We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, adequate clean, expensive, has a tucan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residencial Bolivar
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hostel, adequate clean, expensive, has a tucan!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is clean enough - rooms, toilet and shower, patio.
Payed 80 bolivian for a night - a bit expensive.
Has wi-fi.
Nice breakfest - bread, fruits, juices and coffee.
Has a tucan in the hostel!
A very nice patio to relax.
The staff is nice and will be happy to give you advices.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doleviko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
27
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you've never seen a tucan before, this place is definitely a good place to go. When you walk in, it feels like a tropical paradise. It's green and even the good breakfast gives you that tropical feeling. The showers and toilets are kept clean all day, so yeah, it has potential.

The room ruined that tropical dream though. It smelled old and moisty and the bed...I don't know. I am a couchsurfhost and I would definitely not want my guests to sleep on a bed like this at my place.

The door and windows didn't close well, so all the sound of the patio (and toilets) would come into the room 24/7.

If this is the no 1 place to stay in Santa Cruz, you should by terrified by the idea of the other places. A tip for the management: please spend some money on room-improvements instead of the fancy neon-sign at the facade.

For travellers: if you are travelling on a tight budget, it's ok to go here. If you've got some extra cash to spend: go elsewhere.

Room Tip: I have only seen room 8 and that's not a recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The Residencial Bolívar in Santa Cruz is located just a block from the Plaza 24 de Septiembre, which is very central. And the competitive prices for the rooms makes it a great choice for staying in Santa Cruz. They have dorm style rooms, single rooms and rooms for couples so it caters for all kinds of people.
The hotel can help you organize tours to nearby sites such as the national parks, Jesuit Ruins and Che Guevarra trail.
The hotel is neat, has a great courtyard with many plants and even a resident toucan that is very friendly.
The staff are a little slow in preparing breakfast and cleaning up the meals area, but aside from that they are very friendly and approachable.
A great stay in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our first night in Bolivia, and what a treat the Residencial Bolivar was. Very welcoming, great location near to the central plaza, beautiful flowers in the courtyard, and the best breakfast we found in the whole of our travels (lots of fresh fruit and juice).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueAndLudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on a lay by before leaving for asuncion. I was a bit expensive (£8pp) considering it was a dorm and we had been paying that a night for a private room but there isn't a lot if choice in Santa Cruz and the hostel was lovely.

Best breakfast we've had all trip by far and the toucan makes the place :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sianmclaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hostel is lovely, with a great garden and open areas that you can chill... there is even a toucan that lives there. The only down point is that the room is quite small and since Sta Cruz is REALLY HOT the ceiling fan is not enough to refrigerate the room. Some air conditioners would be nice! :P

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ursulamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Overall nice hostel but overpriced.
Pro's: courtyard area with hammocks is big and great for relaxing; breakfast includes nice fresh fruits and juices; very handy location; decent wifi
Cons: twin rooms with shared bathrooms are tiny with very little space for bags; felt sorry for the pet toucan with clipped wings so he cant fly; certainly overpriced in comparison to the rest of Bolivia but we didn't stay anywhere else in Santa Cruz so can't compare to prices there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#10 of 49 in Santa Cruz
274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 49 in Santa Cruz
287 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aparthotel Premium Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
#7 of 49 in Santa Cruz
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Sierra
Hotel La Sierra
#25 of 49 in Santa Cruz
35 reviews
2.4 mi away
Camino Real Hotel
Camino Real Hotel
#2 of 49 in Santa Cruz
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Bolivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Bolivar

Property: Residencial Bolivar
Address: Calle Sucre 131 | a una cuadra de la Plaza Principal, lado Este, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriage bedrooms with private batrooms, shared and single bedoroom in a beautiful and romantic 18th century old colonial house, around a cool and leafy patio with inviting hammocks. Self service tropical fruit breakfast with variety of jams, juices, breads and eggs wich make your delight. Hot showers, cable tv, travel info. Beutiful tame tucans in a safe and calm ecological enviorment. English speaking staff willing to guide and help you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residencial Bolivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing