We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel”
Review of Hotel Cortez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cortez
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2011

In a city like Santa Cruz, this is one of the best hotels you can find. Just make sure your room does not face the street since it's quite noisy all day. Beds are modest and a bit uncomfortable but the price is right and the other services of the hotel work fine. Restaurant is very good, internet also. Location is good: walk oe block and you're in a trndy area full of bars, coffees and restaurants; walk 2 blocks and you're in busy noisy downtown.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a quiet room, far from the stree
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoine_K_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 319 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Cortez on a Mission Awareness Trip. It is a beautiful hotel with a nice pool and restaurant, Internet suite of 4 computers, air conditioning, and excellent staff. The air conditioner does not stay on when you leave the room, so you come back to a hot and muggy room, but at least there is air conditioning for night time. The staff is excellent and they have a money exchange service and gift store. When I was in the tiny gift store, the clerk stood right next to me, a few inches away, no matter where I stood, as if I were going to steal something. I found this annoying and ended up not shopping there. The food is good, the eggs and juices are delicious. The lobby and outside pool area is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taphipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This Hotel is good, the rooms very clean and well equipped and the breakfasts good.

We much appreciated the airport transfer, although be aware that returning to the airport is at fixed times which may not suit your departure...but taxis are cheap and the hotel will call one for you.

There are various pleasant sitting areas within the hotel, and banks and restaurants within easy reach.

A good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samuk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Cortez on a recent visit to Santa Cruz. They met me at the airport with a transfer to the hotel. Upon arrival the staff bent over backwards to help me in any way I needed. They put me in contact with a local guide who was very fluent in english, who was an excellent guide for the day. I can think of no other place to stay, the staff is excellent, location is excellent-close to shopping, dining and entertaiment.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkalfa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2007

Stayed just one night in Hotel Cortez and paid $75 booked via email through there website. Room was large with a sitting area and a small kitchen (which we didn’t use). Our room faced the front of the hotel on the busy road which was very noisy – we thankfully had ear plugs with us! They offer a collection from (which we did not use) and a return to the airport free of charge.

Hotel clean, breakfast was very basic could not at all recommend. Staff on reception spoke good English. All in all pleasant experience for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattyh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

After spending one miserable night in the Copacabana Hotel (not recommended) my fiancee and I moved to the Hotel Cortez and were very impressed. Clean rooms, good staff, WiFi internet in all rooms and the pool/sauna all made this a great choice. There are good restaurants nearby (the hotel has two restaurants but the food is mediocre). The Hotel Cortez is the only hotel in Bolivia with an ISO 9001:2000 certification! If you stay here, ask for a room away from the noisy street. We got a price of $60 dbl after bargaining ... do haggle. This hotel maybe the best value in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

I stayed in this hotel for one night. They had excellent customer service. The hotel was well kept. I wanted a room with a crib, so they ended up giving me a family room, which had 3 twin size beds, a queen bed, and a crib. The room was nothing special, and the decor was not great, but it was clean and had great AC. Bathroom was clean also, and had a bidet. Watch out though for the hot water, especially if you have children who will be there. It is very, very hot. The restaurant in the hotel was very good for dinner. The breakfast buffet was unappetizing, but had some basics like cereal, yogurt, fruit and some assorted breads. The pool was nice and the garden area of the hotel was well kept and tropical. They offer free internet, both wi-fi and in their business center. The hotel location is good and you can walk to many restaurants and the downtown plaza is about 7 blocks away and is easy to walk. Or take a taxi there for 6 or 7 Bolivianos.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1 mi away
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
1.4 mi away
Camino Real Hotel
Camino Real Hotel
#1 of 50 in Santa Cruz
602 reviews
2.2 mi away
Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
#4 of 50 in Santa Cruz
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#10 of 50 in Santa Cruz
287 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 50 in Santa Cruz
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortez

Address: Av. Cristobal de Mendoza 280 | On the 2nd ring road between Av. Monseñor Rivero and Libertad Street, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $117 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cortez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cortez located on the second ring road, Cristobal de Mendoza avenue, has a privileged location in the city of Santa Cruz De la Sierra, close to de most important places on the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortez Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing