We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience with Steenbok Safari!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steenbok Safari

Steenbok Safari
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience with Steenbok Safari!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had the greatest time in Botswana with Moabi and Steenbok Safaris! We wanted to go to Botswana and to see Victoria Falls, Chobe National Park and Kalahari. On a very short notice, Moabi and Steenbok Safaris managed to arrange everything and all details perfectly (even though he prefers people to contact him well in advance he is extremely capable, since he still managed to arrange everything for us). Sleeping in a tent among lions, leopards and cheetahs may sound dangerous, but we always felt very safe with Moabi and his capable assistants! There was never anything to worry about. Also, we were very impressed by the great food they managed to prepare at the camp - morning, midday and dinner. You shold remember to confirm your booking and pay 25 % in advance, so Moabi can book the good camping sites (there are not so many!). Regarding the animals, we saw everything we possibly could have wished for - and a lot more due to the excellent tracking skills of Moabi ("eagle eye") Marambo! We will definetely come back - next time bringing our kids. They are only 6 and 10, and therefore too young for the very first safari!! Travelling with Steenbok Safaris again will be the obvious choice for us! Highly recommendable :-)
Cheers,
Louise and Søren

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    4
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best guide in entire Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We enjoyed our trips with Steenbok Safari's very much. Our guide Moabi (also owner) is extremely customer-friendly and very knowledgeable. We did morning/afternoon safari's, a daytrip to Victoria Falls, a fishing trip and a river cruise on the Chobe river. All were very well-organized, mostly due to the fact that because Steenbok Safari's isn't a big touroperator and therefore able to do a lot of 'private' tours for the same price as you normally get. Moabi also organizes tours outside of Chobe, such as camping safari's in Moremi Game Reserve. All in all, we had a very good experience and recommended to all!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Locally-owned Company with Excellent Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

The owner of Steenbok, Moabi, has worked for big safari operators in the past, but now runs his own business and does an excellent job. We booked an afternoon boat trip on the Chobe River, an all day game drive in Chobe National Park, and a day trip to Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe. All these tours (plus others) can be booked via Steenbok's web site http://www.steenboksafari.com/. Questions and itineraries can be easily discussed by e-mail. Tours must be paid in advance by wire transfer.

Moabi provides outstanding service. After we arrived in Kasane, he came to our lodge (Thebe River) to discuss our tours. The day trip in Chobe Park was a high point. Moabi is extraordinarily knowledgeable about the wildlife and where to find them. The day trip to Victoria Falls involves a hand-off to a Zimbabwean guide at the Botswana-Zim border which Moabi arranges. The Zim guide was also excellent. Any trip to Kasane should include a late afternoon boat cruise (takes about 3 hours) as this is when the animals come down to drink. Again, we saw lots of wildlife from a very different perspective from what you see on the road.

I was traveling with my wife and 21 year old daughter. We had a wonderful experience. Prices are reasonable. We also liked supporting a local small businessman. He does an outstanding job.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank J-Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entiat, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Safari Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just came back from a 4 day safari with Steenbok and was more than pleased with Muabi our guide. We were constantly being informed about the history, culture, flora and fauna. Our 3 nights in the bush were in comfortable camping accommodations and the food was very good. The drives in Chobe and Savuit were excellent; we were always seeing new things and lots of game. For my first safari this was GREAT!!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank PGDauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borlange, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Private small company with good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

We used Steenbok safaris for a one day trip from Kasane Botswana to the Victoria waterfalls. Steenbok safaris arranged a one day trip with good price for me and my wife. The people made us feel good. They took good care of us at the same time as we had freedom to make and change our plans as we wanted.

We contacted Steenbok safaries over telephone from our hotel when we found out that the hotel prices for a trip was too much overpriced. It was no problem getting in contact and get a good deal for a trip.

Everything worked fine.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank larsnilssonaselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steenbok Safari also viewed

 

Been to Steenbok Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing