We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and convenient”
Review of Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Hotel
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed in Sun hotel three times already for overnight connection, the hotel is clean, nice environment and good food. The location is an advantage as is located just near to the airport and makes it ideal for overnight stay in case of flight connection. As the hotel is also 15 minutes form SantaCruz (driving) makes also a good choice if you want to stay in a nice hotel for a couple of days and be able to go around Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 154 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the airport , since we only had one night lay over. It certainly exceeded all expectation, and I can not beieive some of the description in trip advisor that it is the same hotel. We were met at the airport and driven to the hotel which is very close. The reception was very quick, and the lobby spacious and furnished with good taste. The room was huge, clean, with a balcony overlooking a large and beautiful pool area. This was one of the largest hotel rooms I have stayed in. It was very clean. There was a musty smell in the bathroom, which may be unavoidable in a tropical area. Spraying with some detergent would help. There were two double beds per room and they were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, with large selection of meats and cheese, waffles, fruit salad and eggs to order. This was included in the price of the room. Dinner was served in a large dining room with a view of the pool. The food was O.K., nothing special, and overpriced for Bolivia.
Everyone was very courteous and helpful, and the service back to the airport was very punctual. This was one of the better hotels I have stayed in, and I am sorry it was only for one night. The price is a little high by Bolivian standards but not by US prices.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor, which had a balcony, but not direct access to the p0ol. Room was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are a young couple and have stayed in this hotel for four days. The transfer from and to the airport was courtesy of the hotel, which was nice. Transfer towards Santa Cruz (25-35 minutes) is included going back is to be done on your own (price is about 6 EUR one way). The rooms are spacious, clean and all kind of room service is possible. The pool is very big and nice. The jacuzzi or sauna can be used for free (which we did not do). The breakfast is fairly well done. There were no children so it was very easy to chill and to rest. The hotel is mainly visited by crews of airline companies, business people and honeymooners.
Possible improvements:
- The breakfast area does not allow daylight, which is a bit odd in the morning (breakfast in the room could be an alternative)
- The kitchen for lunch and dinner would receive 80% for service but only 50% for the food, unfortunately. The bread of the sandwiches and pizza was not fresh, tenderloin steaks tasted, the pasta was quite tasteless, the lasagna had some ketchup on top and was not a winner. It would be good if they contracted a local restaurant to guarantee great food, as there are great restaurants in Santa Cruz (Michelangelo's for instance, which is in the same price range as the hotel's kitchen).
- A new annex is being built, causing the garden and pool being polluted by styrofoam balls. These have been there without being cleaned up properly.
- The volleyball field should be taken out of the description as it is not there.
- The fitness has no spinning bike and only one treadmill. Having a second treadmill would allow couples to run together. Water is available which was nice.
- Internet is available literally on every square meter of the hotel, which was great. However the internet was fast enough to check email but to slow to play a youtube video for instance.
- It would be good that tours could be booked from the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with garden view allow you to sit outside and go straight into the pool. This was nicer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simpson1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I work for an airline, and this is the hotel where the Company has us stay on our layovers. The hotel is very, very close to the airport which I feel is a major plus! But, it is not so close that you are annoyed by airplane noise. The hotel itself seems to need work (mostly cosmetic) in some areas, but during my many stays here over the past two months they have been working on the place and doing maintenance.

The staff is EXCELLENT! They are all very nice and pleasant. The food is pretty good too, at least in my opinion.

I love the pool area! The lounge chairs at the pool could use some cushions though, as they are solid wood and can become uncomfortable after a short time.

There are scheduled shuttles to take you into town, but you must get a taxi back to the hotel. Even so, it is not all that expensive, especially if you are in a group and can share the taxi fare.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the pool. The second floor rooms all have balconies. I prefer a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinViars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Plaster following off walls. Mold is very bad in all rooms including dinning areas. You pay for a bucket of ice. Spray your bed down with Lysol. You are better off sleeping on bench at airport or in you car.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slm1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Hotel G, Gerente at Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado señor agradecemos su comentario y siguiendo nuestra política de mejora continua, procederemos a verificar sus observaciónes y de ser así, se corregirá la misma y se sancionara a la persona responsable.

gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I passed there just because the Hertz car rental office is located in the hotel. So i will only speak of the restaurant i tested back from the deep Andes.
Very well located a couple of km in front the airport without the noise. A bit surprise discovering such hotel in the middle of nowhere.
A very good service, but normal for such hotel class, even limited if you consider that the reception is not really english aware ...
I had a couple of hours before my flight, so i decided to have a look to the restaurant menu even if it was not at all my expected class of lunch. The 145bs menu has had reason of my fears.
Seated in a nice place, in front the picsine, the green land behind with a five stars service and good wifi, so, what else?
More or less classical main courses but in a very well manner, without the over fat usual side. My ordered piece of meat was amazingly coverering all my plate! In fact the meat was faconned 'Tender steack' like down to a crepe.
Side course was authentic papas fritas with a marvelous perfumed rice. Even my beer was served in a bowl of ice like a white grand cru.
Again, as a French guy, i will not tell a lost about the postres. I stayed classical with the fruit assortment, and it was a good choice. Good and varied, as requested.
Would be happy to stay more in this nice place.

Room Tip: I you need anything just address the groom/Hello boy or similar, he will know! For a car rental, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolob2bFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The service at The hotel was great only The Restaurant served some kind of rice with vinager which could not be eaten. The rest was fantastic, we even got a piece of cake for The birthday celebration for free.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Terranova Suites
Hotel Terranova Suites
#19 of 50 in Santa Cruz
63 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 50 in Santa Cruz
294 reviews
7.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
#4 of 50 in Santa Cruz
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Camino Real Hotel
Camino Real Hotel
#1 of 50 in Santa Cruz
617 reviews
8.9 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#9 of 50 in Santa Cruz
302 reviews
7.9 mi away
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel

Address: Av. Banzer Frente a Viru Viru | P.O. Box. 539, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $102 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing