We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seven amazing weeks at Jodanga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jodanga Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seven amazing weeks at Jodanga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Had an absolutely fantastic time at Jodanga Backpackers, a two day stay turned into seven weeks! The staff are incredible especially Nair, who was such an angel to me! I definitely recommend staying here, as it really is the only place to stay in Santa Cruz. I just hope that everyone else has the same experience of Jodanga that I experienced!

Pura Vida

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Mateo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    80
    33
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
61
69
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hostel is pretty much the only hostel in Santa Cruz which is probably why it gets away with its ridiculous prices for everything, including the most expensive beers in Santa Cruz! (you arent allowed to bring in your own alcohol) The location is crap, you have to get a taxi to go anywhere and the areas within walking distance are worth nothing more then the odd meal.
The owner is a nice bloke although he runs the place like a war camp, not really in a good way but the rest of the staff are sound.
The pool area is cool and is probably what keeps people here as is the multiple living areas and good dvd collection when the weather turns bad.
All in all overpriced hostel that is good enough but i only stayed here because I couldnt really find any other option in Santa Cruz.
I had fun here because of the other cool people i met here

Room Tip: Dont get the barbecue, its overpriced, the alcohol is not real alcohol and the cuts of meat are horr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnoWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This has to be the worst overpriced hostel ever. Guests are there to please the owner and staff, not the opposite. Everything is overpriced, booze, dorms and B-B-Q which has the cheapest cuts of meat and the very cheapest booze which wino's refuse to drink. It is miles from anywhere and one needs to get a taxi everywhere. Some of the girls here are very nice but they do not make up for the "Bats out of hell". The owner is surly when you disagree with him. It is one place I know where you have to tell them how many nights you are going to stay, pay up front, with no room to change your mind. Is this a backpackers hostel or what? If you arrive at say 8am and they have a bed, you cant check in till 2pm. Utter rubbish. Very bad place, never again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

... that is how you can summarize the Jodanga.
Spacious dorms, great pool, fast internet, nice bathrooms, good kitchen, great breakfast, great common arreas, lockers, nice service, a welcome beer of you can repeat the hostel rules (how funny is that?!)
About the location: you'll have to walk a little bit, but it is not really a dodgy area. it is just outside of the center.
Probably one of the best hostels you can find in Bolivia (excluding the stupid party hostels you can find in La Paz, but that is a question of your travel style - I don't like them)
A pity I just stayed there just 1 night, could've stayer there longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matraquilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
514 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

I was recommended this hostel by another backpacker so I booked here without looking into it, I was shocked with how bad the location of it was. They say it is a short walk to the centre but it is a MASSIVE walk. One good thing is that you can walk to one of the airports, which is a really weird feeling.

I arrived 1 hour before the check in, the hostel wasnt busy so I was shocked when they said I couldn't check in early even though my bed was free.

The value for money isnt great compared to other Bolivian hostels and I felt a little ripped off.

The pool was great except for the fact there isnt much space to lay down and relax.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

On paper good amenities (swimming pool, pool table, tv, blah blah blah) however it is well overpriced, has only 2 common bathrooms 1 shower, some unfriendly staff, overpriced drinks (not allowed to bring your own). Rooms are tiny and uncomfortable springy beds.
Not flexible with changing bookings and can't check in till 2pm.
Also it belongs to HI but it is not advertised on the website and you can't get your 10% discount unless you book through the HI site.
Location, only if you want to be close to the train/bus terminal, otherwise 25min walk into the city.
Had a bbq night and the whole place was full of sticky smoke.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

It's just far from the center and from the terminal. But among the expensive places in Santa Cruz, this one offers fantastic service. The pool and jacuzy, wifi, a very clean kitchen to use, and the awesome breakfast are really good. The air conditioning works only at night from 11 to 8, but it is set on perfect temperature, never too hot or cold. Although I was looking for cheaper places to stay, but I recommend this one for a good atmosphere and very nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
3.0 mi away
Aparthotel Premium Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#9 of 49 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Los Aventureros
Los Aventureros
#12 of 44 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jara Hostel Backpackers
La Jara Hostel Backpackers
#6 of 46 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jodanga Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jodanga Backpackers Hostel

Property: Jodanga Backpackers Hostel
Address: El Fuerte N0 1380 | Barrio Los Choferes, Santa Cruz 1380, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jodanga Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want a couple of days chilling in the sun by the pool this is the perfect hostel for you! Come visit our backpacker luxury.The hostel started in 2006 and has established a well-balanced between fun and relaxation. We go according to the guests staying, if you want to have fun and party, we organized BBQ's by the pool “all you can drink and eat” for everyone to meet and have a good time. If you want to rest and relax just watching movies or having a drink at the poolside bar you can also do so. We have years of experience running a confortable, secure and spotlessly clean place with lots of tourist information for your travel. We are not the cheapest place in Santa Cruz, but definitely the best one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Jodanga Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing