We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally very good”
Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Generally very good”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

After staying in mainly small lodges offering a very personalised experience it was a bit of a shock arriving at a large resort-style hotel, catering to many tour groups/large parties. When we booked (3 months earlier) we were told that there were no Safari or River rooms available (we booked a rondavel instead), but when I enquired again on arrival, we were told that a Safari room was indeed available so we upgraded (there seemed to be plenty of availability during our stay so I don't know why we were told that these rooms were unavailable when we booked). The receptionist (Miriam?) was friendly and helpful - and presented us with much needed welcome drinks (delicious chilled fruit juice).

Our Safari room was very comfortable - large, stylish, with aircon, and a viewing deck overlooking the river (a pair of warthogs grazed regularly on the grass in front). The only minor quibble was that the hospitality tray was very meanly stocked! The safari rooms are more spacious than the river rooms (which are the same price), and all have views (some of the rondavels are tucked away at the back and don't have a view).

The location on the Chobe River is wonderful, with plenty of wildlife about - we were able to watch elephants on the opposite river bank while enjoying a sundowner. The dining area and bar area overlook the pool and the river.

All meals are served from a buffet and feature a pretty wide variety of dishes catering to different cultural preferences. The restaurant was always busy but we didn't see any evidence of pushing at the buffets as others have commented.

All the staff were very warm, chatty and friendly - with one glaring exception. The woman in the activities office (we booked a sundowner trip on the Chobe River, and a day trip to Victoria Falls) couldn't have been more indolent and less interested if she'd tried. Another couple we met had a similar experience.

The sundowner boat trip on the river was a mixed bag - lots of people on a large boat meant that some people didn't have a particularly good view (especially as a large party had pushed past everyone else to grab the best viewing positions at the front of the boat). Strangely, all the chairs were placed with their backs to the river. All drinks were charged for (and were expensive). The viewing itself was pretty good. - lots of elephants, giraffe, kudu, buffalo, crocodiles and many birds. I guess we've been spoilt, having previously only experienced personalised trips on small boats.

The trip to Vic Falls is well worth doing (and lunch at the Victoria Falls Hotel in Zimbabwe is highly recommended!)

Overall we thought Chobe Safari Lodge was very enjoyable - but be prepared for a busy resort hotel rather than the intimate tranquility of a lodge. The accommodation itself is good value, however, the cost of meals, drinks and trips is rather expensive, so be prepared for the total outlay to be high.

Room Tip: Safari rooms are the largest and all have river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KikiBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    463
    161
    47
    26
See reviews for
236
444
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Our family of 4 (kids aged 12 & 7) stayed here for 2 nights prior to a Bush Ways camping safari. The lodge is in an excellent location, right on the Chobe River and very close to the entrance of the National Park. It seems to be the main departure point for Chobe River cruises to depart from and there is often tour groups leaving or arriving from the jetty.
It was a fantastic starting point and we saw lots of game from the terrace of the lodge (elephants, hippos, otters, monkeys, baboons, bushbuck, mongoose, warthogs as well as countless birds). Our afternoon game drive into Chobe NP with BushTracks Africa (books through Chobe Safari Lodge) was great with sightings of leopards and wild dog pups.
We stayed in the 2 bedroom family River view room (river view was totally obscured by trees) which was comfortable and had a balcony. The brochure for the lodge bills it as a 'luxury lodge' and I think you would be very disappointed if you came expecting a western standard of luxury. I think it is a well appointed lodge with really friendly staff, reasonable food and a great location.
However do be aware that they only offer buffet dinners - a rather expensive dining option if your family are not big eaters.
The pool was also marvelously cool in the heat and very welcome after game drives!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimbojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Excellent lodge, great location and on the whole very friendly staff. Main complaints are the food and bar service. Food is not that great and fairly expensive for what you get - but the biggest complaint has to be the service at the bar. Worst service we have ever experienced from bar staff! Extremely slow and disorganised bar man but this tends to be something if a trend in botswana, no-one is in a hurry to do anything! Other thing of note about this lodge is the river rooms.....why they are called river rooms i know not as there is absolutely no view whatsoever of the river!! Overall though i would recommend staying at this lodge and eating at the Mowana lodge along the road a bit!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porter313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a lovely hotel with wildlife in the garden wandering in from the neighborhood (Warthogs; Monkeys; Baboons and Mongooses) and watching elephants from the patios, across the river in neighboring Namibia. The bar and restaurant are good, the buffet breakfasts and buffet suppers have plenty of choice in a indoor/outdoor setting. The pool is clean and inviting after hot safaris.
The staff could smile more but having said that they were always helpful.
It is close to the Chobe National Park either by land or river. The evening river cruise was spell binding.
Don't be put off by the reviews below. This is a good area for encountering many elephants; buffalo; hippos; giraffe; and crocodiles. Plus a myriad of birds. We also saw a leopard drinking near the river after an Impala kill.
An ideal location for those new to the safari experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Safari blocks were larger and interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hampshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We wish our 2 night stay at the Chobe Safari Lodge had been longer. It is wonderfully situated on the bank of the Chobe River and is an excellent base for a sunset cruise and game drives within the National Park, being only 5 minutes from one of the park entrances. Wildlife was so abundant around the river as it was the end of the dry season. Elephants, hippo, buffalo, crocodiles, so many birds and types of antelope.... Lodge communal areas were fantastic as was the food. Service was good. We had a 'river room' - fairly clean and well furnished. Staff were on the whole friendly and efficient, although that was variable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carpevacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
150 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We recently stayed two nights at the Chobe Safari Lodge, as part of a Vantage Deluxe Best of Africa tour. The lodge was excellent. Internet is provided, but it was not operating while we were there.The main restaurant, bar and lobby are in an open-air setting, with a vaulted ceiling, and dark wood beam construction -- everything to evoke the safari atmosphere. Our rooms were first-class, large, well-appointed, and very clean. The food buffet - both breakfast and dinner - was very good. The lodge is situated right on the Chobe River, and this is convenient for boat tours on the river -- a must-do while staying there.The property is very close to the national park entrance, and just a short drive to get there. Based on the quality of the lodge and the amazing number of animals we saw in the park, the Chobe Safari Lodge was one of the true highlights of our trip to Africa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

What a great place. We stayed here in August 2011. Fabulous rooms and a balcony overlooking the lush and peaceful garden by the river. The food was great, the staff lovely, the quality fabulous. Our three perfect days was to do the Safari drive in the morning, rest and enjoy the hotel grounds and veranda midday and take the sunset cruise down the Chobe River in the afternoon getting close to all the animals gathering around the river. All a fantastic and very pleasurable experience. We saw a leopard, elephant hippo crocs and birds

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eugene020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasane hotels
1.9 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.0 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#14 of 26 in Kasane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
32.5 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 26 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
5.7 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Property: Chobe Safari Lodge
Address: Border of Chobe National Park, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Chobe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing