We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware..."little scams" at Hotel Camino Real, Santa Cruz, Bolivia”
Review of Camino Real Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I checked in at Hotel Camino Real, Sta. Cruz, Bolivia on Saturday May 18th. When doing the reservations for two rooms, and because was my first time in Sta. Cruz, late arrival, etc. I asked them to arrange for a taxi/vehicle to wait for us at the airport.

I worked fine. When leaving, I asked again for same service and the person the reception office, says to me.... better if you go outside and take a taxi (were several parked there), because a taxi will cost you Bo (Bolivianos) 70.- to the Airport.
But if you do thru the hotel will cost you Bo 65.- per person !! Same what you pay upon arrival.
I said, why to pay per person, you pay per car ??? What if I'm with my wife ?
He said, doesn't matter, we charge per person (without telling at moment of ordering for the first time).
We took a taxi from the outside and I asked the driver if the charges per person or per ride and he said, that he hear this complains before. They (taxi) charge per ride, but the hotel charges per persona and keep the money for them.

So next time that you go to beautiful Santa Cruz, take a cab at the airport (well indicated and organized) and avoid the "little" scam from Hotel Camino Real.

Leonardo Cusnir

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leonardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate taking the time to write a review, the opinion of our customers is very valuable for the development and improvement of our services.

The information that our receptionists gave you is correct, the policy is to charge for each person and not by taxi for the transport service Hotel-Airport-Hotel. The information from the transport possibilities was presented with full transparency for you to decide which suits you best, at no time, in more than 35 years as Hospitality Chain, we tried to fool our guests and customers.

We wish to clarify that the cost of our transport service is due to the payment of taxes, fees payment via credit card and especially for the safety to offer our customers personnel and vehicles guaranteed (Individual driver Register, Car Register and guarantors), conditions that the free transport service in the city does not offer.

We hope had offered you information that better explain this misunderstanding, we are open to serve you in the best way on your next visit to our beloved city.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 616 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very disappointing stay.Although the rooms are large and the pool area is nice,the service is awful and the noise of the hotel is unberable.
When I checked in I noticed a small bottle of water in the bathroom,which was supposed to be a courtesy one,but when I asked more in the night I figured out that they were complimentary too.What a mistake,I was charged for them!!!
I stayed one night long,and I barely slept.There were a bunch of men screaming,slamming doors,dragging the furniture.I complaint twice calling the front desk,and nothing was done.Two hours fighting to have a good night sleep I called for the third time and a front desk employee told me that they were supposed to cut the power of the room if they didn`t quit.What kind of hotel is it that there`s no security to keep the quieteness deserved for the guests???

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guest:

We appreciate your comments and we are very sorry that your stay was not pleasant, about in those days we had hosted musical group who participated in a local festival, unfortunately these guests had inappropriate behavior. We contacted the organizer to report complaints we had.

About the water bottle placed in the bathroom we usually give this to oral use and is replenished daily.

Please be assured that all comments you gave us were evaluated in a Committee of Quality ( performed with all the department heads), for which we assure you that if you pleased us whit your preference in your next visit to our city, your ​​stay with us will be pleasant.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any query or requeriment that you may have.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is one of the top hotels in Santa Cruz Bolivia according to a local, however it is not up to par with 4 and 5 star hotels I use in the United States.
The staff is excellent and attentive. Food is decent and fresh. The property is getting old and has not kept up on all repairs. I was surprised that tiles that was broken in the bathroom during my last stay 2 years ago were still broken! They are in the process of building a new separate hotel building on same property and that is why I think they are not doing any needed repairs on the existing building.
Lots of small ants observed in bathroom, my local friend said that is normal for Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Wait until the new building is completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InvisibleSecretAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate you disposed your time to send us your comments and suggestions, which we value and have taken into consideration.

Indeed, we are doing expansion work of new and modern facilities; and we are confident that with this we can adapt more to the needs of our customers.

After completing this work, we will begin the process of updating and improving our existing rooms.

Again, thanks for your comments and concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Huge Room, comfy bed which meant good sleep! Complimentary wifi (internet speed could be better) and decent work desk, as well as separate round table and two seats.

Bathroom is good size, albeit slightly outdated.

Pool is just fantastic for R&R - massive pool with a slide, waterfalls, and even a pool bar - you may order cocktails or an ice cream sat AT the bar on stone bar stools in the pool.

Breakfast buffet spread is fantastic and not to be missed.

Mall under construction across the road, which will be useful once its up.

Room Tip: Pool Level (Lower Ground) means you can walk straight out to the pool deck, although there are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaijaBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear guest:

We really appreciate your opinion and suggestions, this motives us to keep improving.

On the other hand please let us inform you that soon we will openning our new facilities, equipped with latest technology and very modern. Hope to have you again in our hotel to enjoy them.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We picked this hotel on the basis of recommendations on TripAdvisor. There is a laptop in every room. Very impressive in and out; wish we could have stayed longer. Prices are very reasonable, we thought. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We certantly hope to have you here in your next visit to Santa Cruz city.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It is good hotel but it is in middle of nowhere. Rooms are clean and comfortable but this is definitely not a 5 star hotel.
Pool area is very nice at first but it is very noisy as the main road is just outside of the walls.
Spa (sauna) is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the the San Martin Av. are actually much more quite than the ones facing the pool. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NayiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had a very good stay here. In fact the best stay I've ever had in a hotel. The reason why I didn't give 5 stars was because there were some cons but it was a close thing.
The cons are as follows:
-Air conditioning wasn't strong enough to beat the scorching summer heat resulting in a very humid and HOT room (a major minus) I told the front desk about it, but it was still that way
-There were ants in my bed
-Beds were kind of flat...but at least not rock hard. It had SOME padding on it.
-The pool smelled and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while
-The jacuzzi was weak

The major plus is the great attitude everywhere. Instead of avoiding us like they do in practically all the hotels (I work in one, so I know! I do it too!) they looked straight at me and smiled. They didn't seem bothered by questions they've probably heard a million times. The food from the restaurant was excellent. I highly recommend the silpancho and soups. My fmily and I transferred from this horrible hotel ( I think it was called hotel de pais) and the door didn't even work over there. This was much better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pledez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
#4 of 50 in Santa Cruz
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 50 in Santa Cruz
294 reviews
2.2 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#10 of 50 in Santa Cruz
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Santa Cruz / Equipetrol, Bolivia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Hotel

Address: Av. San Martin y 4to. Anillo | Equipetrol Norte, Santa Cruz 2130, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Hotel offers the best location northwest of Santa Cruz de la Sierra in one of the most exclusive areas of the city, 5 minutes from downtown and only 10 minutes from the international airport ViruViru.A set of services, lounges, first class cuisine, entertainment and business center meet the most demanding needs of the current executive.Camino Real Hotel offers luxurious and spacious rooms and suites, furnished with Filipino exotically, landscaped balconies overlooking our lush gardens and a spectacular swimming pool combined with a complete professional and Spa, and the dedication of personalized service provided to guest a unique experience of pleasure, luxury and comfort.ROOMSIn Hotel Camino Real, we have modern and luxurious facilities in order to provide the best comfort during your stay. Each room type offers special details in the best category of rooms in the city.All rooms have:• Wireless Internet (free of charge).• LCD 32 'TV with cable.• Fire protection system under international standards.• Eco Friendly Program care environment.• Windows and doors with soundproofing between rooms and outside.• Heating and Air Conditioning in bedrooms and bathroom.• Module working executive.• Digital Safe.• Minibar.• Clock Radio.• Telephone with voicemail multilingual.• Voltage 220 and adapters.Additionally each room has the following features:SIMPLE LUXURY 32 m2: Room with one king bed, spacious and overlooking the gardens.LUXURY DOUBLE 32 m2: Room with two queen beds, ideal for group travel or vacation.SUITE 44 m2: Large suite with a king bed, living, walking closet and fine decoration.ROYAL SUITE 52 m2: king suites, two-room apartment with living room, whirlpool, walking closet and style.THE RESTAURANT AND BARS TRANQUERARestaurant "La Tranquera" with his specialty of grilled meats, invites you to enjoy a varied international menu and country where you can enjoy delicious flavors and more than 121 specialties that we are sure will please the most discerning palate.Suggestions from our menu includes a tempting selection of dishes and salad bar, along with a variety of delicious desserts that give the final touch to an unforgettable evening.To start off your day with our breakfast buffet variety of fruits, juices station, cereals, selection of breads, fine pastries and cakes typical of Bolivia, among other delights that accompany the buffet.• Coffee Bar "Irupe": In the lobby of the hotel.• "Tapeque Bar": In our pool.EVENTSWe create events that cross the boundaries of the imagination, in a shared commitment that we want to celebrate with you.We offer a service of distinguished events by providing 6 meeting rooms with capacities of 10 to 700 people which are exquisitely decorated, air conditioned, acoustically isolated, adequate lighting and vestibules for Coffee Break Service or other.Create new dining options Novo Bolivian and international first level accompanied by an advisory service and professional equipment ensure class a memorable experience.Our metting rooms offer you the following equipment:• Drink high level.• Professional services of waiters.• Multimedia Team.• Ongoing technical assistance.• Internet ADSL and Wi-Fi.• Sound System.• Podium with microphone.• Wireless Microphones.• Microphones tie.• Whiteboard.• Data show.• Flipchart.• TV and DVD.• Telephone and fax.• Photocopying service.• Simultaneous translationTaruma HEALTH CLUBTo stay in shape, relax and enjoy our full fun "Taruma Health Club" that has:• Swimming pool with giant slide (closed from June 1st to August 1st for maintenance period), whirlpool and wet bar.• Dry Sauna and Steam.• Gymnasium with changing rooms, showers and whirlpool family.• Massage room with relaxing treatments and facials.• Playground.From Monday to Sunday from 06:30 to 23:00.Taruma Health Club is formed by a team of experienced and certified professionals in different areas of the image, health and beauty, allowing us to offer various services with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camino Real Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing