We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I actually dont want to tell you what a great place this is because I don't want to share how great this place is. Really great campsite and great pool. A must do is the sunset cruise. The lodge is close to both the chobe national park and victoria falls for a really great day trip. A useful hint if you intend to do the sunset cruise is to go into the national park in the morning and do the sunset cruise in the evening then you only pay the park entry fee once.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    452
    160
    47
    26
See reviews for
232
438
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stäfa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This lodge is nicely situation on the river with a bar and a restaurant overlooking the river. The staff was very helpful and friendly (we had some issues with a transfer and the receptionist sorted this out for us despite this being not really her job).
The restaurant offers buffet for dinner and breakfast and a decent à la carte menu. The food is of decent quality.
The only downside is that the hotel rooms and bungalows are not very well maintained which is a real pity.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel was handily situated within walking distance of the town of Kasane, which provides some interesting moments. It is right by the river Chobe, having its own landing stage from which frequent boat trips take the guests around the interesting backwaters nearby. Jeep safari trips also leave from the grounds of the hotel, taking guests on tours of the game reserve. The grounds of the hotel boast resident warthogs, monkeys and other wildlife. The food is varied, and the menu includes plenty of local produce and game.

Sadly, the staff are inadequately trained, providing surly and unreliable service and rather haphazard cleaning. Upstairs rooms are topped with thatching, which harbours disagreeable numbers of bugs which descent on guests throughout the night. The mosquito netting keeps the mosquitos at bay, but not the little black beetles I kept finding in my bed.

Delightfully the water is safe to drink, being treated locally - a major plus!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with thatched ceilings and rooves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The location is very nice, just a few kilometers from the ferry to Zambia and a few kilometers to the entrance of Chobe. Our room was a bit dated but not too bad. We were on the lower floor so we received visits from the baboons, boars and mongooses. The outside bar on the dock is great with a fantastic view over the river, very nice for an afternoon drink or a bite to eat.

The service was not good. The front desk would not budge on the check in time so they told us to wait for ten minutes and then check in at exactly 2pm. The room was available before that but no flexibility on that. I asked a few questions about the entrance to the park, times and fees but again the unwillingness to help. So I walked over to the information center for help but if you don't book a trip there, don't expect any help. The whole attitude of the staff was bad.

The grounds are nice, the camping ground seems a bit crowded but the river views are great. Just take a chair, sit down, relax and look at the elephants down the river. And try not to have the lack of service bother you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arihonderd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Situation is as good as other hotels, service is not what you can expect in a 4star hotel, reception is so bad, and nothing near to a smile... but the worst was the room. even the smell wasn't nice at all!! and the supposed river views were more some dried pile of branches...

as a resume, don't go here, try another hotel...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ana192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
274 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Set on the Chobe River by Chobe National Park, the beautiful spacious rooms of the Chobe Safari Lodge is the perfect place to relax after a day of searching for wildlife. Our beautiful second floor room was quite large, well decorated, and very comfortable. The mosquito netting over the beds was there to protect us, but in the rooms and elsewhere in the lodge I saw very few bugs or insects. I was pleasantly surprised to see so few insects, but perhaps it was because it was only the beginning of the rainy season in November. Toiletries were nice. We had a huge bathtub as well as a nice shower. There were comfortable chairs and a long bench for suitcases which was quite useful and appreciated.

The food at the lodge was quite good. We had plentiful buffet meals, with their own flavored ice creams as a feature dessert. Nutmeg ice cream was my favorite. Wild game was offered each meal as well. A variety of fresh breads were also a highlight. Meals were served outdoors on a coverage patio like setting. Completing the setting, local art was featured around the lodge.

From our second floor patio, we could see warthogs and baboons on the lawn. In fact, in the parking lot waiting for our bus to pick us up, a family of warthogs checked out our luggage.

Room Tip: Some second floor rooms had a bit of a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WireWrapGems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We recently stayed here for four nights. The room was beautiful with nice views on the green lawn headed down to the river; the pool and main lodge are also nicely designed and very clean. It is right next to the Chobe Wildlife Park, and we scheduled several well-priced excursions including bush rides and a river cruise that left right from the lodge's dock.

The main glitches were with the other facilities as advertised on the website and the attitude of the front reception staff. Most frustratingly, there was no Internet service the entire week and the management couldn't have cared less- I got a sneer and a shrug from more than one person at the front desk about it. Yet, there was Internet elsewhere in town; by comparison our hotel in Zimbabwe had great Internet service (No, I didn't come to Botswana to surf the Net, but nowadays many of us need it while away from work, and we wouldn't have stayed there if their website hadn't said it was available). Also, there are no squash courts; again, we didn't come to Bots to play squash, but its plainly listed on the website under facilities and my partner brought his racquet; when he asked them about it at the front desk, they were stunned and said it had been closed over five years ago. We were frequently blown off by the reception folks, and when we checked out I was actually pretty angry because of their attitude- and note that I have not ever written to complain about an establishment here before because I'm generally pretty laid back. The staff at the restaurant and the activities desk were perfectly pleasant though- it was just the front desk and a basic lack of a management presence who would have been concerned at any other similar establishment that guests were frustrated and disappointed- fairly unprofessional. The only ding at the activities desk was that they had no clue about car rentals- they just old us to go to the airport; seems like pretty basic concierge knowledge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgrade18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasane hotels
1.9 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.0 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#14 of 24 in Kasane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
32.5 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 24 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
5.7 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#8 of 24 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Property: Chobe Safari Lodge
Address: Border of Chobe National Park, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Chobe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing