We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Braine-Le-Comte, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Nice appart hotel with lot's of facilities and activities. If you are lucky you can have your own jacuzzy in your bedroom.

Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CorentinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    76
    40
    10
    18
See reviews for
60
16
8
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

Caveat: I have not stayed in other hotels in Bolivia, and have not stayed in many "luxury" hotels in developing countries, so my review is a biased one from a middle-class American perspective. That said, I have backpacked at hostels, and stayed at luxury Ritz Carltons before, so I do have a range to compare to. I do not know what the rest of Bolivian accommodations are like though.

This hotel is marketed as a luxury resort & spa, and the first impression of the external structures roughly matches that -- maybe a low end resort & spa in the US. The lobby is clean and new, and there are several clean pool areas.

However, the rooms are not very nice. They are designed to be large and spacious like luxury accommodations (we stayed in a 4-room suite), but the details are truly low-rate ... I would say much worse than your average Howard Johnson, or even possibly an American motel 6. The drains in the bathrooms have little bits of dirt on them, and have a slight sewage smell ... but that is the case in most buildings in developing tropical countries. The furniture is screwed into weak plaster walls. The fans are loud, and the vents have dirt/dust on them. The towels are thin and scratchy. The shower upstairs is weak and has a standard cheap shower head. The shower downstairs has a tile floor that has dirt in the grout. The sliding door to the balcony had no lock -- it had broken off, and was not fixed despite several requests over a week. The kitchen is small, old, and musty. The couches are old and scratchy.

Basically, this place is a relatively clean place for a developing country, but do not expect "resort & spa." I was happy staying there because I expected to be staying at low-rate local hotels, and was here to work ... but I would be very unhappy taking a vacation here expecting a resort experience. For a budget trip, it would not be worth the cost to stay here.

The pools were clean, the buffet breakfasts were decent (not great, but not bad ... and the fruit was excellent), and the staff was friendly. There were 3 computers for free internet, and free internet at the lobby and snack bar areas. In-room wifi cost 80 Bolivianos (about US$11) for 3 days.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

We like this hotel. You feel very safe. It is clean og it is av very helpful staff. Nice swimming Pool. Bad food in the resturant near the swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KjellemannNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

When we had arrived to the Santa Cruz Airport we waited awhile for the courtesy van to come and get us... it never came even after calling the hotel. We had to get 2 taxis we were two families. The lost one reservation and had the other. The other family had to stay at another hotel. When we got to our rooms it smelled of mildew and the AC unit was broken in the kids room. After the third day of complaining I gave up asking. The pool was wonderful, however, they could not keep it balanced and had to close the pools frequently to shock. When we asked the front desk about things to do with kids they said there was something 6 hours away. We went to the snack bar and got great service from the manager, Gustavo, however it was his last day. He told us about some sights to see and places to go in Santa Cruz. The next night at the snack bar the service stunk. The food came and different times the drinks came after the food if at all. My drink never came and I was charged for it. The second to last day the cleaning lady called and asked if we wanted our room cleaned and came only to leave a note saying that cleaning would not be done the next day. On leaving they made check out a long drawn out affair. They brag they are a 5 star hotel... they are not!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank germanbolivianfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

I have stayed in many hotels in santa cruz, all of them are run down and scary!!!! this place was defenetly a breath of fresh air from that city. Its a gated community , you stay behind the gates. I enjoy the security that provides, because people can't just walk in to the property, everyone is scanned. They have certain property rules that people who are looking to party like rockstars might not like , but I enjoy very much. You are not permitted to have guest of the opposite sex in your room unless they are registered guest (they may visit you in the lobby), you are permitted to have guest of the same sex visit you in your room , but they can only stay there until 10:00 pm, then they must go home. The property is maintained beutifully , there is staff working on it all day long. I spent hours just walking around and taking in the area. I have eated 3 times at the snack bar and once at the restaurant and I have not gotten food poison, which I always got at the other hotels I stayed in while in santa cruz. The rooms are spotless, there in no mold on the walls , the air conditioners work, the bed is very nice. They have knock-down treatment on the walls, molded ceilings, art deco style furniture, there is a tv in the living along, a radio with cd player, a big chair and a small sofa. There is also a tv in the bedroom and a full body mirror (which is great). there is a pretty well sized kitchen and the best part! its fully stocked!!! everything you need a kitchen is provided. There is also a dinning area with a long table for eating. Free internet is provided , but you must bring your own ethernet cable or you can rent one from the property, make sure the cable you bring is atleast 7ft long to provide some kind of mobility. If you must go to santa cruz this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — 24/7 security
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank annieINtheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2006

Beautiful grounds, excellent customer service. For the area, I am certain that it is one of the nicest places to stay in Santa Cruz. I did end up with an infected toenail after a pedicure in their spa, so I would not recommend the pedicure. Rooms are large and comfortable and the maids are very thourough. The food here is pretty good, nothing gourmet, but fresh and tasty. Keep in mind that you are not in the states so the level of things is not the same as a five star hotel in the states, but you cannot go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2006

Very nice, big and light aparthments. The hotel is very comfy. The three pools are very nice, the heated pool seems to be the most maintained, locaded just by the snackbar. The hotel offers very good services, has good restautrantes and spa which my wife liked very much :o)

Only thing missing, was a mini-bar. For some reason, there was no minibar in the apartments.

But it is a very relaxing place, where you can spend a week with-outh leaving the compound, if you like.

I can only recomend this hotel, it has to be the best hotel in Santa Cruz, Bolivia!


  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room by the heated pool!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank af01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 mi away
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
2.2 mi away
Camino Real Hotel
Camino Real Hotel
#2 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#4 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
#5 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#9 of 49 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa

Property: Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa
Address: Avenida Roca y Coronado 901, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from downtown Santa Cruz and easy access to different business, shopping and entertainment centers, Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa offers 6 acres surrounded by lush vegetation harboring an infrastructure designed for the comfort , tranquility and enjoyment of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing