We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out....and a bit run down.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watch out....and a bit run down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is about 25 minutes from the VVI airport. Taxi cost 70 Bolivianos- there were 4 of us. Simple enough....but when the hotel set up a return taxi for us the next morning the driver told us the fare was 280 bolivianos!!!! WHY? We refused to pay it. The taxi was one with the hotel logo on it - and it was small so our luggage didn't even it! We had to have one bag across our laps in the back seat. I thought the hotel was doing us a favor by arranging the taxi the night before....little did I know.
The hotel is fine. Nothing great. The Oasis restaurant is ok - not bad. Simple. They gave us "welcome drink coupons" - but that's not really what they are - they're good for a glass of juice only. That's fine but just call it what it is. Honestly - why bother!
Suite as ok - TV in master bedroom was poor - something wrong with the sound so you couldn't understand the people talking. Others were ok. Kitchen - the smoke detector (or something but that's the beeping noise) - went off ALL night. We arrived late in the evening and honestly just too tired to deal with it but obviously whoever cleaned the room HAD to have heard it as it went off every minute! Good directions for the hot water - worked good but no water pressure. Just a trickle. I wouldn't go back.
Overall staff was good - front desk and staff for luggage was very good. Restaurant, it was obvious that our waiter didn't want to be there and only came to our table when we flagged him down....and no one else was having dinner at 9 PM - maybe he just wanted to go home.
I guess I'm really down on this one because the rest of our 2 week tour in Bolivia was great. We had better accommodations at hostels!
Overall -- it was just OK. Its just not worth the 25 minute taxi if this is just an overnight to catch connecting flight in morning. Due to change in flights we didn't arrive early enough to use the pool but it looked nice.

Room Tip: this suite was a 3 bdrm - 2 bath. It worked great for us. The AC unit was very noisy in the master b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMWgirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostumerExperience, Guest Relations Manager at Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are very sorry for your unpleasant experience with the taxi service.
We would like to inform that it is an outsourced service that gives us an extern company. Please if you can provide us the information about the vehicle that provided the service and lead us to identify it. For corrective action, preventing a recurrence this.
As a recommendation we inform that the service vehicles, carry a price chart on the back of the driver's seat and also have a card with their ID and authorization for entry at theHotel.
We want to identify the driver to sanction the poor service provided to your self.

Buganvillas Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    75
    40
    10
    18
See reviews for
60
16
8
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for tree days. I was given the longest hotel room I've ever been. It's quite old, but is beautifull. Highly recomended for families with children. Every room has two rooms in it. It has a fully equiped kitchen, living room, bathrooms, etc. The A/C made some noise but was acceptable. outside there's a small mini market where you can buy some things to survive. I has a barbecue place, soccer field, tennis, gym, swiming pools. Nice to to visit Santa Cruz de Bolivia o for a cuople of days for ralaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtGio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights a this hotel. Rooms are very large, with kitchen, dinning room, living room, maid's quarter, a master's bedroom and another rom with twin beds.

Both the master's bath room and the other bathroom were small and had leaking fawcetts, one of them leaking also on the floor, needs maintenance. In the master bedroon, the mattress was very soft, needs to be changed. The safe have a mecanical lock with a key, but it could be open easyly with a sharp tool.

Breakfast is OK. coffee was not warm and milk for cereal was not kept cold. The Soho restaurant and the snack bar were good. The Lure restaurant was closed for renovations.

The location of this hotel is OK is you have a car to travel with. If you want to walk to try another restaurant, everything is too far.

There are 3 swimming pools which we saw that they put chemicals in at night, but they did not look clean to us in the day time.

This hotel from the outside doesn't look old but the rooms definitly need major renovation. It looks old.

We travel to Santa Cruz frequently for business and won't be going back to this hotel. Very expensive for what it has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Santa Cruz's hotels don't differ too much from one another. Here, I got the top flooe (4th) suite, pretty much like an apartment. Huge in size, average in luxury in key areas (kitchen, bathroom), but understand this is due to the property's age. The bed was alright, but the room was spacious enough to make you feel comfortable. Can't speak about the other rooms tough.

Elevators and hallways in the condominiums look old. That's an alert sign - though lower your expectations when in Bolivia. So long as you're ok with feeling in the early 90's, you're good.

The pool areas are gorgeous. Would recommend it for pleasure, more than business. Wifi was free but got 1 signal strip on my Ipad. The area is so quiet, you'll feel guilty just leaving for work. Mind you, the lobby is quite small.

Room Tip: Ask for the price of the 4th floor rooms, the ones with the large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

well, what else can I say? it was really worth the money...great pools, trees everywhere, nature, peace, awesome breakfast...believe me, nothing like it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at the Buganvillas Hotel for 8 nights in March of 2012. The resort has several options for accomodations and because I was staying with 3 other volunteers on an Operation Smile mission trip, we selected a condo like suite with four bedrooms and three baths. The rooms were clean but dated and sparsely decorated. The furniture in the common areas was very tired. My biggest complaint was the water pressure / temperature. I didn't take a single shower that didn't require me to jump out at least once because the water turned freezing or scalding hot. The drains were very dirty.

The resort itself was extremely clean and inviting. Breakfast consisted of a hot station of eggs, omletes, and waffles and a variety of fruits, breads and cheeses. The resort has several restaurants. The Oasis Bar at the pool and a fine dining restaurant called Soho. We ate dinner almost every night at the Oasis. The one night we tried Soho we waited over an hour for our food. The food was average... and I would never go back because of the horrendous service. The spa was very nice and I had an excellent massage for $35!! The pool was always pristine.

All in all, I felt this resort to be very average; however, I have not traveled frequently in this part of the world so my expectations might have been too high based on what I am accustomed to. I would like to point out that the lobby has a small display case of wallets, belts and purses made locally from crocodile. I bought a beautiful red clutch that is absolutely gorgeous and most of the guys bought wallets as souvenirs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Buganvillas just for one night. It was a beautiful place with an upscale Mediterranean theme. Overall, the grounds were similar to a very nice US condo complex, but with the amenities of a resort.

We arrived early (check in time is 3pm) so we were given drink vouchers and directed to Oasis Snack Bar, in between two if three pool complexes. It's overpriced, but the food was good. When we finished eating, we were able to check in early. Upon entering our room, we realized that we had been upgraded to a two bedroom suite with a living room, kitchen, and empleada quarters. It was way more than we needed, but it would be a very nice accommodation for a family or group as it was really large.

That afternoon we went exploring and checked out the hotel facilities. We were pretty amazed at the grounds as we did not realize they had all kinds of sport courts, a gym, playground, area for grilling and full size soccer field.

We enjoyed the pools, had excellent messages in the Spa (one of the best I've had), and spent most of the night at the new resort addition, Lure. Lure is a very large restaurant and lounge. It's modern and very well done. There are two inside restaurant buildings (one slightly submerged under water). The rest is outdoor seating which included typical tables, but also cabanas with couches and large round booth tables. The food was excellent and the service was more than attentive. It was pricey by Bolivian standards, but for two full entrees, two rounds of drinks each and a shared dessert it was only $40 US.

Overall, I thought my stay there was very nice, but I did notice small unconvinces that would not fly in the US. My only complaints:
1. The outdoor hottub in the spa was not working (but there is one inside and hotel guests can use that and the saunas for free).
2. The jacuzzi by the third pool complex was drained and not working- you had the use the other jacuzzis.
3. The gym and Oasis bar were not open Monday nights (the only night of our stay).
4. Upon waking up, we could hear the cleaning staff above us moving the metal furniture on the tile floors.

Again, these were very minor so overall, we would recommend this place. I think it would be ideal for families and groups.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weatherly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.7 mi away
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Camino Real Hotel
Camino Real Hotel
#2 of 48 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz
Hotel LP Santa Cruz
#10 of 48 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#4 of 48 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.0 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#9 of 48 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Santa Cruz / Equipetrol, Bolivia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa

Property: Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa
Address: Avenida Roca y Coronado 901, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from downtown Santa Cruz and easy access to different business, shopping and entertainment centers, Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa offers 6 acres surrounded by lush vegetation harboring an infrastructure designed for the comfort , tranquility and enjoyment of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing