We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with this hotel”
Review of Camino Real Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed st Camino Real Hotel in March of 2012. The staff was friendly and the hotel comfortable and clean. The restaurant had a good selection and the menus are Spanish and English. The internet is spotty in the rooms but much better in the lobby. The staff made sure we knew how to get safe transportation and gave great estimates on how much we should expect to pay for things.The pool looked clean and inviting. Sadly I did not have a chance to go in! The rooms are a bit humid but it's very hot so that's to be expected. Later at night it was hard to find bottled water so I would suggest buying extra bottles during the day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciajo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Luis H, Director Comercial at Camino Real Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Madam:

Thank you for your comments all your suggestions will be analyze in our Quality Meetings that we have every week, your feedback help us to reach for highest levels of quality in our service.

We hope to have you en Hotel Camino Real the next time you’re in Santa Cruz.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 589 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed a week at the Camino Real while in Santa Cruz for business. The hotel is comfortable and the food is excellent in the resturant. The service is a bit slow at dinner but the staff was all friendly and helpful. As I did not speak any Spanish, they were very understanding and helpful.
I would warn folks to not walk around the hotel and take taxis even if you are going only 1 to 2 blocks away. Two of my peers were robbed within a block of the hotel by supposedly policemen. Very unsettling even after we were told it was safe to walk to the little grocery store close by.
You also need to keep your air conditioner on to keep the mosquitos away.
The pool area was very nice looking, did not use it as it rained most of the time I was there.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the right wing of the hotel as they are building a new building next door and it is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dew-s02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at the Camino Real. There´s nothing to complain about, just a little too pricey for me at $160 a night (Expedia has rooms for $129, and the hotel will give you a King when you ask for it instead of the twin).

The rooms were nice, although the bathrooms were a bit older. But everything was functional.

They give you coupons for a free drink when you check in. Minibar prices are fair and they had bug repellent for $1.50 in every room with a card telling you when the bugs are out--good thinking management!!!

Room service prices are VERY FAIR and food is available 24 hours and is pretty tasty. The only thing I didn´t like is they don´t give you the invoice so you can´t add a tip to the waiter on the bill.

The front desk staff were very fair and kind enough to give me a 4 p.m. checkout since we checked in late. Because of this, I chose to stay a second night. They also resolved a problem with my bill (watch the phone, it bills you when you don´t connect).

Pool is lovely and big enough. Very nice.

Nothing bad to say about the place. It´s location is kind of a bit off the path, but that´ll change when/if they complete the mall across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very confy and large space in my room - the hotel is well located (food is good and the service was also very friendly)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArturoQuito_Ecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Camino real is really two hotels in one. The west wing faces the busy ring road and the sunset. It heats up in the afternoon and the air con is no match for the sun. Night rolls around and it is time for street racing ATVs, which are apparently street legal here. Then at 4 am I get into an argument with the waitstaff who is insisting I ordered room service. Not conducive for sleeping. 2 stars for the west wing.
The east wing faces a tranquil residential area and is cool and quiet. I don't know if they have argumentative waitstaff over there, it was booked solid. The fourth floor is entirely non-smoking, which is a nice reprieve in Bolivia where tobacco smoke is omnipresent. 4 stars for the east wing.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I know all the hotels in the city of Santa Cruz, Bolivia. The majority all have purchased 5 stars and hung them by their sign identifiyin them as a Five Star Hotel. Trust me, NONE OF THEM ARE! But this hotel is about as close to a 4 Star as one can get and pretty darn nice considering. Has great outside grounds and pool with gym, and a fantastic restaurant that is all you can eat for $15 including steak cooked to your liking.
The rooms are decent and clean and well appointed, as well as just about everything else. They are currently building a new tower wing and it will truly be the only 5 Star facility in the city when it is completed by Spring 2013. Location of the hotel is right directly across the street of a the largest shopping mall in Bolivia. It is still under construction and due to open in early 2014.
Taxies in Santa Cruz are the only way to get around but they will over charge you if you let them. $1 to $2 will get you to most places so dont over pay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Camino real's a beautiful hotel with great pool, lovely breakfast and comfortable and nicely decorated rooms. There were a few things that let it down however - the staff wouldn't check if you were in your room before coming in to turn down beds, so I had one of the maids walk in when I was just out of the shower! I also got a mysterious wake-up call which I hadn't requested one of the days I was there. It's also pretty far from the town centre so not ideal for sight-seeing. There are also a load of incredibly loud parrots which appear mornings and evenings, and the novelty wore off pretty quickly after their squawking for a while!

Overall through it's good value for what it is - not as top end as they'd have you believe but comfortable, clean, nice pool, nice restaurant, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
#4 of 50 in Santa Cruz
144 reviews
2.2 mi away
Buganvillas Hotel Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 50 in Santa Cruz
293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#5 of 50 in Santa Cruz
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Premium Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Hotel

Address: Av. San Martin y 4to. Anillo | Equipetrol Norte, Santa Cruz 2130, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $127 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Hotel offers the best location northwest of Santa Cruz de la Sierra in one of the most exclusive areas of the city, 5 minutes from downtown and only 10 minutes from the international airport ViruViru.A set of services, lounges, first class cuisine, entertainment and business center meet the most demanding needs of the current executive.Camino Real Hotel offers luxurious and spacious rooms and suites, furnished with Filipino exotically, landscaped balconies overlooking our lush gardens and a spectacular swimming pool combined with a complete professional and Spa, and the dedication of personalized service provided to guest a unique experience of pleasure, luxury and comfort.ROOMSIn Hotel Camino Real, we have modern and luxurious facilities in order to provide the best comfort during your stay. Each room type offers special details in the best category of rooms in the city.All rooms have:• Wireless Internet (free of charge).• LCD 32 'TV with cable.• Fire protection system under international standards.• Eco Friendly Program care environment.• Windows and doors with soundproofing between rooms and outside.• Heating and Air Conditioning in bedrooms and bathroom.• Module working executive.• Digital Safe.• Minibar.• Clock Radio.• Telephone with voicemail multilingual.• Voltage 220 and adapters.Additionally each room has the following features:SIMPLE LUXURY 32 m2: Room with one king bed, spacious and overlooking the gardens.LUXURY DOUBLE 32 m2: Room with two queen beds, ideal for group travel or vacation.SUITE 44 m2: Large suite with a king bed, living, walking closet and fine decoration.ROYAL SUITE 52 m2: king suites, two-room apartment with living room, whirlpool, walking closet and style.THE RESTAURANT AND BARS TRANQUERARestaurant "La Tranquera" with his specialty of grilled meats, invites you to enjoy a varied international menu and country where you can enjoy delicious flavors and more than 121 specialties that we are sure will please the most discerning palate.Suggestions from our menu includes a tempting selection of dishes and salad bar, along with a variety of delicious desserts that give the final touch to an unforgettable evening.To start off your day with our breakfast buffet variety of fruits, juices station, cereals, selection of breads, fine pastries and cakes typical of Bolivia, among other delights that accompany the buffet.• Coffee Bar "Irupe": In the lobby of the hotel.• "Tapeque Bar": In our pool.EVENTSWe create events that cross the boundaries of the imagination, in a shared commitment that we want to celebrate with you.We offer a service of distinguished events by providing 6 meeting rooms with capacities of 10 to 700 people which are exquisitely decorated, air conditioned, acoustically isolated, adequate lighting and vestibules for Coffee Break Service or other.Create new dining options Novo Bolivian and international first level accompanied by an advisory service and professional equipment ensure class a memorable experience.Our metting rooms offer you the following equipment:• Drink high level.• Professional services of waiters.• Multimedia Team.• Ongoing technical assistance.• Internet ADSL and Wi-Fi.• Sound System.• Podium with microphone.• Wireless Microphones.• Microphones tie.• Whiteboard.• Data show.• Flipchart.• TV and DVD.• Telephone and fax.• Photocopying service.• Simultaneous translationTaruma HEALTH CLUBTo stay in shape, relax and enjoy our full fun "Taruma Health Club" that has:• Swimming pool with giant slide (closed from June 1st to August 1st for maintenance period), whirlpool and wet bar.• Dry Sauna and Steam.• Gymnasium with changing rooms, showers and whirlpool family.• Massage room with relaxing treatments and facials.• Playground.From Monday to Sunday from 06:30 to 23:00.Taruma Health Club is formed by a team of experienced and certified professionals in different areas of the image, health and beauty, allowing us to offer various services with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing