We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel to chill out and relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jodanga Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome hostel to chill out and relax!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Jodanga is an awesome hostel to chill out and relax at...Santa Cruz doesn't really have much going on, so it's nice that you can hang out around in the pool, tv room, and patio with other travelers and have a drink or two. The staff is awesome, especially Nair. She was super helpful when my bus got canceled and I had to arrange to stay longer. She also had a ton of good suggestions of what to do around town, and always had a smile on her face (which is hard to come by often with hostel staff). All in all would stay again, and definitely recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cnicphotos1687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    85
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
65
72
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I was supposed to spend just 1 night in Santa Cruz but spent over 10 weeks here. The hostel is kept very clean, the staff are very friendly, Nair (receptionist) took me too many cool places and bars around Santa Cruz. If you have some spare time to have some fun, i would recommend a visit to Jodanga and let Nair show you where the partys at

Room Tip: Make sure to let them know how many nights you plan to stay because if someone reserves it online th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 800Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I came to Santa Cruz only to use as a stepping stone to head north into the jungle, however found I couldn't leave. I had the best time at this hostel, it was clean, friendly, helpful and reasonably priced for Santa Cruz. The best part were the staff. Nair and Jhanisse made my time in Santa Cruz the best it could have possibly been, showed me around to local spots and gave me tonnes of insider info about the city. I was travelling alone, and the social atmosphere at the hostel, the open areas and pool turned into a home and I made some of my closest friends while overseas there. The best spot to stay if you really want to see the city and get to know it, or even just to relax for a day or two!

Room Tip: The dorms by the pool have air con! much needed on those muggy nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue_lem0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Had an absolutely fantastic time at Jodanga Backpackers, a two day stay turned into seven weeks! The staff are incredible especially Nair, who was such an angel to me! I definitely recommend staying here, as it really is the only place to stay in Santa Cruz. I just hope that everyone else has the same experience of Jodanga that I experienced!

Pura Vida

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Mateo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hostel is pretty much the only hostel in Santa Cruz which is probably why it gets away with its ridiculous prices for everything, including the most expensive beers in Santa Cruz! (you arent allowed to bring in your own alcohol) The location is crap, you have to get a taxi to go anywhere and the areas within walking distance are worth nothing more then the odd meal.
The owner is a nice bloke although he runs the place like a war camp, not really in a good way but the rest of the staff are sound.
The pool area is cool and is probably what keeps people here as is the multiple living areas and good dvd collection when the weather turns bad.
All in all overpriced hostel that is good enough but i only stayed here because I couldnt really find any other option in Santa Cruz.
I had fun here because of the other cool people i met here

Room Tip: Dont get the barbecue, its overpriced, the alcohol is not real alcohol and the cuts of meat are horr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnoWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This has to be the worst overpriced hostel ever. Guests are there to please the owner and staff, not the opposite. Everything is overpriced, booze, dorms and B-B-Q which has the cheapest cuts of meat and the very cheapest booze which wino's refuse to drink. It is miles from anywhere and one needs to get a taxi everywhere. Some of the girls here are very nice but they do not make up for the "Bats out of hell". The owner is surly when you disagree with him. It is one place I know where you have to tell them how many nights you are going to stay, pay up front, with no room to change your mind. Is this a backpackers hostel or what? If you arrive at say 8am and they have a bed, you cant check in till 2pm. Utter rubbish. Very bad place, never again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

... that is how you can summarize the Jodanga.
Spacious dorms, great pool, fast internet, nice bathrooms, good kitchen, great breakfast, great common arreas, lockers, nice service, a welcome beer of you can repeat the hostel rules (how funny is that?!)
About the location: you'll have to walk a little bit, but it is not really a dodgy area. it is just outside of the center.
Probably one of the best hostels you can find in Bolivia (excluding the stupid party hostels you can find in La Paz, but that is a question of your travel style - I don't like them)
A pity I just stayed there just 1 night, could've stayer there longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matraquilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 49 in Santa Cruz
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Sierra
Hotel La Sierra
#31 of 49 in Santa Cruz
36 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aparthotel Premium Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#10 of 49 in Santa Cruz
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
#7 of 49 in Santa Cruz
36 reviews
2.8 mi away
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jodanga Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jodanga Backpackers Hostel

Property: Jodanga Backpackers Hostel
Address: El Fuerte N0 1380 | Barrio Los Choferes, Santa Cruz 1380, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want a couple of days chilling in the sun by the pool this is the perfect hostel for you! Come visit our backpacker luxury.The hostel started in 2006 and has established a well-balanced between fun and relaxation. We go according to the guests staying, if you want to have fun and party, we organized BBQ's by the pool “all you can drink and eat” for everyone to meet and have a good time. If you want to rest and relax just watching movies or having a drink at the poolside bar you can also do so. We have years of experience running a confortable, secure and spotlessly clean place with lots of tourist information for your travel. We are not the cheapest place in Santa Cruz, but definitely the best one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Jodanga Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing