We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Senyati Safari Camp
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We looked at the others and then went here on advice from a tourist information at Rundu.

All I can say is thank you tourist information it was the best place. Fantastic host and lovely camp site - we stayed 4 days in place of 2 as we found it so good.The host Lou/Louw was great - a true game lover and not out to rip off us tourists.He even arranged a trip to Vic Falls for us.

Do yourself a favour and stay here although I say that tongue in cheek as I want to keep it for myself.

Room Tip: They are all good - but plan to stay longer than you think !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larryandgwendainuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senyati S, Owner at Senyati Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Larry, thanks for your lovely comment. We will make sure that you have the "place just for yourself" and we will not tell anyone about Senyati, okay? :) Please come back soon! I will be wonderful to have you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 576 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

We visited Senyati during May 2012 and I can only highly recommend this camp. The accommodation was 100% and we must have seen more than 500 elephants during our 3 days stay. Just a slight warning, do not come with a low car. My Jeep Patriot was too low for the road leading to the camp and I had to do some small repairs. We shall come again with a higher vehicle.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Heinrich_Hellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We (4 persons, Toyota + roof tents) had a perfect stay at Senyati Campsite for 2 nights in December 2011. It is a perfect base for daytrips to VicFalls, tours on the Chobe River and for stopovers before entering Chobe National Park.

- The owner is very friendly and gave us helpful information about Chobe/Moremi/VicFalls
- The Campsite is new, clean and there is a kind of good "safari-atmosphere" everywhere.
- You have a roof for rain and sun protection and private shower / bathroom, electricity,..
- The nice wooden bar with view on the waterhole is great, we watched elephants drinking during a thunderstorm while having some cool drinks (a wide range of drinks is available, self-service) and talked with experienced locals.
- Very new and reasonably priced chalets are also available.
- A pool is planned for 2012 :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Qua444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Around Kasane I have camped at the Chobe Safari lodge campsite, Toro lodge campsite, and also at Ihaha campsite inside the Chobe reserve.

and then I also camped at Senyati.

Guess what, Senyati wins hands down in my book.

First the campsites :

You camp on sand. Like almost everywhere in Botswana.

But... every campsite has a really nice shelter consisting out of 3 sections - the toilet, the shower, and then the "stoep" or terrace. Essenstially a section with floor, roof and kitchen sink, you can sit there in teh shade or use it as your kitchen area or whatever. very neat, very convenient, and yes electricity all around. Organised and comfortable. Excellent camp facilities.

Then there is the lovely thatched deck ... with chairs , tables, and of course the bar.

Its right in front of the waterhole.

The elephants come and drink there. At one stage we counted more than 60 elephants.

The only time that we were not on the deck was when we pitching or camp, preparing our food, or sleeping. The other time was spent watching the animals at the waterhole.

We actually decided against going on any game drive the first afternoon as it was pointless... considering that we had this amazing animal show about 150 metres from our tents.

If will never ever even worry about Ihaha camp again... not as long as there is a place like Senyati.

Sure its not on the river... its better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Johnny084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great place to stay if visiting Kasane. Out of the hustle and bustle of the town and much cheaper than some of the lodges on the river. The lodge has a waterhole which is visited by elephant throughout the day, truly beautiful setting. The chalets are nicely decorated and spacious. We spent 3 nights here, a sunset river cruise is a must, so is a fishing trip on the Zambesi or Chobe river. Will definitely recommend this lodge to anyone going to Kasane.

Room Tip: Family units have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LillyS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Elephants in themselves would probably be enough for 5 stars. The owner said once they tried to count how many showed in one night, and stopped at 400. The number seem believable: the start coming before the dark, and I saw plenty when I woke up at 2 am, and then a few leftovers were still there at 7:30 am. Amazing, very well orchestrated parade, a few of them approach, drink, and leave. Then, the next group. And the next... The bar terrace is less than 40 feet away from the show. If you rent a family hut, you can have a full view of the waterhole right from your windows.
Great owners, laid-back atmosphere, very nice facilities, all you need, like a little hot plate, free firewood, and all kitchen utensils, a table to sit outside, and folding chairs. Excellent tar road to Kasane, 15 minutes away. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a hut with the waterhole view, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank wind_n_water_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Great place to watch elephants. Dozens show up at the waterwhole next to the campsite every afternoon and night. It is a very nice and quiet place. Great camping. Good prices. Bar next to waterwhole. Every campsite has own little and clean bathroom. Very nice owner. We've been here twice already and plan to come back. But don't come during the South African holidays. Then the place is too crowded for our taste. The South Africans are nice but not quiet people. Any other time of the year it is a perfect place to stay for a couple of nights - also because it is very close to the entrance gate of the Chobe National Park. It is easy to take daytrips from there without paying the expensive camping fees inside the park.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank danieberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
8.1 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
37.2 mi away
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages
5.4 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 29 in Kasane
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#21 of 21 in Chobe National Park
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
52 reviews
7 mi away
Elephant Trail Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senyati Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senyati Safari Camp

Address: Nata Kazangula Road, 8km From Kazangula | 10 Km From Chobe National Park and 10km from Kasane, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Together with our new swimmingpool, our self-catering chalets are quipped with airconditioners and our campsites are all equipped with private ablution blocks. Each campsite has a 220V electric point, a cooking area and a private braai area and free wifi is available from our Bar which serves both alcholic drinks and coffee. Entrance to the photographic elephant hide is free to all guests. Guests can take photos at ground level, literally centimetres away from the elephants. Chalets are fully equipped with aircondioners, stoves, microwaves, fridges, crockery, cutlery, glasses, bedlinnen, mosquito nets and much more and free coffee, suger and milk is provided for new arrivals. Senyati is located around a waterhole which is lit throughout the night, 24/7. A small Serengeti. While sipping sundowners at the "bar with the best view in the world" you will be entertained by a constant flow of animals...elephant, giraffe, zebra, of buffalo, warthogs, roan antelope, sable. By campfire or in your bed you will have a lullaby of the cry of the hyena, the bark of the jackal and the roar of lion... Senyati also arranges Victoria Falls transfers, Chobe River cruises, tiger fishing trips, safari drives, airport transfers and much more. The reception area is equipped with a small shop, selling souveniers, fire wood, meat and other daily necessities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing