We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay”
Review of Thebe River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thebe River Lodge
Ranked #13 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super place to stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Had a lovely couple of days staying here
The air conditioning was a treat after camping for 2 weeks.We went on the game drive in the park and saw loads of different wild life but unfortunately no big cats but the high spot of the river cruise was seeing a leopard drinking from the river
The food was good and the staff friendly
Would recommend this place to anyone staying in Kasane

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazlehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    86
    72
    23
    19
See reviews for
26
78
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The rooms were basic, comfortable and clean. They lacked rugs which made it seem institutional like. The AC was a treat after not having some in a bit. The restaurant/bar area was a great place to hang out as it was lively. The services they provided for the Chobe River was excellent! The food and service were both pretty descent. No wifi or pool.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This lodge had great value rooms compared to other lodges in kasane. Rooms were a good size, very clean, mosquito nets in good condition, clean bathroom and good shower. Lots of overlanders camping in grounds but you have the choice to use restaurants in town. Although a great value stay we would suggest organising game drives or river trips elsewhere as thebe uses large lorries for game drives which are incredibly noisy and spoil the safari experience. Similarly they have a large boat full of noisy guests so you don't feel close to the many elephants near and in the river. Instead use thebe for lodging and use one of the agencies in town for drives and river trips. We found flame of Africa in the mall in town to be particularly good with small groups on safari and boats and good transfers into Namibia. Chobe is a great destination for elephants - definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed twice here - firstly in a room, which was spotless, with comfortable twin beds, air con, en suite shower & toilet. Some days later we came back but we were very late and the bar manager could only offer us camping as the reception was all locked up which we took. It was good of him to do it it as it was so late. The camp site is a bit bare but the uni-sex shower/toilet block was fine. The Lodge is a long walk from any shops etc. We ate in the bar/restaurant on the first occasion and the food was reasonably priced and tasty - there were veggie options. It is a very relaxed and informal place with both groups and independent travellers there of all ages.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafydd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Travelled with my husband and two young boys, 6 & 5 years to do a small photography shoot. The staff are friendly and we stayned in a family room which was spacious and clean, great, hot showers with the all important good quality mattress and pillows. Crisp white linens and mosquito nets, fans and a tea/coffee station. The main area comprises the bar, restaurant, breakfast area, toilets and the pool. Our boys spent a lot of time in the pool but aside from swimming, there is not much else to occupy children. The restaurant offers a great selection and what we tried was delicious and reasonably priced. The bar is also a local gathering place where sport is often followed in the bar on a big TV. They offer rooms, tents, camping and safaris into the Chobe National Park. You can book in-house for daily game drives and river cruises. We had a good stay and have no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevUrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I'm a little bewildered with regard to some of the reviews on this page; I wonder what the authors of these damning reviews of Thebe had expected from their stay in Kasane.

My ma, pa and wife and I had the most incrdeible four days staying at Thebe going on early morning safaris, and sunset boat cruises on the Chobe river for four days. My wife and I camped on the grounds and my parents stayed in the spacious and very comfortable fan cooled rooms. I was greatly impressed with the camping facilities at the site which are the best in Africa that we experienced during our 5 week trip; big, spacious ablution blocks which are regularly cleaned and stocked each day and piping hot water showers. Yes there are a wealth of overalnd groups that pass through Thebe, but they are given an entire camping site to themselves, and none of these sites encroach upon the site designated for independent back packers.

The bar area and restaurant were fantastic. The food was exceptional; friendly, personable and efficient service with a smile and the setting was wonderful by the river side. Yes there is fencing on the river front but that's to keep the juggernaut elephants off the site! Please consider this before declaring that this essential "rusty wire fence" safety measure "spoils the river side feel." We saw a wealth of wildlife on the opposite river bank from the Thebe bar, it doesn't take much to see past the wire fence and reap the reward of viewing African birds and game with a cold beer in your hand (whilst in the pool if you want!). The pool area was fantastic to sun bathe around in the afternoon sun, and the pool was great to cool off in.

Louis, Chris and the rest of the Thebe team could not have been more accomodating to our family who wanted very different service from the lodge. My wife and I were provided with outstanding camping accomodation, and my parents had a spacious, fan cooled room with spotlessly clean en suite bathrooms which was efficiently cleaned daily. We are very grateful for their outstanding hospitality and service.

The safaris were out of this world; we had been on games drives in South Luangwa, Zambia and we thought nothing would beat our experience there, but Chobe maintained that experiential level and blew the roof in terms of African game viewing; the diversity and density of the animals is testament to a National Park that is clearly being maintained and looked after superbly. Jack, our Botswanan driver was exceptionally well informed in terms of describing the animals we viewed in Chobe and he answered all our questions with great knowledge and scope.

One last point that I MUST emphasise; this is Africa, every camping site during the dry season will be "dusty," so ignore the what I believe to be shallow minded testimonials to Thebe on this page. You are coming to a continent that is totally wild and you are a guest viewing nature which follows no script. Embracing this totally unique, enchanting and atmospheric part of the world with an open mind will not leave you disappointed in terms of the game on offer, and possibly result in you enjoying your lodging experience where ever you end up. If this approach is something you are not interested in pursuing, booking a hotel room near to a zoo you can visit may be more accomodating for you, it will probably be cheaper as well!

I believe Thebe to be a great base to visit Chobe NP for both back packers on a camping/cook your own food budget as well as clientelle who want comfortable, private lodgings with all the frills attached. The place has an enchanting and rustically African feel. If you want air con and a more corporate, generic experience (and price hikes in costs), try Chobe Safari Lodge or Chobe Marina.

I full heartedly recommend Thebe River Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fingers82008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Excellent, clean room with outstanding, large on suite facilities. Beds very comfortable, had 3 nights of good, undisturbed sleep. Room fitted with an efficient cooling fan. Rooms were cleaned daily by friendly and helpful staff. Good nets, but we didn't see or hear any mosquitoes in our room. Restaurant was outstanding !! Recommend the rump steak, service here was quick and pleasant too. Extremely well organised safaris, both river and driving. Rates for both safaris and accommodation were unmatchable in Kasane. This lodge is a little out of town, but we were there to see the game not the supermarkets! It is dusty, but no more than the rest of the area in the dry season. Only improvement we could think of is some shelves and hooks in this very large, clean and airy room

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safari201030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
2.7 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,089 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 26 in Kasane
61 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
111 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#14 of 26 in Kasane
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thebe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thebe River Lodge

Property: Thebe River Lodge
Address: Main Road, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THEBE RIVER LODGE FACILITIES Facilities at Thebe River Lodge include Twin Room and Family Room accommodation in addition to Camping Facilities. All guests at Thebe River Lodge have access to our Spacious Dining Area and the Bush Bar and a pool to soak in the Botswana Sun. Thebe River Lodge offers an Activity Centre where you can book a variety of activities on offer in the region and transfers to all the regional Airports and towns. Thebe River Restaurant offers the chance to unwind after a long, hot day of exploring the Chobe National Park or after arriving from a distant destination or just anytime you feel like cold drinks, good food and varied company in the rustic restaurant and bar area overlooking the placid Chobe River. Guests can enjoy a fine meal or drinks from the bar and take a swim in the inviting pool if the weather gets hot which it does often in Kasane. Facilities at Thebe River Lodge include; - Lodge Rooms - Camping Sites - Restaurant - Bar and Pool area - BBQ Facilities - Activity & Safari Centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thebe River Hotel Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing