We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A must for photographers

This cruise was relaxing, meals were sumptuous , staff were always ready to help, rooms were clean... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Bea K
Great sightings

We had some excellent sightings along the river, Hippo, Buffalo, Elephants and loads of plains... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
CookRE
,
Harare, Zimbabwe
Read all 421 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kasane
from $2,382.00
More Info
from $1,380.00
More Info
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveler rating
295
98
23
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
98
23
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zambezi queen boat cruise chobe river floating hotel local village great sunset bird life cape buffalo elephants swimming village visit hour trip princess house tiger fishing fish eagles stayed longer game viewing comfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 421 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2015

If you visit Chobe National Park, you have to do a river cruise. It's a no brainer and the best way to see wildlife close up. I highly recommend the late afternoon cruise as you are out on the river when the sun goes down, which makes spectacular pictures. This is the best way to see hippos as the boats can get very close to them in the water. We also saw a herd of several hundred water buffalo on an island in the river which is not something you see very often. The best time to go is in the dry season as more animals come down to the river to drink. We spent three weeks in Africa and this cruise was one of the highlights. Don't miss it!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank mpreston7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2015

This is a great view from a different angle. From the boat one see an abundance of wildlife up close and in the water, as from land it's not possible to get this close. The wildlife seems oblivious to the boats and carry on as normal. This is a long cruise and covers a great part of the river. The afternoon cruise provided us with beautiful yellow light and great photo opportunities. The boat has an upper deck with a great view, though the sun was very hot up there and it was more comfortable on the lower deck with refreshments available. The guide was very intuitive with lots of wildlife information. This is a big boat with lots of tourists from all over the world, but offers the best value of money. A trip down the Chobe is a "must do" when visiting the area.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Marette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2015

What a way to end our holiday of a lifetime. The queen was a sheer delight from the boat ride up the chobe to meet her in mid river to the staff, the food, the rooms and to the whole experience. Debbie and Gavin run a great floating hotel and made sure everyone had a fantastic time. A big thankyou to all the staff who were so polite and couldn't do enough for you especially Josephine who took us to her sisters vilage for a tour. I think all the guests of ZQ were overwhelmed by this experience . Thank you your majesty for allowing us to come aboard.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2015

Stay at Chobe River cottages. Clean friendly people. If you just want to relax with a book or go for a walk. Do things from here and pleaseeeeee have a sunset cruise everyday. I just luv this.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank altatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2015 via mobile

I did a day tour of Chobe National Park having booked with Shearwater Adventures. It consisted of a 3hr river cruise and 3hr safari drive. The day exceeded all my expectations. We saw so much wildlife. Seeing a herd of elephants cross the river, take a mud bath then dust themselves down was so exciting. Just the cruise itself was worth the cost of the day. To top it off we saw a male lion sleeping under a tree. A great lunch was also provided. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to see African wildlife up close and personal.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews