We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for your trip in Salar de Uyuni”
Review of Ruta Verde Tours

Ruta Verde Tours
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Desio, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A good choice for your trip in Salar de Uyuni”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my husband decided to make a 3 days trip in Salar de Uyuni, with Ruta Verde. A guide (spanish speaking) picked us up at our hotel in Uyuni with a 4x4. The tour was excellent : Salar de Uyuni, Laguna Verde, Laguna Colorada, Aguas Termales de Polques just to named the main places visited. The car was in good condition and the guide (Juan) was nice, very professional and always with us. We spent 2 nights in Hotel de Sal and Hotel de Desierto, very good hotels. We enjoyed the nature, the company and all the places we saw.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Marianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    14
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Minimise the discomforts”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A great choice for the Salt Flats! They are more expensive but in this remote part of the world, moments of discomfort are written into the experience and Rute verde minimises these discomforts by using good vehichles, the best available accom and safe drivers. We had David, who was excellent, very professional! There are some Dali-esque landscapes in this region, and the photos you've all been scouring won't prepare you for the stunning reality, trust me. Enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank martinc74255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Uyuni to San Pedro - across the Salar”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Unlike many who have been before, i did a general web search for a 3 day Uyuni to San Pedro trip including Salar de Uyuni. Ruta Verde was our choice and we were not dissappointed. I then looked on Trip Advisor and found that many others had had a great experience with them as well. Gijs Dijkshoorn was very reliable, helpful, and reponsive.on email. He looked after a number of small issues for us with other local Bolivian travel companies. David (driver) and Abel (translator) picked us up at our Uyuni hotel on time, and looked after us for the next 3 days. They are an excellent team, and at all stages of the trip we felt very comfortable in their company. They stopped where ever we wanted, they had lunch ready every day when we wanted and they added bits and peices to the trip when they found out our interests...and a few nice touches like a bottle of wine, chees and crackers on the Salar as the sun was setting...very special. Accommodation was what we expectedat... Hotel del Sal and the Desert Hotel. Standard dinner with optional drinks, average breakfasts, showers the night you arrive as there is no hot water at 8am, but the beds were so warm and comfortable! The sights of Salar de Uyuni and the Bolivian desert are something to behold. Many thanks to Ruta Verde, Gijs, David and Able for making the end of our 3 weeks in Peru and Bolivia the highlight...we cannot recommend them highly enough.

Andrew and Chris Wells / New Zealand

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Salar de Uyuni with Ruta Verde Tours”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After reading heaps of reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to book a tour (from home) with Ruta Verde as they only had excellent reviews. Even though it is a more pricy option we were very happy with our choice. After arrival with the bus from La Paz, we were picked up at the bus terminal and had time to get a quick breakfast before departure. We don’t speak Spanish, but chose not to book an English speaking guide as this is primarily a scenic tour. With help from a parlor and body language it was absolutely no problem. Our guide was very enthusiastic and flexible to tailor the itinerary towards our wishes.

The food was good based on what you can expect in the middle of nowhere. Generally, it seemed to be better compared to what other tours had. The hotels were primitive, but clean. We only had private rooms with toilet.

We used Todo turismo to get to and from La Paz, which I unfortunately cannot recommend. On both ways we had to change busses due to technical problems. We only got blankets and pillows in one of the busses and the busses are much worn.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank StineRonholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“San pedro - Salt flats - San pedro”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent organisation
We returned last week form a 4 day 3 night trip with Ruta Verde from San Pedro in Chile to Salar and back and had a tremendous time.
We spoke Spanish and so only had a driver/guide - Jose - who was excellent.
The vehicle was in very good order and everything went well.

We were staggered by things to see in the park and the areas leading up to the Salar and could have spent much longer exploring deserted villages and old farming methods.
The salar was mind blowing, totally unbelievable.

I would strongly recommend Ruta Verde and they were actually cheaper than the price we were quoted from organisations in San Pedro

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruta Verde Tours also viewed

Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
 
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
 

Been to Ruta Verde Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing