We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senses Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Senses hotel is affordable yet high-quality hotel. We paid 60 dollars per night for a two person room with a king-size bed and a nice view from the window.

Location is great. The hotel is located right in the main square, which is handy since you don't want to walk far away from the city center in the evening.

Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, though most of them don't speak that good English.

The breakfest is very nice. Extra plus for a funny chef who cooks eggs according to your wishes. There's also a pool in the roof, where they serve food and drinks.

With minor tweaks the hotel could be perfect. It's in need of a handyman. Many details (lamp covers, baseboards,...) were worn-out.

Room Tip: You might want to wish for a room in the top floors, because the downstairs restaurant is quite nois...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENSES BOUTIQU... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Senses Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped

Nos sentimos complacidos al saber que tuvo una satisfactoria estadía, y que nuestros servicios cumplieron sus expectativas.
Hacerle saber que cada día seguimos innovando nuestros servicios, nuestro objetivo es ofrecerle experiencias inolvidables a nuestros huéspedes.

Saludos Atentos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Senses Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 280 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

Senses Boutique Hotel has all of the right ingredients, but just not the best cooks in the kitchen. Overall, I enjoyed my stay, but with some tweaks, the place could be outstanding.

First of all, we went to Senses while staying at the LP Santa Cruz. The guy working the desk told us he only had one double room available on the night we were requesting and that the "large" double would be $200/night. Thankfully, having read other Trip Advisor reviews, we knew we could get the Penthouse for that much so we were not going to pay the "gringo" rate. We ended up booking the "small" double room (with king size bed) through Expedia for $110, however, we then got an email from the hotel that the rate was $85 for the same room. We called Expedia and they honored the price difference.

Upon arriving before customary check-in time, we were greeted well and with complimentary drinks (beers). We were shown to a couch were we could relax as they got our room ready. After 30-45 minutes they went ahead and let us check in early as our room was clean.

The room itself was quite nice, but somewhat cramped (go with the "grande" double). There was a 37" flat screen, a nice bed and very nice bathroom. They also include a minbar (not well stocked), in-room electronic safe, ironing board and iron (a first in the places we've stayed in Santa Cruz), and free decent speed wifi. The shower is amazing, but there is a light/fan sensor, so multiple times during my shower I had to step out and wave my hand in front of the sensor to keep from showering in the dark.

We ate lunch at the restaurant attached and the food was only decent. We explored the building and found a roof top bar that is open at night. We had to ask the front desk for pool towels and headed up to the rooftop to enjoy the pool. The rooftop was not easy to get to- you had to take the stairs on the far side as the main elevator would not go up that high. Along the way, we saw a good about of office space that looked nice, but that someone was using it for junk storage. Same thing when we finally got to the rooftop- there was what looked like a nice glass room, but filled to top with tables and chairs. The pool was small but fine. There is a section that is shallow for kids and a jacuzzi, although the jacuzzi was the same temperature as the pool, there was not a button to be found for jets and it looked at if it had hardly been used. There were only six poolside chairs, but as we did not see another soul on the rooftop, this did not present a problem. The gym is also on the roof, right next to the pool. While it's a decent gym- a couple of cardio machines and weights, it was not air conditioned and given the heat, I can't imagine it being enjoyable to workout there.

The big plus about this hotel is the location, given that it's right off of Plaza Principal (24 de Septiembre) and every cabbie can get you there without instructions. Also, the restaurants around the plaza are very good (I would recommend Magarita's Pizza). Right across the street from the hotel is Lorca, a great place for drinks after dark and Cafe 24, a wonderful place for coffee and breakfast. My husband and I loved the centrality of the location, the decor and the amenities, but the details could be refined.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weatherly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENSES BOUTIQU... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Senses Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado Huesped
Reciba un cordial saludo, agradecemos el tiempo dedicado en plasmar su comentario referente a nuestro establecimiento.
Informarle que actualmente contamos con tarifas corporativas especiales, dependiendo de la cantidad de noches que solicite.
Para nosotros es muy importante su opinión, puesto que contribuye en nuestro objetivo de la mejora continua para brindar un mejor servicio.
Saludos Atentos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Senses Boutique Hotel was a major reprieve for us after two and a half weeks in Bolivia. We had stayed at "5-star hotels" previously in other cities which were only 5-stars in someone's fantasy, so we had low expectations going in. However, we were pleasantly surprised. Senses wasn't perfect, but it blew away any other hotel we'd stayed in or even seen in any city in Bolivia. By Bolivian standards, I can say this was definitely a 5-star hotel. Now, that doesn't mean you can compare it to any Orient Express or Mandarin Oriental in the world, but comparing it to other hotels in Bolivia we were overjoyed.

LOCATION - For a nice stay in Santa Cruz proper, the location can't be beat. It's right on the main square. We had a massive close-up view of the cathedral right across the street, and the beautiful main square is right across the street. You don't have to walk far to find something to eat, and in the same building as the hotel, there is a Sky Bar that has very good quesadillas and fajitas (that are more like enchiladas but good anyway) and a panoramic view overlooking the square and cathedral. There is shopping nearby, a laundromat is about 3 blocks away (15 Bs/kg), everything you need. Not a ton of great restaurants around, but taxis are only about $1.50 anywhere you want to go so no problem. The location on the square and in a shopping mall has a downside though - noise. There are concerts and/or protests inside the mall and/or at the square nightly (we were there for 3 nights and there was music and things going on until about 11:00 PM each night). We had to turn the TV up loud to try to drown it out, but forget about sleeping until it stopped.

HOTEL - The hotel is unusually laid out for a boutique hotel - in fact, I'm not sure I really found much boutique about it. It is a 5-star hotel located in a shopping mall. It has all the amenities you'd expect - a small swimming pool on the roof, a spa, free wireless internet (we had some problems with this, but they worked hard to fix it for us), room service, a restaurant and bar (well, the restaurant seemed to be only open for breakfast, while they used a restaurant located in the shopping mall as their other "restaurant"), and even a concierge (who was rarely there, but was helpful when he was). The staff speaks very little English except the manager and concierge who are rarely to be seen. They are all very nice though, especially the young guy that works nights - he'll do anything for you with a smile. The hotel is nearly brand new and feels fresh throughout.

ROOMS - We booked the penthouse suite for $200/night. A great deal by American standards, and really by Bolivian standards too. We had a similar room at another hotel for about $130/night that was really poor. The room was very large, huge flat screen tv, free wireless internet, a table where we could work and use the internet, a separate sitting room, a huge balcony (but no chairs on it - that was ok though, it was often really hot or really windy), and a great view of the cathedral. The bathroom was huge and very nice, the shower was wonderful after some really bad ones in Boliiva, the only thing weird was no doors on the bathroom or even the toilet. The bed was really nice, but unfortunately the A/C vent was located right next to the bed so it was really loud and kept us awake. You couldn't turn it off though, too hot. Strange placement. Overall, a great room for a great price.

FOOD - The restaurant is only open for breakfast, which is average. Egg cooking station, fruit, bread, and cereal. But it was enough. The restaurant is nice with a view over the square. The other "restaurant" is really an independent restaurant inside the shopping mall, but it is right there so why not. Downstairs is more of a juice bar (good jugo con leche and helado), while upstairs you have the bar and restaurant which has a panoramic view over the square and cathedral. Good Mexican dishes, the other dishes tasted more like a food court. There are a few other restaurants within walking distance, or you can take a cab for about $1.50 to anywhere in the city. Room service was available, same menu as the other restaurant.

SERVICE - The staff was very helpful throughout our stay - the lack of English was difficult sometimes, but it worked out with a few calls to the front desk and some patience. No worries. They try to help. The young guy who was there in the afternoons and evenings was wonderful, so nice and eager to please. The manager and concierge were rarely seen, but they had good English and were helpful when they were there. Housekeeping was sketchy at best - there was a dead grasshopper next to our bed that remained there all through our three night stay. They do not do turn-down service and we had to lower and raise all our many blinds every day, which was strange for a 5-star hotel. Some days we returned in the afternoon to find our rooms still not cleaned.

Overall, Senses was outstanding compared to the other hotels we'd stayed in throughout Bolivia, and far better than the hotel that our travel agent recommended to us. We were very happy we stayed there, and can recommend it - as long as you bring your earplugs! It isn't on a par with top international hotels, but it is good, clean, and well-located, a real prize in a country that has a long way to go in the upscale hotel category.

Room Tip: I don't think you can find a quiet room, especially on the weekends, but the Penthouse has a gre...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENSES BOUTIQU... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Senses Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped
Reciba un cordial saludo, de toda la familia Senses, nos sentimos complacidos al saber que tuvo una satisfactoria estadía tanto en nuestro establecimiento como en nuestro país.
Agradecemos el tiempo dedicado en compartir su grata experiencia de su viaje en Bolivia.
Saludos Atentos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Senses hotel in a very charming Boutique hotel right in front of Santra Cruz's main square.
The Hotel rooms are as you would expect of a 4 star hotel in europe.My room had a large bed, large bathroom, mini bar, huge flat screen TV.

The hotel breakfast serves continental options mixed with local treats the we pretty good!

The hotel hosts an open restaurant and bar that is open to the main square with a vast array of meal options.

The only thing I disliked was that my room smelled like cigarret smoke. When I complained they put an aromatherapy/cromotherapy gadget in the room that disguised the smell a bit.

The internet connections isn't great but it's free and you can get the work done.
It takes the cab roundly 20 minutes from the airport to get to the Hotel

Many of the European mobile phones won't get a line so be sure to buy a local SIM card at the airport or you can also find them close to the main square.

I know the Hotel has a swimming pool but as it was raining during my stay I didn't get to try it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anacodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENSES BOUTIQU... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Senses Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped
Reciba un cordial saludo, primeramente agradecerle el haber elegido nuestros servicios durante su visita a nuestra ciudad, así mismo el tiempo dedicado en compartir la experiencia que tuvo en nuestro establecimiento.
Comentarios como el suyo nos motivan a seguir trabajando con el principal objetivo de mejorar nuestros servicios siempre buscando la innovación y calidad.
Esperando contar con su preferencia en una próxima oportunidad nos despedimos cordialmente.
Saludos Atentos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lejos de la calle
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianasalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: visite la habitacion antes de enviar su equipaje y se asegura de lo que espera de ella
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaimuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank PastorYoyito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 49 in Santa Cruz
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
#7 of 49 in Santa Cruz
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Premium Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Camino Real Hotel
Camino Real Hotel
#1 of 49 in Santa Cruz
559 reviews
1.7 mi away
Los Tajibos Hotel & Convention Center
3.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
Radisson Hotel Santa Cruz
#4 of 49 in Santa Cruz
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senses Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senses Boutique Hotel

Address: Plaza Principal, Calle 24 de Septiembre, Esq. Sucre No 5, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $75 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Senses Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Senses Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing