We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO OVERLANDERS -- WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senyati Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Senyati Safari Camp
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NO OVERLANDERS -- WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a fantastic surprise I had when I visited Senyati in October. Firstly Senyati does not accommodate overlanders. That means that the BAR WITH THE BEST VIEW IN THE WORLD is quiet and serene...elephants, baboons, warthogs, sable, orix, roan antelope and we were even lucky enough to see two wild dogs. After my first day there, I thought, okay, now I have seen the whole Chobe in 4 hours. At Senyati, you can just sit. The animals will come to you. Senyati offers free WIFI which was a pleasant surprise as the guide books did not mention this. All I wanted to do at Senyati was to take a rest..and that is what Senyati allowed me to do. Even though we camped right next to the bar at Senyati it was not noisy. People get up early and go to bed early at Senyati. The deck stays open 24 hours a day, so when you wake up in the middle of the night, you are free to go to Senyati's waterhole to look at the animials coming and going. Senyati is not the place for the brandy brigades from South Africa. They should rather go to Toro Lodge. Both Lulu and Louw at Senyati were fantastic, helping us to plan our next stopover. Senyati recommended that we go on to Kongola go Dan's place at Mafunje, and Mafunje was as stunning as Senyati. I wonder if I will ever get full satisfaction from any other Safari camp after my visit to Senyati. We had our own toilet and shower at our campsite at Senyati. Where in the world can one camp with ones own ablution block while enjoying WIFI for free. Thumbs up to these people who built a little paradise from nothing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kareen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    120
    38
    15
    24
See reviews for
173
142
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhoon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We camped already for the 3 d time in 3 years in Senyati and it was wonderful again. Good and private facilities in the campsites where if you are lucky you can see the elephants going to the waterhole. But if you rather want to drink a beer from the terrace overlooking the waterhole you are welcome too. Depending your luck of course you just can wait for whatever animals come to drink at the waterhole , but elephants will be there!! And it is just 20 minutes from Chobe National Park entrance.

Room Tip: Choose the campsites near the sides of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobKeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just came back from a few days at Senyati and we absolutely loved it. On one day particular day were as many as 70 elephants at the waterhole. In the same morning we saw roan antelope, orix, wart hog, loads of giraffe and a fish eagle fishing right in front of us. Louw and Lulu were lovely. They organised the most amazing boat trip for us on the Chobe, as well as a Vic Falls trip which worked out much cheaper than going with our own vechicle. We got so much more than what we expected as the price at Senyati is so reasonable. Even went I went to Londolozi a few years ago, the waterhole was not half as interesting. We also went down the Senyati Elephant hide for pictures. If you stay at Senyati, you can go down the hide. People do not know that. It is not necessary to join the Pangolin group to go into the hide. The accommodation was fantastic, fridge, stove, toaster, kettle, bedding, and of course FREE WIFI to all guests. THUMBS UP FOR SENYATI!

Room Tip: 4pmish is the best time to view the elephants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for a week in a chalet at Senyati. The elephant experience at the waterhole was superb and the general setting good but the general housekeeping at the chalet not up to standard, but overall the experience was worthwhile and we shall return again to Senyati. An improvement would be to install air-conditioning in the rooms although fans were provided. the accommodation was very spacious and the braai facilities good (with free wood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subok_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We camped at Senyati for 2 nights. 4th & 5th Oct. Situated in a beautifully quiet valley 2km off the Kazangula road and only about 11km from Kasane . Well appointed campsites with Braai stands, Thatched shelters with electricity, food preparation area toilet and shower room.
We had stayed the night before at Nata so arrived by 11.30 in the morning. Thank you Lulu for organising a wonderful river trip commencing 2.45 that afternoon. Plenty of time to set up camp, have some cold beers and a bite to eat before driving through on dirt to Kasane and another whole day ahead of us.
The water hole at Senyati is superb. They pump 3,000l per hour 24/7 to keep it full and a constant procession of elephants visit 24 hrs a day. We spent the next day on site relaxing and observing the wildlife & bird life. Very relaxing after many days driving before facing the long drive back to Gaborone. I only discovered the underground hide on the last evening which gives you a spectacular close up view of the wildlife at the waterhole. See photos.
What a wonderful place. We will be visiting again at Christmas assuming they have space available

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmas, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We book a spesefic site a year ago. What a big problem when we arrived. BAD but very BAD service from a lady named Lulu. She seems to dont understand bookings and payments. Whe show twice our EFT payments still she ask for money.

Senyati will see us never ever again!
Two of our company ladys were over 70 and because of her allocating a stand to us, theynwere not be able to walk to the waterhole.

That was why we paid in January our money to get a specific stand.

So, sorry. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank De Klerk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Things have gone badly wrong since our last trip in December to now. The camp sites and accommodation is still very good as well as the bar and watering hole but the admin side has gone to the dumps. Nothing was as we booked it and our group was scattered all over the camp. The staff were very unfriendly and rude at times. They have no proof of payments and bookings in the book were chopped and changed while we were standing there. Senyati will def not see us again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kalaharikind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
8.0 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages
5.2 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 3 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
37.2 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 20 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senyati Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senyati Safari Camp

Property: Senyati Safari Camp
Address: Nata Kazangula Road, 8km From Kazangula | 10 Km From Chobe National Park and 10km from Kasane, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aircon is provided in our self-catering chalets and our campsites are all equipped with private toilet and shower. Our campsites also each have a 220V electric point, a cooking area and a private braai area. All campsites also have hot water basins for the washing up of dishes. Free Wifi internet and free entrance to the photographic elephant hide for all guests. Guests can take photos at ground level, literally centimetres away from the elephants. Chalets are fully equipped with aircondioners, stoves, microwaves, fridges, crockery, cutlery, glasses, bedlinnen, mosquito nets and much more. Senyati is located around a waterhole which is lit throughout the night, 24/7. A small Serengeti. While sipping sundowners at the "bar with the best view in the world" you will be entertained by a constant flow of animals...elephant, giraffe, zebra, of buffalo, warthogs, roan antelope, sable. By campfire or in your bed you will have a lullaby of the cry of the hyena, the bark of the jackal and the roar of lion... Senyati also arranges Victoria Falls transfers, Chobe River cruises, tiger fishing trips, safari drives, airport transfers and much more. The reception area is equipped with a small shop, selling souveniers, fire wood, meat and other daily necessities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing