We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Responsive, flexible, well executed

Ruta Verde were excellent. Very responsive during the planning stages, i don't think i ever waited... read more

Reviewed today
Cyba
,
London
Super Trip with Ruta Verde!

At the end of October 2019 we made the 4-day Salar de Uyuni tour with Ruta Verde. We had already... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
708theot
Read all 271 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Santa Cruz
from $143.59
More Info
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
232
24
10
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
232
24
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tayka hotels san pedro salt hotel salt flats private tour hot water an english speaking guide chilli day tour safe driver luna salada three days excellent driver booking process careful driver bolivian border horror stories
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

At the end of October 2019 we made the 4-day Salar de Uyuni tour with Ruta Verde. We had already booked this tour months before. From the first moment, the contact with Gijs was very pleasant and he responded directly to emails and thought along well with our questions. And from the moment we were picked up at our hotel in San Pedro de Atacama, up to and including the moment we were dropped off there, everything was arranged perfectly. We greatly enjoyed our Bolivia trip. What beautiful landscapes! The nature was overwhelming, the accommodations super, the food delicious. And José was such a nice driver and guide! He was pleasant, he knew a lot and had a solution for everything. A real recommendation!
Thank you very much for everything. It was very worthwhile

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank 708theot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutaVerde, Owner at Ruta Verde Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Aline and Theo, thank you for your review. It has been our pleasure to arrange your trip to the salt flats.
Hartelijk dank!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were a group of 4 people and took a tour of 4 days with Ruta Verde visiting Salar de Uyuni area. It was incredible!! To know such amazing sites in Bolivia was a great surprise! The lanscape is fantastic!! And everything was perfect! Diego, our driver and guide was such a nice guy, very professional and always trying to do his best efforts to make the trip really wonderful! We enjoyed all moments and this trip will be forever in our hearts!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank MonicaNogueira1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutaVerde, General Manager at Ruta Verde Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Monica, thank you for your kind words. We will forward your compliments to Diego. Our best wishes to you, Petronio and rest of the group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Unforgettable tour, the highlight during our stay in Bolivia. We booked a 3 days tour with Ruta Verde and we absolutely loved it, what a wonderful experience! We enjoyed the most amazing landscapes! out of this world! We had the whole car for ourselves, very comfortable and impecable. We stayed in Salada Salt Hotel (wow!!) and the more rustic Desert Hotel. We felt very comfortable with Rodrigo, he is a great driver and a very helpful nice guy, he took such good care of us! All the booking process with the agency went smoothly (thanks Maria!). This trip was in our bucket list for a while, we are very happy with the services of this company, muito obrigada Ruta Verde Tours and highly recommended!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank amandar224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutaVerde, General Manager at Ruta Verde Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Olá Amanda, thank you for your kind words. We will forward your compliments to Diego. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

We booked the 3D/2N private tour from Uyuni to San Pedro and loved every second. Comfortable car with very professional and fun driver. Rodrigo explained about the surroundings, stopped at the right spots, catered a perfect lunch and took awesome pictures of us.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 94janm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutaVerde, Owner at Ruta Verde Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jan and Martina, thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed the tour. We love your instagram posts :) Hartelijk dank!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

What a rip-off! I booked San Pedro round trip to Uyuni with this tour company about 2.5 months ago. After spending a month in South America, through Colombia, Argentina , and Chile, I grew worried that I had severely been scammed. And man was I right. We did the 3D/2N private tour package for $2567 USD (2 ppl). We upgraded to nicer accomodations , but clearly didn't realize that all you are paying for is a private driver. Once we got to Atacama, we realized how much we had over paid. Identical itineraries sold in Atacama for this tour were $125,000 Chilean pesos ($155 USD). So we paid nearly ten fold for a private ride and better room. To top it off, the private ride wasn't great, we were picked up in an uncomfortable 20 person shuttle van for the two of us to the border (the first seat I sat in was broken). Once at the border, we had read previous reviews that you get a really nice Lexus. HA! It was a Toyota with a Lexus decal glued on the truck. We looked around to notice other people's tour guides were helpful, and spoke English . Where as ours was simply just a driver, and an English one came at a cost of $385 more, so thankful they didn't get more out of us. With such a high price tag, one would expect entrance fees to be included... Nope. When I had booked the tour, I had asked if it was possible to be dropped off at Calama airport instead of San Pedro to Atacama to make our flight, a 1.25 hour addition ride. Gifs said the additional cost was $95 per person, when we arrived at the airport before taking this tour, the taxi was $45,000 ($55 USD). He was going to charge 4 times more than the cost of a private taxi.

Bolivia is quite a bit cheaper than Chile, which makes the price even more appalling. Save yourself the money and book a regular tour in town for a much cheaper price tag, everyone is doing the same route, and the communal vans looked equally as comfortable as our transportation (and in the case of Atacama to the border... It was exactly the same).

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank 855diannea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutaVerde, Director General at Ruta Verde Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2019

Dear Dianne, thank you for your review. To be honest we are quite surprised by your message as we have been in contact after you decided to abort a trip that barely started (you only completed the transfer from your hotel in San Pedro to the Bolivian border). You booked a 3 days / 2 nights trip with us from San Pedro (Chile) to the Bolivian Salt flats and back to San Pedro. The trip included private transport (just the 2 of you in the car) and the best hotels in the area with your own private room. Such a private tour obviously comes with a different price tag than a group tour where up to 5-6 persons share 1 car and sleep in dorms in basic hostels/shacks. If you make a fair comparison you will see that the price we manage for this trip is a competetive one! And the feedback we get on this trip (from people who actually do the trip) is very positive.
As we pointed out in our email correspondence, you could obtain the VISA for Bolivia at the border paying a fee and showing some paperwork (on a side note, currently US citizens do not need a special VISA anymore to enter Bolivia). However, you did not have anything prepared when the border officer asked for your papers. You got nervous when the border officer got upset because of this and then decided to cancel the whole trip and ask for a refund, even though the driver helped you out and permission was given to continue the trip. We even managed to get some money back for you when it was your own decision to abort a trip everything had been arranged and paid for already. Although we find it awkward reading this comment about a trip you barely started, we sincerely hope that you enjoyed your time in South America.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews