We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You-Nique tours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You-Nique tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visitted the hotel for the past 7 years. A must stay in Botswana, Luxury is al over the rooms, Restaurant, Game drives, boat cruises day visits to Vicfalls is only a few excursions to mention and is out of this world. Well trained and professsional staff, on arrival we were spoiled with a warm welcome and a refreshment drink. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a delightful stay. If I may mention names - Christine Kani - Mutabelezi and Colleen you are a jewel.The meals are very well prepared, not to mention the variety.
The sunset over the chobe river are unbelievable, you have to experience it yourself.
Can't wait for next year

Room Tip: Luxury rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    446
    156
    47
    25
See reviews for
225
433
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place needs renovating and smell of stuffy drains sorted out in the rooms. The pong was overpowering. They also seem to be very worried about their electricity bill here - the lack of lighting in the rooms makes it almost impossible to see!
The reception staff have given up caring and are rude and unhelpful. When we checked in after a long drive we were told that we only had a reservation for one night with a lame shoulder shrug and no caring for our small kids. We produced our paid in full reservation for 2 - no apology. The Wi-Fi wasn't working properly but you still had to pay for it and pay over the odds as the problem was you couldn't log out so had to use all your purchased voucher in one go. And they ran out of small denomination vouchers. The manageress did try to help on this but the front of hotel staff could not care. The waiters were better as were the catering staff - the roasts on the buffet dinner were good but the rest of the food looked as if it had been recycled into odd salads and pastas from left over food. The meals are expensive and the place is overrun with warthogs and babboons. The staff at the - again pre-paid excursions office - also could not care less about helping you. The guides on the river cruise are excellent though and the cruise itself amazing.
Try to stay somewhere else and come to the Lodge for the cruise. This place needs to get its act together.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ripplevale_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our guide's description of hippos and is apparently a local joke. Dodging mongooses (?mongeese) and monkeys on the lawns and taking notice of the signs outside our rondavel suite which advised one not to go over the wall because of the crocodiles and hippos just added to the exotic atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a delightful stay. The free WiFi wouldn't get up, sadly but that was the only glitch. The Lodge is ideally situated on the Chobe River, just on the edge of Kasane and our accommodation and meals were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsley8890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a disappointment! Overpriced with staff who appear disinterested and have no idea of the meaning of service. I stayed with my cousin for three nights and vowed never to return. To be fair the management are to blame rather than the staff as the training was painfully obviously absent. Where do I start? Counter staff were friendly and welcoming on check in, however when I couldn't connect to wifi....that was a different story. I was told the IT person was off, they didn't know and stopped conversation averting their eyes from me and busied themselves with heads lowered. when he would be back? ...best advise keep checking back!! Second evening IT person turned up only after i suggested maybe they could phone him as they just said wasn't he but somewhere in the building! He was most helpful but wifi worked only for ten minutes!. We were told by dinner staff you need to come to table, give your drinks order, room number then choose food from buffet. Food was always delicious. I ordered a glass of wine and then spent 35 minutes trying to attract attention for a refill". And so it went on for all three days. Staff attended more to larger tables on each night. Only when we rose from our table to take coffee away from table did a waitress come, literally running, shouting after us....she assumed we were leaving without signing for meal...this was the only way a waitresses' attention could be summoned. As seen in photos rooms were poor, floors dirty, botched paint job in shower, peeling paint over shower tiles, dirt on tiles, no wardrobe, no storage for one person never mind two! Some with cleaning staff who were very pleasant and agreed with our complaints. They asked me would I talk to their manager because the manager wouldn't listen to them telling s/he that they couldn't clean the floor! I declined because if the manager wouldn't listen to them s/he was unlikely to listen to a transient guest. The price of room was excessive for the return. On the positive side the location is wonderful. The river cruise was fantastic, the amount if wildlife is well worth seeing and the Guides were knowledgable and good company. We couldn't wait to leave....could not recommend this place! They appeared to work on some sort of "pack 'em in don't worry about the service or rooms as most will not be returning" policy. Have photos but regrettably nowhere here to post them!! ....I wonder why? Will be trying to source how to contact the brothers who own this place, whose names I was given by staff to let them see photos and explain how they can charge their prices for such a low standard of return to guest.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaEves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of the first lodges in Botswana, and the first lodge in Kasane, Chobe Safari Lodge still sets the mark for best value when visiting Chobe National Park outside Kasane, in Northern Botswana. Situated immediately downstream from Chobe National Park, you can view herds of Cape buffalo and elephants, at a distance, while seated at the outside restaurant and bar only feet from the Chobe river. The rooms are clean and ample, and less expensive than any comparable property in the area. The restaurant buffet is good, but not the best deal unless you are famished. You should try it once however, as it offers many game dishes not often seen elsewhere. Between 2:00 and 5:00pm, and I believe between 10:30am and 12:30pm, the a la carte menu is available with well prepared food for a modest price. Check on the hours when you arrive as it is not well advertised. Prices vary from about USD $3.00 for a sandwich to $8.00 for a meal. When visiting, which I have done on more occasions than I can remember, I rarely opt for the buffet meals. The bar has a wide variety of choices, with prices way below those charged in other establishments with a beer costing about USD $2.50. River cruises are available at a reasonable price leaving from the restaurant area, for guests and non-guests alike. Game drives and other activities are also available from the activities office between the restaurant and bar area. Since visiting CSL for the first time in 1983, when it was much more modest than it is today, the feeling I have when leaving has always been the same: I'll be back again soon.

Room Tip: River rooms come either as a double, with a big king size bed, or as a family room with a side room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,757 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 938 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a very large hotel and seems to be the center of activity as they have a prime position at the start of Chobe and right on the Chobe River. We enjoyed a nice buffet lunch as the hotel was used as a base for our morning River Safari and our afternoon Land Safari. This place is great if you want a reasonable priced hotel in Chobe with all of the activities you want right there... so convenient. Nice for families. They need to refurbish their furniture in the lobby... sofas have little support they are so old.

If you desire a place that's more high end... or a more intimate experience look elsewhere... but prepare to pay a lot more for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WINEandTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The lodge is a fancy place and right on the river but, as a family of three, we were required to book two rooms. Our room was spacious and had four beds (a double bed and two bunk beds) but, because our child is over 18, he was not allowed to sleep in the bunk bed or stay in the room with us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasane hotels
1.9 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 3 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.0 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kasane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
5.7 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#8 of 20 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
32.5 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 20 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Property: Chobe Safari Lodge
Address: Border of Chobe National Park, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Chobe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing