very good - the room was clean and well serviced, the shower was excellent, though took a long time for the warm water to come through, the cost was very reasonable. The restaurant was adequate, though had little choice from a fixed menu, so OK for a day or two, but not for longer, the bar was fairly expensive in comparison to thers that we experienced later. The place it fell down was in not haveing a small shop with supplies such as batteries or adaptors to allow the battery chargers we took to be plugged into the local socket type. For a venue dedicated to safaris, where folks could be expected to take lots of photos, such a supply would be invaluable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl_S290614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed in a room on ground level and this was not very ideal. We could hear our neighbours on the first level, walk around, move chairs. We had an early game drive and wanted to have a nap in the afternoon, unfortunately this wasn't possible since housekeeping were cleaning upstairs and had the TV on for distraction ? When we checked in we noticed that our curtains were totally thorn and had had their best time. When we mentioned this at reception, they were immediately changed (on a Saturday evening!) which was very good, however housekeeping should have reported this and there should have been no need for us to ask. Very positive is the excellent food at dinner and breakfast. Their boat cruise on the Chobe river is an absolute experience not to be missed !

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasane hotels
1.9 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
408 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.0 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#15 of 24 in Kasane
21 reviews
32.5 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 24 in Kasane
125 reviews
5.7 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#8 of 24 in Kasane
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Property: Chobe Safari Lodge
Address: Border of Chobe National Park, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Chobe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing