We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Santa Cruz”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residencial Bolivar
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in a double room for 2 nights. The room was a good size, clean and had a comfortable bed. There was hot water which was very nice! The wifi worked only outside the room but was OK. Breakfast could be better but the fruit was tasty. The hostel is in a great location near the central square. It was also quiet at night, which was good. Oh, and the toucan was friendly!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Residencial Bolivar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

I won´t lie: I booked the place solely on the basis of the pet toucan. And he is great. He hops right up to you, sits on your arm, etc. The location of this hostel is also great, right in the center of town near the square, the hammocks are awesome and the breakfast is delish. My only complaint is that I reserved a private room 1 month in advance, and I followed up 1 week before and they confirmed both times. But when i arrived there was no private room available. I ended up in a dorm that could sleep 5, but only had 3... and it was fine, although a bit run down. The bed was really comfortable. The showers are nice and mostly clean for a shared facility. Nobody that works here speaks English, so it is a bit hard getting information. But overall I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was a perfect place to start our 7 week trek across Bolivia. We traveled with kids (12 & 14) and although they weren't wild about Santa cruz, they loved this place. It was very clean, central location, very safe, helpful staff, large and delicious buffet breakfast, a friendly toucan, hammocks and a lovely patio to hang out in. All of this at a very reasonable rate. We were happy to return here after a few days in Samapaita. The rooms are not large but they were clean, had places to put your backpacks, and we're quiet. They even kept our luggage safe when it finally arrived after delta lost it in the States and my favorite airline LAN found and delivered it to this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed for just 1 night at Residencial Bolivar in May 2012. We paid 150 Bolivianos (a bit steep we thought) a night for a twin room with a fan and shared bathroom. We ideally wanted a double room, (or it might have been a double with en-suite...not sure now) but were told they don't have any rooms like that, not that they haven't got any available... they don't have any! Which was untrue, as we saw them on the price list up on the wall. Slightly annoying, but we didn't let it bother us too much.

Our room was very small, but clean. The shared bathrooms weren't overly clean, with stains on the toilet seats and rubbish on the floor. The showers were nice and warm though.

We have mixed feelings over the resident Toucan, it makes the hostel slightly different to others, but it is also a shame that a bird which should be flying about in the wild, has had its wings clipped to keep it in the courtyard.

The wi-fi always had a good signal and the communal kitchen was handy. The buffet breakfast was nice, although it seems certain groups of people (who also act like the own the place) think that it is fair to take all the egg as soon as it bought out.

The location is fantastic, right near the Plaza. Also, there are hammocks in the leafy courtyard to relax in if you can find a free one.

We found it pretty loud at night, with people being inconsiderate and shouting while in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I had a great time at the Residencial Bolivar over 4 nights. The staff, although not being able to speak English very well, are extremely friendly and polite to everyone.

The rooms were slightly small, and as I went in December, extremely hot during the night. There is only a fan in the room, so sleeping can be difficult during hot weather, but thankfully the showers are clean if you need to cool off a bit.

Breakfast was included, and it was great- fresh fruit, jams, breads and juices. Location-wise, it's only 2 blocks from the main square, and close to facilities like the supermarket, laundromat and cafes and restaurants.

Santa Cruz isn't the greatest city by any means for sightseeing, but Residencial Bolivar makes a relaxing pitstop in between Samaipata, Amboro, La Paz or other places in Bolivia. When I return to Bolivia, I'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonnoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I loved the place! The room and bathrooms were good, the staff was friendly, the breakfast with fruits, eggs and fresh juice was the best we had, Simon the tucan is hilarious and you can relax forever in the hammocks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The rooms are very small and simple, but the grounds and common areas are very nice. The staff is very kind and helpful, and of course Simon the toucan is a treat! The breakfast buffet is simple, but plentiful. Plenty of tables and hammocks to relax in during the day, and common kitchen. A quiet and friendly place, with 10pm quiet hours.

Room Tip: You don´t need to spring for the private bath, as the shared bathrooms are located right next to the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Sierra
Hotel La Sierra
#31 of 49 in Santa Cruz
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 49 in Santa Cruz
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#10 of 49 in Santa Cruz
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jodanga Backpackers Hostel
Jodanga Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 48 in Santa Cruz
248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Los Aventureros
Los Aventureros
#17 of 47 in Santa Cruz
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
360 Grados
360 Grados
#3 of 48 in Santa Cruz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Bolivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Bolivar

Address: Calle Sucre 131 | a una cuadra de la Plaza Principal, lado Este, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriage bedrooms with private batrooms, shared and single bedoroom in a beautiful and romantic 18th century old colonial house, around a cool and leafy patio with inviting hammocks. Self service tropical fruit breakfast with variety of jams, juices, breads and eggs wich make your delight. Hot showers, cable tv, travel info. Beutiful tame tucans in a safe and calm ecological enviorment. English speaking staff willing to guide and help you!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing