We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My favorite home away from home”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been staying in Los Tajibos since I was a kid so that can tell you that this hotel has been arround for a while.

Regarding infraestructure rooms are the traditional Holiday Inn room, not a boutique hotel or anything too fancy, but with all the conforts needed. You can get rooms next to the pool on the first floor that have a direct access to it thru a sliding window, on the second floor that have a nice view or on one of the patios. Tip, pool rooms are cool but in weekends they can be noisy sometimes. Also try to avoid being near the convention center as parties in weekends gather quite a lot of people there. The hotel has a small spa.

Events. Service and infraestructure ca accomodate allmost anything from a small meeting to a wedding with 500 people or even a reasonable size fair (the hotel hosts for instance the Information Technology fair of Santa Cruz in the Conquistador Convention Center).

Service. Excellent all arround the ammount of personel that work in the hotel has agreat ratio, and when there is a problem they sort it out pretty fast. Has direct acces to Jardin de Asia (reviewed separately) and another restaurant close to the pool.

Travelling with kids. The hotel has lots pf space for them to play safely, a pool refurbished last year, tennis court, a small bird zoo (there is a peacock in the garden) and a small green. Kids will enjoy it for sure.

The hotel is very well located, plus most people will happily agree to meet you in the hotel if you tell them you are staying there (that is not true for other major hotels in Santa Cruz). Close to a street with restaurants and with easy access by taxi to most attractions, comercial and dining areas.

Room Tip: If you want a view, the pool, if you want peace and quiet the back part, past the door of the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meurquidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    184
    50
    15
    8
See reviews for
79
58
23
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very nice place, wonderfull grounds that are a pleasure to roam around in, wonderful pool and dining area that is open to the breeze. The Qeen of Spain is here at the moment so the hotel is polished, there are many new flowers planted since we stayed here 3 weeks ago. Most rooms have lovely views. I looked at most of the other 5 star hotels in Santa Cruz and feel this is the best, not downtown , but in an area of many fine restarants and only 20 minits to downtown.

Room Tip: A view of the garden was nice, room 259 was very nice but know there are better, but with the Qeen h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz , Bolivia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This Hotel had a major renovation since it was opened, The hotel was already a landmark in Bolivia, the service is great, the food , specially in the Japanese restaurant Jardin de Asia, is just outstanding, In my personal opinion the best rooms in the whole hotel are the 101 and the 102 . because they are in the pool side, freshly refurbished and bigger than the others. Breakfast is just amazing , you ca go to the Buffet or order it to your room for just 10 bs (1.5 dollars)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valley2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itapema, SC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel!! Such a great room, breakfast, desk service.. The only bad thing is that the Wireless Internet signal did not reach my room.. so I had to go to reception every time I wanted the internet signal..

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the Pool Side.. just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinhobooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This first-class hotel was a stunning introduction to Bolivia. It is situated in extensive grounds and designed in late-colonial sumptuous style around a large illuminated swimming pool lined with colonnades and palm trees and an ornamental pools well stocked with a range of gold fish. The bedroom was spacious, lavish and with a private balcony. The buffet breakfast was lavish and varied, with an omelette chef ready to prepare your individual dish with a variety of different fillings. The evening meal was delicious mouth-watering succulent steak in a rich sauce. Staff were helpful and friendly with a good understanding of spoken English. This hotel provided an outstanding entry point to Bolivia and we later found that other hotels in the country aspire to Los Tajibos as the gold standard to which they aspire.

Hotel booked by Journey Latin America, London

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After spending a week in La Paz, I went to Santa Cruz for some more meetings. As I did when I lived in Bolivia, I stayed in Los Tajibos. The feeling of relax and luxury is wonderful and the restaurant and pool area is fantastic. In fact, the pool has been improved since 2003 - now is much larger and beautiful. The rooms have not changed a lot in the last 8-9 years but they are still quite good. The buffet bar is incredible, with one of the best ceviches you can try in Bolivia. Very good value for money. The staff is superb - extremely helpful. For me, there is no doubt, every time I go to Santa Cruz, Los Tajibos is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mateo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I usually hate places like this, but the combination of laid-back luxury and friendly staff put me at ease.... Lovely gardens and gorgeous swimming pool, but make sure you get a quiet room away from the main road and from the pool! Good restaurant with lovely breakfast and lunch buffets - at weekends with lots of locals, although eveniing a la carte choices a little boring....

Room Tip: Away from pool and main road!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Camino Real Hotel
Camino Real Hotel
#2 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
#5 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#4 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Santa Cruz / Equipetrol, Bolivia
1.8 mi away
Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Ave San Martin 455, Barrio Equipetrol, Santa Cruz 2966, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel comprising 2- & 3-story buildings, situated on 15 acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tajibos Hotel Santa Cruz
Los Tajibos Hotel And Convention Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing